We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
311 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,226 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you are looking for a centrally (Rosebank) located hotel in Johannesburg, where everything works, this should be your choice. The design of the rooms is sleek-contemporary. The staff is not only competent, but always with a smile. The buffet-breakfast, both in choice and quality, is above the usual Holiday Inn standards

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank yuo for your great review of our hotel and especially realting to our team who are empowered to provide excellent service. Also a thank you for your comments on our buffet which will be passed on to the culinary team.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    179
    52
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
72
30
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Right beside the Rosebank Gautrain station, this hotel is an excellent base for business meetings around Johannesburg.

The rooms are mostly standard fare, clean and presentable with the Holiday Inn's trademark variety of differently-stuffed pillows. There's a safe, fridge but no minibar.

Make sure you specify whether you would like a bath or a shower as few rooms have both. Avoid those on floor 3 that overlook the adjacent shopping centre's air conditioning plant - it's noisy and you'll have an aircon duct to look at outside your window. The best views are from the upper floors looking East. Those rooms have showers, not baths.

The restaurant and bar is good enough quality for client meetings and the food is well prepared with attentive service. The outside deck catches the sun in the afternoon and evening and is a pleasant place to relax after work.

Inside the bar staff like to put the football on the TVs in the evening no matter whether that's what the guests want to watch. You won't make friends by asking to watch the news.

Wifi - reliable but slow when the hotel is busy. First 200MB free every day and always free for guests of the IHG loyalty scheme.

Room Tip: Front of hotel, upper floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Many thanks for your great review of our hotel during your recent stay and I was pleased to read of your overall great experience. We are currently upgrading our WIFI offering to Fibre Optic cable and once complete, this should speed up the service significantly. Thank you also for your obeservation on our team at the bar, which will be addressed immediately to ensure guest focus. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I took a friend that came from Switzerland there and he liked it. It's a good hotel. we had some meaty dinner and discussed around a good bottle of old wine. It was really nice to see them again, him and his wife

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marccharbonault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for your review of our hotel recently and I was pleased read that your dinner with friends was enjoyable. Our restaurant has a contemporary menu and our wine list is comprehensive and varied. We do hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Have praise to share regarding this Holiday Inn in terms of location, quality and price. Right at the train station stop and with shopping and restaurants just minutes walk away this hotel is hard to beat. The breakfast buffet was really good too. However, the internet connectivity was sooo sooo slow it hardly existed. I was traveling for business so need connectivity while at the hotel and after traveling through several countries and cities through southern Africa I would rate this as the worse. I had several colleagues also staying at the hotel and we all had the same experience.

Bottom line, if the internet is important to you when traveling then think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCWASHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many Thanks for your great review of our hotel and it was pleasing to read that you found our hotel to your satisfaction. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor internet service, which is currently receiving an upgrade to Fibre Optic cables which will speed up the service and bandwidth. I realise how important this is for a business traveller and I was sorry to hear that this frustration upset your stay with us. We hope to have upgraded this in the next few weeks and hope to see you in our hotel in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn a few nights in May and was not convinced that it provides what it promised. It is fair to say that it belongs to the number of Holiday Inns globally that has been recently renovated so the rooms are spacious and modern. The one thing that will make sure that i will not stay there again is the very, very, very slow internet. For a business traveller who wants more that simple email downloads, that is not acceptable. Service is good, but not outstanding. I felt that staff could have been more pro-active, attentive. In summary: Good location, nice rooms, fair service, ok room service but terrible internet.

Room Tip: ask for a bathtub if you want one, not every room does have it ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel recently. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor WIFI reception at our hotel. I can assure you that this situation is receiving priority and we will be switching to Fibre Optic cable in the next few weeks to overcome the increased demand on WIFI services. I understand the frustration and wanted to reassure you that this issue is top of mind and receiving attention and I do hope that in the future we could welcome you back to our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My daughter and I shared a twin room in April 2014. It was very good. Very clean, very comfortable. The location is safe and right next to the Rosebank Mall which was great especially for food. The staff at the hotel were helpful and reasonably efficient. The shuttle driver was very good.
The only two issues were small ones and would not stop us going back there. One, there was only one bath towel - even though we asked for another, it didn't appear. Two, we were late back on the second night and were disappointed to realise that there was no food available after 10pm.
Otherwise, we were very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Grateful Thanks for your great review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our location and services convenient and our team to be helpful and friendly. My sincere apologies for the oversight on the bath towel and this item has already been addressed with the cleaner concerned to avoid this situation in the future. Our meal offering is available 18 hours per day and I was disappointed to read that we could not assist at the time the meal was required. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and 4 kids and really enjoyed our experience. The service was very good, the rooms are clean and modern and the breakfast (included in our rate) was delicious and with a great variety of things to eat (to satisfy even our picky children). The hotel is located right at the Gautrain station making it easily accessible for those coming from the airport. Rosebank is a safe location with numerous shops and restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: When asking for a room, ask for the odd numbered ones as the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your great review of our hotel and we appreciate the time taken to comment on our hotel. I was delighted to read that you found everything to your satisfaction, especially as regards breakfast and the service in general and I will be passing on your kind comments to our team. Our location is superb for business or leisure stays and the direct private access to The Zone Shopping Centre with many shops and restaurants makes it convenient and trouble free. We do hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#32 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing