We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, well-located guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Green Guest House
Ranked #8 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality, well-located guesthouse”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This guesthouse is in a well-kept period dwelling with pressed steel ceilings and wooden floors in a residential neighbourhood. It is well located to Joburg business destinations such as the CBD, Braamfontein, Parktown, Rosebank, Melrose and Sandton. It is close to Zoo Lake and is adjacent to a small local business centre with a number mid-range non-franchise restaurants, green-grocer, pharmacies and a Spar grocer.

The room is well furnished, has a quality bathroom of reasonable size a TV with the full DSTV channel selection and sitting area. There is access to a small garden and swimming pool.

The breakfast selection is moderate but adequate. The English breakfast is a full plate and is freshly prepared on order.

There is onsite parking behind secure walls and gates.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Neilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Many thanks for your very informative review. Your effort in compiling this very descriptive review is very much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Kind Regards. Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    44
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
38
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at the Village Green Guest House for one night on our way home from Tanzania back to Australia - not enough time! The room was spacious and nicely appointed, the complimentary soft drinks in the fridge (for the first night of your stay) a nice touch. The place has a quiet and cozy feel about it, and the staff are very lovely and helpful. The guest house is just a few steps away from a small shopping mall and restaurants and if you like Indian food, we can highly recommend the Taste of Punjab. You'll be spoilt for choice with Jacques' (the manager) list of things to do around the area or further afield. When we come back to Jo'burg we will definitely make sure that we stay for a few nights!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you so very much for submitting your feedback on our guest house - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Village Green Guest House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Thank you for the lovely evening we spent at Village Green guesthouse. It was lovely to spend some quiet time away. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Thank you to all the staff for their friendly smiles and always eager to please attitudes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Many many thanks for submitting your review and feedback of the Village Green Guest House! We really appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again and making your next visit as enjoyable as your first! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left was an amazing experience. The atmosphere was so friendly, the service we received was exceptional from Jacques and staff. The accommodation was luxurious and relaxing, will be back for sure

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We really appreciate your time in submitting this review! Your thoughts and opinions mean a lot to us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Bathrooms are just as spacious. The friendliest staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. The Guest House has exceeded all of my expectations... The property is well situated near many Johannesburg attractions and businesses. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance7895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you very much for posting your thoughts and feedback for Village Green Guest House! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay - and we hope to be welcoming you back in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The beautiful cared for and maintained gardens are the first thing that catches your eye as you enter the property. Rooms are decorated with a charming elegance and yet still provide the homely feeling for a family stay. And even though in the heart of johannesburg the guest house is remarkably peaceful and the street outside is quiet with a few quaint restaurants. The staff are friendly and greet you with a smile

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The warm welcome we received was exceptional. The rooms were wonderful and were tastefully furnished, great attention to detail.The room we had was very luxurious indeed, and had a private terrace on which I enjoyed the sun for hours!

Jacques and the staff were helpful and friendly. I will be back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you kindly for completing a review of our guest house on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate your comments and thoughts! We also look forward to welcoming you again in future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.5 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
728 reviews
1.4 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
590 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 295 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Green Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Guest House

Property: Village Green Guest House
Address: 25 Tyrone Avenue | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Green Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Guest House offers spacious and luxurious accommodation in Johannesburg, South Africa. With free WiFi, breakfast and satellite television. With a four star rating, our en-suite rooms provide comfort and relaxtion in a peaceful and secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Green Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing