We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hands On Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hands On Retreat
Ranked #12 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Birthday Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Hands on Retreat is perfect for those seeking some alone time or for couples wanting to spend quality time together. The garden is dotted with sitting areas, perfect for reading a magazine and enjoying something to drink, or just listening to the trickle of the creek. The rooms are cosy, with all the amenities one would need. Although the food was lovely, it was a little disappointing that the head chef had not yet started, therefore leaving the menu quite restricted. The spa treatments that I had were fantastic, and I would definitely go back to enjoy them again.
Alesha M

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the positive criticism, it is always good to know that we can improve in certain areas.
From all of us here at Hands on Retreat we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    56
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
122
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Like the name says... Hands on... that is the type of service you will receive from Hands on Retreat We had such a lovely stay at this beautiful venue! We are from Johannesburg and wanted to break away for 1 night without driving far and decided on Hands On Retreat! It's in the city, but as soon as you enter it feels like you are far from town with it's beautiful gardens. The staff were so quality accommodation and we just had the best experience ever! Will definitely recommend anyone to go and relax at Hands on....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbreed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back someday in the near future.
From all of us here at Hands on Retreat we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

From being almost decently welcomed things went down from there,as a couples retreat with a prior set schedule on our arrival none of that was layed out for us half of our stay there we were lost and had to ask every second staff member who also could not answer us. The manager was no were in sight to raise such queries and we waited the whole day just for one question to be answered. From there we literally got kicked out from the dinner room to find ourself our own food after having made a reservation the staff member threw her hands at us which made me feel very undermined. Still awaiting two of my treatments but I really just want to leave. We are a young couple but we shouldnt be treated like our money is not as good as the older married couples.spent our weekend hid away in our room because of the uncomfortable state we experienced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phumelele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
As the Guest house manager I was distraught to read your review on my return from holiday. I do apologize profusely for your unpleasant stay with us, as we strive to make each and every guest stay as memorable as possible.
It is a pity that you reverted to using a public platform to air your views; you have not afforded us the opportunity to make it up to you.
I suggest in future that you first lodge a complaint via email so that management can review and follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went to Hands on Treatment for my Birthday, A treat it was. Thanks to the very Friendly Staff, hassle free check in & Out. Masseuses were the best , just wispiest I had booked more treatments. cannot fault it anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We are delighted that you celebrated your birthday with us and that you had a great stay. Please feel free to contact us at any time with regards to more treatments, we will be happy to spoil you all over again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Tucked away in Craighall Park, Hands on Retreat, is the perfect escape for busy professionals or anyone seeking to re-energise without traveling too far out of the city. I stayed at the retreat for a weekend and left rejuvenated and refreshed. The staff are welcoming, and the decor absolutely amazing. The garden has the look of a lovingly unkempt garden that gives the feel of a countryside retreat. The retreat has a little gem of a river running through the property. I immediately remembered Norman Mclean's book, A River Runs Through It. While seeking for the countryside experience without traveling too far to get it, I highly recommend Hands on Retreat as that perfect escape place. Jackee

Room Tip: When you arrive, you will find your name written on a petite chalk board by your door, welcoming you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Wow, thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are so happy we made your weekend memorable. You know were to find us when you need a break away, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benoni
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We appreciated many things..the warm welcome, friendly staff, competent treatments, willingness to go the second mile, comfortable beds, the informality and the malva pudding! Big thanks to Louis and Martine, Karin, the chef Juan and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for this amazing review, we delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself. Hope to see you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My hubby and I took up the offer that was advertised where you get a nights stay and a full body hot stone massage. We arrived in the evening to a warm, cosy friendly place where the team was ever so pleasant. Our room was just perfect. We did not expect a little place like this to have such a yummy breakfast menu with such great service. I could have sat at the breakfast table the entire day and thats not because I am pregnant.
I informed Hands on Retreat in advance that i was pregnant. They took extra care to explain the massage and what they will be doing. The massage was just so beautiful. I then had a lovely pedicure and foot massage on their deck. It was extremely relaxing and I could have fallen asleep. Overall an amazing place to get away to where you are treated like royalty from start to end.

Room Tip: Room facing the gardens next to the dining hall. You cant hear anybody in the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandsOn_10, Manager at Hands On Retreat, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, all the best for the next few month awaiting your bundle of joy. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.3 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
10.9 mi away
Aquanzi Lodge
Aquanzi Lodge
#14 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#8 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hands On Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hands On Retreat

Property: Hands On Retreat
Address: 4 Argyle Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hands On Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION and BEST VALUE for money! We are centrally situated in the upmarket "Parks" area of Northern Johannesburg and give easy access to our surrounding suburbs of Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg whether by car or public transport. 10 Minutes drives from the Sandton and Rosebank Gautrain station and the use of UBer taxi services are advised (use code martinal if first time user to get R90 off your 1st ride).Transport can be arranged from OR Tambo, however quickest way is to use the GAUTRAIN. 6 Double on- suite rooms with private garden access, with small kitchenette ideal for LONG STAYS for the deserning business or leasure traveller. SECURE OFF STREET PARKING with own remote control. All rooms have a seperate bath and shower. 1 WHEEL CHAIR friendly room and all beds are queen size. FREE High speed internet and our ON-SITE COFFEE SHOP makes our venue ideal for breakfast and lunch meetings. WALKING distance to Hacklebrook Conference and 10 minutes drive to SANDTON Convention Center. DINNER trays by arrangements On- Site HAIRDRESSER and SPA. 5 Minutes walk to VALLEY SHOPPING Centre: Woolworths, Clicks, Bottle Store, Vodacom, Butcher, Coffee shops and Laundromat 5 mintues walk from Pick , Pay and Planett Fitness 5 minutes to KFC and Mc Dondalds take aways Delicious breakfasts are served from 7h00 to 10h00 to order on our patio which opens out onto a garden abundant of trees and bird life. You also have enough space in front of your room to enjoy our wonderful Johannesburg afternoons sipping sundowners ordered from our coffee shop Cold days are warmed by a roaring log fire in our dining room. RATES DROP FOR WEEKLY AND MONTHLY STAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hands On Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing