We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat indeed..!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Ranked #3 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Our last night at Hands on retreat, so far we had the best time ever. The massages, manicures and pedicures are to die for. We are so greatful to Karin, Aidah and the other staff members made our stay very amazing. Compliments goes to the Chef for the wonderful food he served it was delicious..!!! I would definitely recommend people to go there.
Thanks a million to everyone who made us feel like queens.
Mpho and Zinhle xoxo...!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for this fantastic review, we're delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the chance to experience so much of what we have to offer. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hands on Retreat has become one of my favourite locations, I was also unaware that a place of this uniqueness existed in JHB. Your senses are the main parts that get treated- Beautifull surroundings, decor, spa treatments, the food. The staff are very hospitable and they are so friendly making them easy to approach. Even the team one only speaks to over the phone and never see are such customer oriented people and go out of their way.

This venue has such a romantic vibe, great for a couple's getaway!

See you soon Hands On!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leandri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

We are delighted that you discovered our haven in the city, we hope to see you again soon. Thanks for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We just want to THANK all of you from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful stay on Saturday 2 Feb 2013. We stayed around the corner for many years and never knew a place like this existed. Compliments to the Chef all the food we had was mouth watering. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. During our stay we had breakfast, lunch, 4 course dinner, 7 spa treatments, we made use of the private hot tub... and our room was lovely where we slept over. We couldnt ask for anything more. We will be back! Regards Odette and Alexander

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovdmerwe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review, its our goal to offer as many outlets of relaxation as possible and we are delighted that you got to try so many. Hope to see you again soon,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Quaint little 'rustic' place in the heart of the city. The service was 5-star and the staff bent backwards to accommodate us, especially Karin. Great massages & treatments! We had a wonderful time and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riëtte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us, we hope to have you back soon. Thank you for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

A huge THANK YOU to Karin and her brilliant team for a special time at 'Hands on Retreat'.The hospitality,care and exceptional Spa experience added the special touch to make my stay unforgettable!
Deseray

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deseray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

It is always our pleasure, come back soon to make some more unforgettable memories. Thanks for this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

A Big thank you from us (Omri Cronje & Talita Cronje) for making our stay so memorable and absolutely amazing.

Luxury, pampering, and friendly, are all words which describe the decadent spa. It's a warm hidden sanctuary, perfect for those needing a luxurious escape. The friendly masseuses creating a homey, yet classy atmosphere. Our Romantic couple treatments were great from friday night till sunday.

I'm so glad we had an opportunity to enjoy and experience the service at Hands on Retreat, Sandton. The place is absolutely amazing, love the green trees, and Rose gardens.


A HUGE thanks to Karin and team for making us feel so safe whilst there, and also to our personal Chef- Jean Pierre, your food were DEVINE!!!!

Greetings

Room Tip: Dream Unit -5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for this fantastic review, we are so glad that we could accommodate you. Best of luck with your pregnancy, we hope to see you back here for the full experience when you need to unwind again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Planning my trip at the last minute was rather stressful but once we arrived at Hands on Retreat I immediately felt relaxed and at peace. I could not believe that a place so tranquil would be in the middle of JHB. It felt like we were in another province and a million miles away from the nearest town.

The staff were very accommodating and friendly which was great and also allowed us to ease into our room rather well.

I am also pleased to say a big Thank you to Karin for been so flexible regarding our booking and the spa treatment which we needed the next day and not on arrival. The breakfast was lovely and I am very happy they could wait until after our spa treatment and gave no fuss of this.

All and all a splendid stay at Hands on Retreat. I will definitely be back and perhaps with the same person but not as friends this time. A great place to relax and let go of all the stresses in life and just have some fun and spark some romance back into ones love life.

Thank you to Karin and her staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickHewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat Craighall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our oasis in the city, it is always our pleasure to accommodate you in every way we can. We can't wait to have you back again, and perhaps next time you can book a romantic picnic for two with a love a letter kit. Thanks for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
5.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#16 of 299 in Johannesburg
138 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 299 in Johannesburg
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hands On Retreat Craighall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat Craighall

Address: 4 Argyle Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hands On Retreat Craighall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! Hands On Retreat is a 4-Star, boutique retreat and sleep spa in Craighall, Johannesburg. Here we focus on "us time" and offer special packages that combine accommodation with spa treatments. Couples have the opportunity to break away for a night or weekend. In our contemporary rushed lives, it is all the more important to make time for each other. Our most popular package is the Couples Sleepover with a hot stone massage for couples, combined with a romantic picnic. Or you could check in for a Full Day Couples Spa treatment and spend the night! We are close to the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station, a hop away from the Hyde Park Shopping Center. The setting is a park-like garden with tall trees, its own brook flowing through it and abundant bird life. The accommodation is ideal for business or leisure travelers, with numerous treatment packages for individuals or couples. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hands On Retreat Craighall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing