We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, safe environment and delicious breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and 4 kids and really enjoyed our experience. The service was very good, the rooms are clean and modern and the breakfast (included in our rate) was delicious and with a great variety of things to eat (to satisfy even our picky children). The hotel is located right at the Gautrain station making it easily accessible for those coming from the airport. Rosebank is a safe location with numerous shops and restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: When asking for a room, ask for the odd numbered ones as the view is amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your great review of our hotel and we appreciate the time taken to comment on our hotel. I was delighted to read that you found everything to your satisfaction, especially as regards breakfast and the service in general and I will be passing on your kind comments to our team. Our location is superb for business or leisure stays and the direct private access to The Zone Shopping Centre with many shops and restaurants makes it convenient and trouble free. We do hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Great hotel, right at Rosebank Gautrain station (for easy airport access) and directly connected to the Rosebank Mall which has food and shops in a safe environment.

Amazing breakfast had a large variety, including made to order and some Asian inspired items, and was quite good.

Room was clean and new. Great washroom. A bit on the pricey side. Wifi was not unlimited which is a pain when traveling on business (only reason this is not rated 5/5). Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank PolarBear777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel recently and I was very pleased to read of your satisfaction with our hotel. Our location to Gautrain and Shopping Malls make us a preferred destination for many of our guests. Your comments relating to breakfast, service and our team will certainly be passed on to the team. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI offering which will allow easier connection and faster speed. WIFI is available free of charge to all IHG Rewards members. Once again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

In here right now for 5days and can tell you it's a great place.trying to add a day more but being told have to go back online .just charge me one more night for the same price Danm hahaha
Great place and will be back soon as I can get another vacation .
Room maintenance girl or guy very honest and a ghost .like to say good job

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Adeola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your great review of our hotel and I was pleased to read that over a lengthy stay you had found our hotel to your satisfaction and that you found the service provided by the room attendant to be unobtrusive and honest. Your kind comments will be passed on to our team. We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel was recommeded to us for our regional conference and it really was great find. The location is superb as it is opposite the Gautrain station and was wonderful that on a Friday afternoon we had a easy journey with Gautrain to the airport. The rooms were excellent and definitely suited for the bussiness traveller. An excellent selection for breakfast where the service from the staff was superb.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capetownjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel recently and I was delighted to read of your positive and enjoyable experience. It was a great pleasure to host your regional conference and your very good comments relating to our team and services will certainly be passed on to our team.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The room was clean and spacious, breakfast was excellent. The only issue is that my booking No 143152047 for 15/2/2014 to 17/2/2014 was quoted $210.51 (non refundable) for 2 people breakfast included. For some reason they said breakfast was not included then they charged Rand 2,632.06:$210.51= R12.50/dollar exchange rate. They could not sort the matter at the check out, the Manager was in a meeting, so I have emailed them to them (twice) to respond to this issue, so far no response. Kindly assist!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and it was pleasing to note that overall we did exceed your expectations. My sincere apologies for the confusion surrounding breakfast charges as well as the payment of the account. We have since reversed the charge as the account was paid by Hotels.com and have sent you proof of the reversal. Thank you for advising us of the problem you encountered and that we were able to rectify as soon as possible.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A good place has integrity but the front desk people unfortunately lack it. When I checked in I specifically confirmed that the weekend rate included breakfast. The answer I got from the front desk girl was a definite YES. Yet, when we went to eat we were told that breakfast was not included. When I went back to the front desk they told me that they would delete the charge because breakfast was in fact included but after a few hours they called me to inform me that breakfast was not included. It was not real good anyway. Lots of sugary, very sweet stuff nicely displayed. The hotel is a part of a shopping center where it is possible to find a much healthier option. It could have been a considerably happier experience but due to misleading conduct of the hotel employees will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delmaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the confusion relating to the inclusivity of breakfast on your rate. We will be verifying this and should a refund be due, this will be processed immediately. Our breakfast offering is comprehensive and choices range from continental breakfast to full English breakfast with several options to meet most nutrition choices. We do hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at this location many times and have found their staff friendly and accommodating, the rooms and premises clean and inviting. I find I generally sleep well here especially if located on the upper floors away from the rooms immediately above the entry from Rosebank Station into the shopping mall.
The location is really convenient, being close to the Gautrain (really close), supermarkets, movie theatre, general shopping, banks and restaurants.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaguelymovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and it is always gratifying to receive a review from a regular guest, which is greatly appreciated. Our team is committed to providing great service and I am pleased that you have first hand experience of service provided. Location of our hotel is a unique selling point and many of our business travellers find our location and proximity to Gautrain, local offices and shopping centre to be beneficial.
We do hope to be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £72 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing