We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, secure and good locaiton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Safe, secure and good locaiton”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip to SA.

Good
• The rooms are nice and big, at least the one I had was
• Staff are friendly and helpful
• Location next to the Rosebank mall and across the road from the station is great

Not so good
• Food quality and presentation in the hotel restaurant is patchy
• Overheated / under cooled rooms but not too bad

Four out of five and if you are a business traveller looking to keep the Risk & Assurance people happy it is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to read of your good experience at our Hotel, especially relating to comments regarding our team at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank. Please accept my sincere apologies for the food presentation which will be acted upon immediately.
We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    189
    55
    13
    11
See reviews for
37
74
34
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahr, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Very recommendable Holiday Inn (one of the best we’ve been to) with relatively new rooms in a safe environment. Modern application and complimentary Internet. Parking fee of 40 Rd. per night applies. Breakfast is also very good with good quality food (English and Continental) and fresh fruits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dils2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Your recent comments on our hotel are greatly appreciated and I was pleased to read of our positive and enjoyable experience, especially relating to our breakfast offering and bedrooms. We do hope to see you soon on a return visit to our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well appointed rooms with awesome views across Johannesburg (if you book an odd numbered room). The rooms have all the amenities you could ask for and are very generously sized, very clean and very comfortable. Service is friendly, although the breakfast service was a bit slow during our visit. The hotel's location right next to The Zone shopping mall and the Gautrain station is a real plus. Free underground parking is also helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room for excellent views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarAbbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Grateful thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Johannesburg - Rosebank. It was pleasing to note your positive experience and we appreciate your feedback and comments and we hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Really luxurious Holiday Inn right above the Gautrain station for Rosebank. Very modern and well furnished rooms. Superb breakfast. Staff a little unfriendly perhaps, and the prices too high (R1600 p/night) so shop around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Many thanks for your succinct review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to learn of your enjoyable stay and favourable comments. Your note on our team is appreciated and will be addressed accordingly. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chile
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good hotel well located
Liked the parking space related to shopping mall
Good room it look like a new hotel
Breakfast was perfect ith every choice imaginable
Shopping mall not fully developed will make overall experience even better when finished
Huge value for the money highly recomended

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank welltraveledA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Many thanks for your great review of our hotel and it was pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay as well as the surrounds of the hotel. It was especially gratifying to read your positive comments regarding our breakfast which many of our guests commend us for.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Only a brief 2 night return trip but found the rooms, service and location all lived up to my previous experience from last year. Efficient service, good clean accommodation and nice friendly restaurant/bar area within the hotel itself. The hotel is located within a large shopping mall (with direct access so felt very safe), and there is a superb choice of restaurants with top quality food choices at very reasonable prices. Just slightly disappointed with the packed breakfast that I took one morning due to very early start, but otherwuise a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review upon your return visit to our hotel. I was pleased to read that we lived up to your expectations and that you found everything to be in order. Location and Proximity to Gautrain and shopping centres are uniqiue selling points for our guests and I was pleased to learn that you found our service to be efficient and friendly. Thank you for the note on the packed breakfast which we will improve for future stays and other guests making use of that service. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I travel here regualrly for business and it is always a pleasure. A big thank you to Solomon on the front desk for making my stay more comfortable.

The location is good, 30+ places to eat in close proximity, train just around the corner and is pretty safe. The bar staff are good and always have a smile.

The rooms are not huge, but well equipped. The pillows feel like they have done a few too many rounds with Mike Tyson. They need to be replaced. The gym area is tired, and the treadmills are needing maintainence.

Room Tip: The higher the better, the aircons from the mall next door can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel recently. I was pleased to read that overall you found our hotel to your satisfaction and thank you for your great comments regarding our team. New treadmills have recently been added to the gym and you may have used the older treadmill and my apologies if this was the case. Thanks for the note on the pillows in your room which we will act upon. We look forward to welcoming you back to uor hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing