We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has been the greatest experience we had for a weekend getaway of spa treatments.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Ranked #3 of 296 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“This has been the greatest experience we had for a weekend getaway of spa treatments.”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This has been the greatest experience we had for a weekend getaway of spa treatments. What a cold winter it has been and added with the satisfying service level; THAT brought the satisfaction we were really anticipating. Thanks for being so worth our rands. We will indeed spread the word about it. It brought the stress level to zero and I can't explain it further. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Rooms face the garden & crossing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
We are always glad to see your stress disappear; it’s a common effect here at Hands On. We hope to see you again next time you need to recharge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    80
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
181
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I have stayed in a great many hotels all over the world, and this is one of the best, I had a warm welcome, friendly staff, the rooms were clean and tastefully decorated and had a microwave . The gardens where beautiful while I was there the roses where in full bloom, I will use this hotel on future trips.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubbard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Hands on Retreat is different, small and very friendly. We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was beautifully prepared, real home cooking. We had a jacuzzi in our room which was lovely. The gardens were very peaceful and it was nice to listen to birdsong in a big city. Just the place for tired travellers to soothe their nerves. The complimentary shoulder massage was excellent. There is an excellent Italian restraurant just accross the road.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anywhereinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 9 days in June during the World Cup.

It was very well located & great as a base to reach all of the suburbs of Jo-burg, Rustenburg, Pretoria & Soweto for the games & also for game reserves & other points of local interest such as the aparthied museum.

It was very clean & had a nice family feel. Martina & Louis were a great couple & fantastic hosts, & nothing was too much trouble to organize, help or advise on.

As well as the accomodation, there was also various treatments on the property grounds & I enjoyed a great massage.

The grounds are well kept, secure & very peaceful & a nice placeto relax, read a book or just nod off in...

Overall, the Hands On Retreat & it's staff made my World Cup experience all the better, if only England could have done better in the competition it would have been a perfect trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickatho31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I was in South Africa to cover the World Cup during June-July 2010, and a big part of the reason everything went great was the attention of Martina and everyone at Hands On Retreat. They went out of their way to help me and other colleagues during a long stay (37 days) and i can't be thankful enough. I first stayed at their self catering house two blocks away from the retreat, and then moved to the main guest house, and the attention was top notch. Nice and friendly environment, great breakfast, all the services you need. I also need to thank Martina's son, Alan, who watched over the people at the self catering house. He helped us with everything from an internet connection problem to a ride to Sandton when a taxi left us hanging. Hope to come back again one day, only for leisure, so i can get to know the few places i didn't get to visit this time around in this very nice city. Thanks again Martina and family, i will always have great things to say about Joburg and South Africa.

Carlos Avilan
Venezuela

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosAvilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The hotel is the perfect place for couples and for all those who want peace of mind. Your privacy is also very much respected.
Even though I got several chances of moving to other hotels I preferred staying at Hands on Retreat since the staffs their are so kind and nice, ready at anytime and in whatever way to please you, make you feel comfortable and warm.
My room was always clean and warm after a hard day at work and when I got sick everyone took great care of me.
The way I was taken care of could not have been better and I am very thankful to everyone there. It is not just a mere hotel.
The spa is the cherry on the top! I couldn't take advantage of it very often but the one time I did it sure made me feel cool and relaxed.
Thank you Hands on Retreat. You are the best!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My brother and I travelled to South Africa for the 2010 World Cup. Hands On Retreat is a good place to stay. Safety-wise, warm, friendly and helpful staffs and a cozy cottage-like ambience, which will definitely help a lot in your sleep every night.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diweittw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
740 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 296 in Johannesburg
197 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 296 in Johannesburg
135 reviews
4.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 296 in Johannesburg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hands On Retreat Craighall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat Craighall

Property: Hands On Retreat Craighall
Address: 4 Argyle Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hands On Retreat Craighall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! We are centrally situated in the upmarket "Parks" area of Northern Johannesburg and give easy access to our surrounding suburbs of Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg whether by car or public transport. 10 Minutes drives from the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station and the use of UBer taxi services are advised (use code martinal if first time user to get R90 off your 1st ride).Transport can be arranged from OR Tambo, however quickest way is to use the GAUTRAIN. 6 Double on- suite rooms with private garden access, with small kitchenette ideal for LONG STAYS for the deserning business or leasure traveller. SECURE OFF STREET PARKING with own remote control. All rooms have a seperate bath and shower. 1 WHEEL CHAIR friendly room and all beds are queen size. FREE High speed internet and our ON-SITE COFFEE SHOP makes our venue ideal for breakfast and lunch meetings. WALKING distance to Hacklebrook Conference and 10 minutes drive to SANDTON Convention Center. DINNER trays by arrangements On-site SPA. 5 Minutes walk to VALLEY SHOPPING Centre: Woolworths, Clicks, Bottle Store, Vodacom, Butcher, Coffee shops and Laundromat 5 mintues walk from Pick , Pay and Planett Fitness 5 minutes to KFC and Mc Dondalds take aways Delicious breakfasts are served from 7h00 to 10h00 to order on our patio which opens out onto a garden abundant of trees and bird life. You also have enough space in front of your room to enjoy our wonderful Johannesburg afternoons sipping sundowners ordered from our coffee shop Cold days are warmed by a roaring log fire in our dining room. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hands On Retreat Craighall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing