We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do so much better”
Review of The Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 27 May 2013

It beggars belief how this hotel has managed to get a four star rating. As the walls bordering the passage and between rooms are made of drywall/plaster board just about every minute sound transmits into and out of the room. The toilet is separated from the rest of the room by only a partition that reaches only about 2/3rd up the height of the room. What's wrong with a properly enclosed toilet & bathroom that has a door that you can close? In the shower cubicle there is a flimsy strange leaf shaped contraption that you must stand on and which wobbles. Floor tiles would have worked much bettet. The room I stayed in had the hot & cold water incorrectly labelled. The hotel's decor is thematically based on gold reef mining so internationally incorporates a rustic look. However, sometimes the rustic look is completely unintentional. Take for example the visible damage from damp to the bathroom partition wall in my room, or the exposed wires & hole connecting the lights in the bathroom, or the patched up drywall next to the toilet. This hotel has no gym or swimming pool and you have to pay for the Internet.
Johannesburg is a large city with so many options. You would be crazy to want to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoneThough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel looks like a normal 3stars european hotel. Service is nothing special. R200 for a 500mb internet connection are ridicolous !
Unbearable noise during the night because of the thin glass, even on the seventh floor.

Room Tip: top floors in order to reduce the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matteoadriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My family and I overnighted here on the way to Durban and found it very comfortable. The service was excellent, in particular the Travel Desk which took us to Johannesburg Zoo for the day ! We were a bit disappointed that the main restaurant was closed for Boxing Day however

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Rooms are clean and modern. Walls are paper thin. Both nights staying here were kept awake by loud guests in the halls and nearby rooms at all hours of the night. We ate in the restaurant the first night, rood was nice. Service from wait staff was friendly but lacking. When time to pay bill there were no staff members to be found. Room service was a joke. Called number provided to be rudely told to go to reception. Went to reception to find at 5pm that neither kitchen was open and food wouldn't be ready until after 6. Our order finally arrived close to 7 and was barely warm and the cheese platter was without and crackers. I went back to reception to get some them. Waited for 20-30 mins for them to be brought up to the room. The deadlock on the room doors do not work, house keeping knocked once at 4pm then proceeded to override the deadlock and enter with next to no notice. The overall appearance of the hotel is nice but general service is quite poor. The hotel did not feel tourist welcome or friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

TERRIBLE stay, TERRIBLE service. The internet wasn't working when I arrived; I called reception and they said they'd take care of it and call me back in a few minutes. 90 minutes later, I had to call them, and oops! The tech just left! Call back tomorrow? (Eventually came back on its own halfway through the stay.) Getting the room cleaned - basic things like TP added and congealing room service trays taken away - took many calls/in-person visits to reception over a period of several hours. I was told I'd put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on my door when in fact, I never had one in my room to begin with (nor handsoap, nor a room service menu, etc.) The room heater unit was broken while it was literally snowing outside. After a night spent sleeping in coat and trousers but still waking up shivering, it took 3 pleading conversations with reception to get someone to look at it. He came, played with a few buttons, said he'd "be right back" and disappeared for hours. Had to call reception AGAIN to get them to convince him to come back. He initially assumed it was fine because when he pressed the remote, the screen lit up.

Finally, it was agreed that my heater was broken and if I had to stay in that room another night I'd leave (I was reserved for two more nights), so they moved me to a different room. However, the incompetent staff didn't change it in the computer, so they checked someone else into the room I was staying in - resulting in three (understandably!) irate strangers (men) barging in on me sleeping at midnight and being very confused/hostile as to why I was in "their" room! Called the front desk, who said they had no idea who I was, and were sending a security team to question me about why I was in "their" room. Finally got it sorted out, got back to sleep, but woke up at 7AM to a power failure ONLY IN MY ROOM. After a patronizing phone call with reception to ascertain whether I was in fact capable of operating light switches and electricity in general correctly, they sent a manager to "check things out," who also tried flipping all the light switches before agreeing, yes, it was not working.

I was so fed up I checked out, to their total shock. The manager walked with me to another nearby hotel (NOT belonging to the same hotel group!) so I could tell him the whole story, and became the FIRST person to really apologize. He said he would send my luggage to the new hotel right away. They never did; calls to check on it led to them curtly disavowing ANY knowledge of it ever existing, until the concierge of my lovely *new* hotel personally sent a porter over with a physical description. It was beside the front desk.

I wish I had a time machine so I could un-stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We’re only staying in Joburg for one night and we’re looking for a hotel that offered a good price, a good and clean room and that was located next to the airport or to the attractions we wanted to visit.
With this in mind, the hotel was a good choice for us.
The location was perfect for us as we wanted to be next to Soccer City and the Apartheid Museum. Also, the room was very new and looked nice, clean, with a good and comfy bed. The transfer service was great.
Although it was a good value for us, we had some problems in our stay. Our internet didn't work and the night staff wasn't able or willing to fix it. The night staff also tried to arrange for us an non-authorized driver when we asked for the service instead of contacting the official service offered by the hotel. When we checked in we were asked to pay for the room even though we`ve a book with booking.com. We paid in the hotel and after we received an "no-show" e-mail from booking.com telling us that the cancelation fee was going to be charged. We're able to solve this problem with booking.com, but it was a very bad act from the hotel. Also the hotel didn’t offered a taxi service but only drivers,. For us, it worked very well as the driver as very good and we didn’t want to worry about transport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We’re only staying in Joburg for one night and we’re looking for a hotel that offered a good price, a good and clean room and that was located next to the airport or to the attractions we wanted to visit.
With this in mind, the hotel was a good choice for us.
The location was perfect for us as we wanted to be next to Soccer City and the Apartheid Museum, but you can't walk around at night. Also, the room was very new and looked nice, clean, with a good and comfy bed. The bathroom didn't have a door to separate it from the bedroom. The transfer service was great.
Although it was a good value for us, we had some problems in our stay. Our internet didn't work and the night staff wasn't able or willing to fix it. The night staff also tried to arrange for us an non-authorized driver when we asked for the service instead of contacting the official service offered by the hotel. When we checked in we were asked to pay for the room even though we`ve a book with booking.com. We paid in the hotel and after we received an "no-show" e-mail from booking.com telling us that the cancelation fee was going to be charged. We're able to solve this problem with booking.com, but it was a very bad act from the hotel. Also the hotel didn’t offered a taxi service but only drivers,. For us, it worked very well as the driver as very good and we didn’t want to worry about transport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
5.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#33 of 66 in Johannesburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
7.6 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 66 in Johannesburg
189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Hotel

Address: 58 Anderson Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £41 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Reef Hotel is a 5-minute drive from Johannesburg's City Hall. It has an on-site restaurant and modern guest rooms with satellite TV and individual decor. Rooms at Reef Hotel feature floor-to-ceiling black and white photos. Each has a sitting area with a large satellite TV. The private bathroom offers a separate bathtub and shower in a deluxe room and a shower only in a standard room. Reef Hotel's restaurant uses fresh, seasonal ingredients to prepare both South African and international cuisine. The hotel's in-house bar offers South African wine, international champagne and has panoramic views of Johannesburg. The Apartheid Museum is a 5 minute drive from Reef Hotel. Many of Johannesburg's art galleries are also nearby. Complimentary shuttle is available within a 5KM radius subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing