We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved, loved, loved staying over at the Lion Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park
Reviewed 18 June 2012

When visiting the Lion Park you should realise that it is not one of the big game reserves South Africa is well known for, like the Kruger Park. If you want to see animals in their natural environment, drive approx. 4 hours east and visit the Kruger Park. That said... we loved our stay at the tented camp of the Lion Park. It is amazing that you can hear lions roaring whilst looking at the lights of Jo'burg in the distance.

A very special treat for all three of us (my husband, daughter of 7 and myself) was the giraffe that slept in front of our tent. Now, even for people visiting the Kruger Park regularly, this was an amazing experience! The giraffe is very tame, and even came close enough for us to touch it, which meant that we did not have to stand in line the next day to feed and touch the giraffe.

The tents were very comfortable and clean with everything we needed, including a braai, cutlery, microwave oven, kettle and bathroom annemities.

One of the advantages of your overnight stay is the upgrade that you can purchase at a very reasonable price to go on the night drive. This was an amazing experience. It is difficult to imagine that the lions are the same as the ones you see during the day, as they are nocturnal.

The service we received from Cecilia when booking the accommodation was not to be faulted at all. She went out of her way to assist us.

Staying at the Lion Park is very good value, in my opinion. You experience a little bit of nature (especially during the night when you are woken by lions roaring... in the middle of Jhb!!) for the price of a commercial hotel. Do yourself, and your little ones a favour and visit the Lion Park for the day, or if at all possible, for an evening. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the tents with an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

First of all we'd like to say thanks to staffs... They were so great. Thank you about the information about wild animals, no more to open a book or watch national geographic. You all told us everything!!
For the park... It was wonderful. We had only one day in Johanesburg that time, to spent our day at the park it was worth a lot. We did day safari and continued by night safari... at the same park but too much different feelings. Both safaries were fantastic. We played which lion cubs (they were so cute and amazing), walked with cheetah (unforgetable experience, I was scared to touch it at first, my husband not, but at last I was so enjoyed) , saw lion feeding ( it was amazing for a human like us to see wild animal like lion eating wildly) If you plan to go there , these three things might be unable to miss. Enjoy!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Haven't stayed at the park yet (see other traveler reviews) but I was trying to book in for me and my wife over 2 nights using email. I have sent four emails over a month and a half to them (I am in Australia), had one reply to the first email with a promise to have it followed up and to get back to me, and then absolutely nothing in response to the next three. I won't be staying here as I cant seem to book it, and if this is an indication of their "customer service" I am totally less than impressed. Maybe the visitors to the lion cubs mean they don't need overnight visitors? Try elsewhere and just do the day visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank MushnKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

During a working visit in Johannesburg, I found a few hours, which I took to nature.
Since Lions Park is located close to town I chose visited there.

Advantages of the place are:
1. Petting lion cubs.
2. The park provides a close encounter with the lions.

The disadvantages are:
1. Except lions and Wild Dog, the place does not offer any special animal viewing (maybe far away giraffe).
2. Guided tour only goes one for two hours, so if you miss it, you're stuck for two hours without doing anything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our footy team are called the Lions and we wanted to ensure we saw these magnificent creatures up close. Just as well, because we saw the rest of the Big Five in the wild but no lions.

We toured with a private driver which was good as we were able to dawdle along at our own pace and spend time just watching the animals doing their thing. There were so many lions, lionesses and cubs, and being a Monday, we were able to get up close.

We found out why they say keep your windows closed when a lioness stuck her head in a guy's window and nipped him on his belly. No harm done, but when the wife opened her door it got a lot scarier.

The cheetah was spectacular and the giraffe stuck his head over the fence and the little kids gave him a pat on the forehead.

We had an enjoyable time here and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed at the Lion park on a Sunday and it was one of the best experiences of our trip. It was busy on the weekend but the next morning it was much quieter and we could have more time with the lion cubs. You can play with the lion cubs, then go and feed the giraffe with a big tongue!! You can also do a private game drive around the rest of the grounds. It would be good if you haven't done any game driving in Africa. We still enjoyed it although we had just been to Kruger. You can stay on site in luxury tents which are great, especially when you can hear the Lions at night. There is a restaurant there too so everything is covered. We would go again but make sure we go there on a weekday as it is quieter and the cubs don't get quite as grumpy

Thank DuffmanBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvetaPyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
19.3 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 305 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
13.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
15 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#53 of 126 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
808 reviews
12.9 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 67 in Johannesburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park

Address: Corner Malibongwe & R114 | Lanseria, Johannesburg, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing