We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a prime location - I'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a prime location - I'll be back.”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

You couldn’t really get a much better location for a hotel in Rosebank. It is literally 50m from the Gautrain station, and pretty much attached to The Zone shopping mall in Rosebank, where there are countless shops, cafes, fast food, and restaurants. From the airport it only takes about 25 minutes to reach the hotel on the train. The area seems very safe and I haven’t had any trouble walking around the immediate area at night.

The street entrance to the hotel is a little unassuming, however take the elevator up to reception and you’ll be greeted by a light, airy, and stylish reception area manned by friendly staff, ready to check you in. Beside reception is a large bar and lounge area attached to a nice restaurant. This is where the buffet breakfast is served and it is not to be missed, with an awesome selection of fruit and hot/cold breakfast foods – a great way to start the day. Good service overall throughout the hotel and restaurant.

The rooms are very nice, normal size with comfortable furnishings, spotlessly clean and well-maintained. There is a nice little computer desk and there is free Wifi, but only a stingy 30Mb worth. Warning – this does not last long. I only got 6 minutes into a skype video call before it expired. They really should make the Wifi fully complimentary like many South African hotels are doing these days. Charging extra for Wifi connections is like charging extra for the TV or hot water! It is a basic service expected in hotels these days. The bathroom is basic but functional, however the hot water can take a very long time to arrive and also the shower can spray out into the bathroom and flood the floor if you’re not careful, as there is no shower door. All in all the room was very quiet and peaceful and I had great sleeps.

One floor below reception is what they call the minigym – and it is indeed a mini gym. It is a small room with about 5 passable cardio machines and a multigym. It is very basic and limited in variety, but better than nothing, and I had quite a few good workouts there.

I thought this was an excellent hotel and really enjoyed my stay. I will definitely be back and I highly recommend it to all other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. We are very proud of our team at the hotel who aim to deliver excellent service to all of our guests and in the short time we have been operational, we have had many return customers. Our location is favourable for business and leisure travellers and access to the Gautrain is quick and seamless. Cognisance is taken regarding your comment on WIFI and whilst suitable for most people's e mail and browsing needs, Skype tends to use a lot of bandwidth. To this end additional vouchers are for sale at nominal prices. I was pleased to learn that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    189
    55
    13
    11
See reviews for
37
74
34
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a great place to stay if you want to be in Rosebank. I went to a film premier at The Zone and could just walk through via the connecting passageway. So convenient at the end of an evening not to have to go further and also to come and go on the Gautrain. The rooms are well appointed and very well maintained. It costa a bit more than you would expect to pay for a Holiday Inn but it delivers more as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetLaggedMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to learn that you found our hotel comfortable and adding additional value to your stay. The convenience of accessing The Zone Shopping Centre through direct, private access is one of the features that our guests find helpful and convenient. Our location in Rosebank and proximity to The Gautrain Station is an advantage to many people staying at our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed here twice, first for 1 night and then three weeks later for 3 nights. We were travelling with two young children (1 and 3).

The second time we stayed we were very impressed with the service. We arrived early from Perth and so go to the hotel at 7am. We had rung ahead and informed them of this and we understood they couldn't promise anything, but we were very happy that they found a way to give us a room early considering the kids were exhausted. They also gave us one of the bigger rooms to fit the two cots for the kids to sleep in.

The hotel itself is very modern and stylish. The staff at the reception are attentive and efficient though some are a little cold and distant. The staff at breakfast were fantastic, they made you feel very welcome and they also played a little with the kids which were great - the team there have a great sense of humour. The breakfast itself is also very good.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us given that our mobility was restricted with the kids. The Rosebank mall has many restaurants and the hotel has a convenient access to it. It was a really good place for a stopover and allowed us to relax before a long further flight to South America.

The only negative of the stay was the transfer that we had organised with the Holiday Inn from the aiport for the second stay. I realise that this wasn't the hotel's staff, however the company that they had booked wasn't there when we arrived at the airport. We had waited 45 minutes with the kids very tired and cranky, and we had to phone the hotel to find out what happened to our pick up. Finally they arrived and instead of taking us on the fastest route to the hotel, the guy dropped his friend off along the way and through the back streets of Johannesburg - not exactly what we would have expected. We didn't have a chance to inform the management, but this is something that should definitely be reviewed.

Aside from this incident, which isn't really a reflection of the hotel itself, we were very happy staying at the Holiday Inn Rosebank. You can see that the manager places a strong emphasis on service and we we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus-mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Many thanks for your many compliments about our hotel and our team, who are delivering excellent service to all of our guests. It is great to read how we were able to fulfil your request of an early arrival, especially with young children, who could rest easily after a long flight. I was also pleased to note that our team were able to accommodate you in a larger room. Our sincere apologies for the mishap with the transport and this has already been taken up with the supplier of this service for future remedy. Our location is one of our strengths and certainly provides all services, shops and entertainment that our guests could wish for.
We do hope to be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

For less than $100 a night, the room is spacious and more than comfortable. The room service is great value and tasty. There are also lots of shops and restaurants in the area. The service at the hotel was quick and seamless. It was great that I could control the the temp in my room and the bed was wonderfully comfortable.

he hotel is almost right beside the Gautrain, making transport from the airport wonderfully easy.

Room Tip: Definitely take the Gautrain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plcumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to note that you found our service seamless and quick. Our location is one that is enviable and certainly solicits excellent comments from all of our guests. The Gauatrain is really convenient and beats traffic and time in Johannesburg and is well used by most of our corporate and leisure guests.
We hope to see you on your next trip to Johannesburg.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here at the beginning and completion of our 3 week African safari holiday. Caught the Gautrain from Tambo airport and the Rosebank station is right outside this hotel. Hotel staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are spotless and quiet, the room service food realistically priced and good. Our rooms had a view of the suburbs and the bustling street below. Wi fi very slow in room but was able to access business centre near reception where it worked fine.
You can enter the Zone and Rosebank shopping centres directly from the hotel and the security is good. The African craft market is in this precinct and is a treasure trove of African curios and craft. We really enjoyed out time at this hotel. Job well done to the staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussiesX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Grateful thanks for your glowing review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. Our team is doing an excellent job of ensuring guest comfort and ensuring a trouble free stay. The unique selling point of our hotel is our location to the Gautrain station making for easy and seamless travel from O R Tambo International Airport. The direct private access to The Zone Shopping centre is certainly and value added advantage for our guests who make use of this facility. Our WIFI offering is constsnlty monitored and improved and the slow spot that you mention has already been rectified to speed up this service.
Once again thank you for your comments about our hotel and in particular the compliment to our team. We look forward to being of service to you when next in Johannesburg.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed for a few days before and after my trip to Botswana and I found it comfortable. The room I had was spacious enough. The food is just fine. The hotel is conveniently located beside a shopping center, with various restaurants to choose from. Though, internet is not free then (that was August 2009, I am not sure if they have it free now).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kastr1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Many thanks for your favourable review of our hotel during your stay with us. I am pleased to advise you that our hotel now offers 30 MB free internet per day and most travellers find this to be sufficient whilst travelling. One of our unique selling points is our proximity to The Zone shopping centre and the adjoining Mall of Rosebank, as well as the convenience of the high speed Gautrain connecting us to Sandton, Pretoria and O R Tambo international Airport. We look forward to being of service to you in the future when travelling to Johannesburg.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,660 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,180 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My hotel reviews are based primarily on value received. Else, it is impossible to comapre a Ritz wirth a Savoy with a Taj with a Holiday Inn with a Motel 6. Hotels and taxis in South Africa are surprisingly expensive for a country that has 20% unemployment and extreme poverty. Hence the value quotient would have to be very high to justify such high prices. Holiday Inn Rosebank does not justify the high prices it charges.

It is a very modern,contemporary,chic hotel with an excellent location next to the Zone and the Mall at Rosebank and steps from the Gautrain station. Nonetheless,it is inexcusable for ANY hotel in this day and age not to offer internet as an utility similar too water and electricity. Specially a chain in the middlerange as the Holiday Inn has no business for charging for internet. The sad part is that they are actually trying to be very cute. As you enter the elevator, there is a big poster announcing 'Free Internet at all Holiday Inns in South Africa'. You get very excited, until you either ask the receptionist or login and find out that after less than 15 minutes of surfing you have been logged out. Well, the 'free internet' is ONLY for 30MBs of usage! So much for deception and cheating and misleading the guests. It is better to be honest and say 'WE DO NOT OFFER FREE INTERNET, YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY THROUGH YOUR NOSE TO USE IT'. Buit this will be well beyond the integrity levels of the Intercontinental Group, and therefore shame to them for this.

Further, they have the gall to charge 150 Rand for breakfast per person. You step down and have one of the most satisfying bnreakfasts at Tascas for less than 80 Rands per person. The hotel should put a sign at the restaurant saying, 'WE FLEECE YOU FOR BREAKFAST, YOU WILL BE BETTER OFF GOING TO TASCAS FOR BREAKFAST'. During the 3 days we were there, I never saw any one having breakfast in the hotel!

Next, they have a racket going with the taxis. If yoiu ask them to call you a taxi, they will quote you a price for your trip (no meters) and offer to put it on your bill. All dandy and convenient, until you start chatting with the taxi driver and realize that if you had negotiated with him directly, the rate would have been 30 - 40% lower. They sent a taxi to pick us up from the airport and charged us 400 Rands. We paid 300 Rands on the return! Some racket going on!

Everything is spick and span and modern and so on until you realize various issues. There is a shower in the tub, but just a quarter of a glass panel on the tub with the result that the water spills all over the floor. There is no rod or shelf or bar to put the bath towel within reach of the shower. One has to come out of the shower soaking wet on to a wet floor and risk slipping all over to reach the towel. The hair dryer is placed in the study desk instead of in the bathroom!!! Go figure this one!

On the day of the checkout, we stepped out for breakfast at 8AM, had not put a do not disturb sign, came back and saw that all the linen (bed sheets, towels, pillow covers) had been removed. Of course, the room had not been cleaned, and since we had a late checkout, we had to ask them to replace all the linen!

And lastly, my pet peeve with the Priority Club program. As a Platinum member, I am rarely ecognized and given the respect and benefits that should come from patronizing a hotel chain with over 40 nites in a year. No breakfast, no internet, no upgrade, no nothing. Priority Club seriosuly needs to look itself in the mirror and look at the benefits offered by HHOnors. Starwood and Marriott hotel chains.

So overall, shame to this Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Many thanks for your comments realting to your recent stay in our hotel. May I take the opportunity of apologising for the inconvenience caused to you for the various problems that you experienced. This is not the standard of service we are striving for and all of the issues within our control will be rectified to avoid inconvenience in the future.
In particular the deceptive elevator poster with reference to the internet has been removed however reference is made to our internet offering in the directory of services in each bedroom. Our rates are exclusive of breakfast and there is a full buffet or continental breakfast. Your comments relating the housekeeping have been noted and have already been remedied. Any transport arrangements made through the hotel are charged according the direct charges from the transport operator and we do not add an additional mark up on their price.
Once again my sincere apologies for the area we have let you down and I trust that we may be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
409 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing