We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to end overland travel in style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hands On Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hands On Retreat
Ranked #8 of 289 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport-On-Tay, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“How to end overland travel in style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel after spending 25 days travelling through Africa. We could not have stayed at a better place. It was all of the things you would look for in a hotel in Johannesburg; in a lovely area, very safe, clean and practical, but then it was also so much more. The décor was beautiful, the room was clean and comfortable, so much so that I found it difficult to leave. The manager (Karen) was fantastic. She was extremely helpful, which was demonstrated when she drove us to the Gautrain station in her own car to ensure that we knew where we were going and then refused any money for her troubles. I can easily sum up this review, If you are visiting Johannesburg, STAY AT THIS HOTEL! You will not be dissappointed with any aspect of the Hands on Retreat.

p.s. The breakfasts are very tasty!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
We are so delighted that you guys made Hands on Retreat one of your stops on your travels. We also happy that we could meet all your expectations and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    72
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
150
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
groblersdal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The service is exellent and the staff is very friendly.If you want to relax for the weekend,this is the place.The Spa treatments was lovely and relaxing.We were treated from arrival untill we left.Thank you Karen and your friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hendrikgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we very happy that you had a relaxing time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

A friend and I attended your spa on Saturday 21 July 12' on a special we bought off a site called 'Cityslicker'. Overall the experience was pretty average. We were only attended to after 1 hour of sitting there in the morning, and we asked for our slipper size by 3 different staff members, despite this being done when the booking was made. The two therapists were friendly and accommodating, however my greatest concern is that the 'consent form' was not read through, and questions were not asked. I indicated that I have very sensitive skin on the form, and this was not discussed, nor was i questioned. I woke up on Sunday morning with rash all over my face. It feels as if my face is on fire. I even indicated that the lady should not scrub my face, due to my sensitivity, and she agreed and ceased immediately very kindly. My concern is that one is paying over R1000 to attend at your spa, but products are not used according to the client's skin type. Whether one has dry, combination or sensitive skin, it seems as if only one product is used.

It is understandable that businesses of this nature use indemnity forms. However, such forms should not be used to evade liability. The forms should be read over, and discussed properly, and not used as a form of evasion when things don't go as planned.

I am i pain. and thoroughly disappointed..

Helpful?
Thank mellisa u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

When arriving at Hands on Retreat, the professional staff immediately made us feel welcome. The over all atmosphere of peace, tranquility and serenity is almost tangible.

We had an awesome time at the spa facility, relaxing and being pampered like never before.

The over-night stay was just as memorable with their own first class chef who prepared a lovely meal, with attention paid to every detail.

Thank you Hands on Retreat for this wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for taking time out to write a review on us, we really do appreciate the positive feedback, thank you for those kind words. We hope that you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

All the staff of the guest house as well as the spa were unbelievably friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time - Karin, Lance, Joyce and Alec you guys are stars an we will most definitely return the food was out of this world. We were allowed to bring our own wine/drinks and we could just sit back relax in the beautiful gardens while being pampered. I would recommend hands on to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We are extremely delighted that you girls had a great time, I will definitely let the rest of the staff know that you were well looked after. You are welcome any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had a amazing xperience and our engagement was made so special with the help of Karen and her team at Hands on Retreat....night of my life that I will never forget and we will certainly return there!!!!!!
The staff are all so friendly and we had outstanding service and the amazing dinner we had was mind blowing!!!!!
A definete must do for couples of all ages!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We were so delighted and extremely excited to have been part of the planning of your special night, we can not wait to have you back again, maybe for the honeymoon, wink, wink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Personal, friendly service right from the moment we have arrived. Our room was warm and welcoming with underfloor heating. Dinner was ready when we arrived on Friday night. All the food was excellent. Each course was planned and prepared by an experienced chef. The dining room was warm and cozy with a fireplace.The massages were done professionally and really helped us to relax. The garden was quiet and peaceful. The most outstanding was the friendly and helpful staff and management. Thank you for making our anniversary unforgetable. The romantic bath with candlelight will always be remembered....

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms next to the parking area of the guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a warm and welcoming review. We are delighted that we could be part of your 25th wedding anniversary and making it memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 289 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 289 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#14 of 289 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 289 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#9 of 289 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 289 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hands On Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat

Property: Hands On Retreat
Address: 4 Argyle Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 289 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hands On Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! We are centrally situated in the upmarket "Parks" area of Northern Johannesburg and give easy access to our surrounding suburbs of Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg whether by car or public transport. 10 Minutes drives from the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station and the use of UBer taxi services are advised (use code martinal if first time user to get R90 off your 1st ride).Transport can be arranged from OR Tambo, however quickest way is to use the GAUTRAIN. 6 Double on- suite rooms with private garden access, with small kitchenette ideal for LONG STAYS for the deserning business or leasure traveller. SECURE OFF STREET PARKING with own remote control. All rooms have a seperate bath and shower. 1 WHEEL CHAIR friendly room and all beds are queen size. FREE High speed internet and our ON-SITE COFFEE SHOP makes our venue ideal for breakfast and lunch meetings. WALKING distance to Hacklebrook Conference and 10 minutes drive to SANDTON Convention Center. DINNER trays by arrangements On- Site HAIRDRESSER and SPA. 5 Minutes walk to VALLEY SHOPPING Centre: Woolworths, Clicks, Bottle Store, Vodacom, Butcher, Coffee shops and Laundromat 5 mintues walk from Pick , Pay and Planett Fitness 5 minutes to KFC and Mc Dondalds take aways Delicious breakfasts are served from 7h00 to 10h00 to order on our patio which opens out onto a garden abundant of trees and bird life. You also have enough space in front of your room to enjoy our wonderful Johannesburg afternoons sipping sundowners ordered from our coffee shop Cold days are warmed by a roaring log fire in our dining room. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hands On Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing