We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality, perfect location, quite expensive though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, perfect location, quite expensive though”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Really luxurious Holiday Inn right above the Gautrain station for Rosebank. Very modern and well furnished rooms. Superb breakfast. Staff a little unfriendly perhaps, and the prices too high (R1600 p/night) so shop around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Many thanks for your succinct review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to learn of your enjoyable stay and favourable comments. Your note on our team is appreciated and will be addressed accordingly. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    185
    53
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
73
33
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chile
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good hotel well located
Liked the parking space related to shopping mall
Good room it look like a new hotel
Breakfast was perfect ith every choice imaginable
Shopping mall not fully developed will make overall experience even better when finished
Huge value for the money highly recomended

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank welltraveledA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Many thanks for your great review of our hotel and it was pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay as well as the surrounds of the hotel. It was especially gratifying to read your positive comments regarding our breakfast which many of our guests commend us for.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Only a brief 2 night return trip but found the rooms, service and location all lived up to my previous experience from last year. Efficient service, good clean accommodation and nice friendly restaurant/bar area within the hotel itself. The hotel is located within a large shopping mall (with direct access so felt very safe), and there is a superb choice of restaurants with top quality food choices at very reasonable prices. Just slightly disappointed with the packed breakfast that I took one morning due to very early start, but otherwuise a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review upon your return visit to our hotel. I was pleased to read that we lived up to your expectations and that you found everything to be in order. Location and Proximity to Gautrain and shopping centres are uniqiue selling points for our guests and I was pleased to learn that you found our service to be efficient and friendly. Thank you for the note on the packed breakfast which we will improve for future stays and other guests making use of that service. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I travel here regualrly for business and it is always a pleasure. A big thank you to Solomon on the front desk for making my stay more comfortable.

The location is good, 30+ places to eat in close proximity, train just around the corner and is pretty safe. The bar staff are good and always have a smile.

The rooms are not huge, but well equipped. The pillows feel like they have done a few too many rounds with Mike Tyson. They need to be replaced. The gym area is tired, and the treadmills are needing maintainence.

Room Tip: The higher the better, the aircons from the mall next door can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel recently. I was pleased to read that overall you found our hotel to your satisfaction and thank you for your great comments regarding our team. New treadmills have recently been added to the gym and you may have used the older treadmill and my apologies if this was the case. Thanks for the note on the pillows in your room which we will act upon. We look forward to welcoming you back to uor hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for a business trip. Very convenient for where I was working. Hotel rooms great - clean and modern. Nice bar and lounge area and the staff were helpful and friendly. Didn't have the pleasure of using all the facilities although the pool was fairly small and I can't imagine you could fit many people around it on loungers etc. Easy access to the local shopping centre - we ate at restaurants here all of them were exceptional and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: My colleague had a room positioned at the front of the hotel and said it was quite noisy at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmiWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review of our hotel during your recent stay. It was pleasing to note that you found our location convenient and our services to your satisfaction. Being conveniently located with private direct access to The Zone Shopping Centre, there is abundance of facilites and restaurants which many of our guests make use of, this in addition to our own restaurant offering. We look forward to being of servcie to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A fairly new property, located literally within a few metres of the Gautrain's Rosebank Station (a 4-minute journey from Sandton station). This is obviously very convenient, unless all or most of your business in the Sandton CBD, in which case it's awkward. The hotel forms part of The Zone complex and is close to shopping and restaurants although, unlike Sandton, many of the eateries here close at 6pm, leaving the piazza somewhat bleak at night. (The precinct will probably liven up when the major refurbishment of the Rosebank Mall currently underway is complete: at the moment it's mostly hoarded up.)

The hotel itself is a new iteration of the now rather typical South African urban limited-service offering, in this case, plus a few conference rooms. It has an adequately-sized bedroom, a modern bathroom (with either a bath or shower) and a coffee-shop cum breakfast room. It's OK, but lacks any "wow" factor. The rack rate, at R1 300, is certainly not cheap.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Oxford Road, otherwise you look out over shopping-mall roofs and service alleys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IkariaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear IkariaCapeTown,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I enjoyed the location of this hotel. My family and I very safe. Security is on the ground floor. You have to take an elevator to another floor to reach the lobby and check in. The hotel is located in a suburb of Johannesburg and in The Zone outdoor shopping area, magnificent food at the restaurant and great bar staff. I obtained South African money with Mandela on it. It was recently released at the time. The front desk staff needs more training on check out procedures and were the least friendliest. Also, they need to recognize their gold Priority Club members. The rooms were clean, I particularly like the mini-fridge, ergonomic work desk and chair, bathroom and shower. I will post pictures soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houtrravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Grateful thanks for your great review of our hotel. Your kind comments are much appreciated about our team and we will be striving to improve the areas where we had let you down. Our location and access to facilites, offices and shopping opportunities certaily makes us first choice for many corporate an leisure travellers. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
399 reviews
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing