We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grant Middleditch”
Review of The Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reef Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    154
    67
    21
    24
See reviews for
24
119
49
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you are visiting Gauteng area for business, this may not be a bad choice. It is right in the middle of the business district...just two streets away from the office I visited while in Jo'burg.

Pros:

1. It is generally neat; I like the look and feel of the hotel. The ceiling will however make you wonder if you were put in a room that was only near completion - I had to check the hotel pamphlet to convince myself that this was not the case. However, I got used to it after the second day.

2. It was cost effective as I did not have to spend money on the rather costly cabs in the area.

3. The hotel caters for the classy traveller in its restaurant on the third floor; and theclassy-rugged traveller in its Goldmine cafe on the ground floor.

4. The staff were ready to help - making an effort and were friendly too. I was quite pleased with their service.


Cons:

1. The hotel is located in the business district which is not a very safe place early morning, in the evening and during weekends. We were warned so many times to be careful with our laptops and to move in groups. We were too afraid to go out for walks in the evening and during weekends for fear of being assaulted as the area was deserted during these times.

2. The hotel does not have a gym, swimming pool or spa. I understand that business persons may be the clientele...but business persons also have a life outside laptops and conference/board rooms. There should at least be a gym and spa to relax nerves after a hard day's work.

3. The WIFI was very poor. I felt like I logged on a million times before the end of the evening. I have been to a guest house before and the WIFI did not even blink from the day we checked in to the day we checked out.

4. The toilet was nice - but I asked other colleagues (seven of them) if they had bath tubs in their bedrooms and they all said no. I think a bath tub helps one make very good business decisions; period. Also, the shower is in a cubicle but the toilet is not...I wouldn't want to share a room with anyone under such circumstances!

Generally, the price for the hotel is not so bad...but a lot more added value will make it a nice place to stay For now, it is not homely. For business, I may return but for anything else, I doubt.

Hope this helps you make a choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Coming from the northern suburbs, we ventured into the city for a night out. Rooms were very funky, nice theme of gold mining throughout the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Although sky bar was still under renovation we got to go up and take some photos. Would recommend for business travelers into Joburg or just for a night out in the city, coupled with a visit to the theatre or something.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

So the positives: they have a shuttle to the airport; the rooms are clean and comfortable, though the shower is really small.

The negatives: There is no mini bar or fridge as described on hotels.com; the internet is bad and cuts off pretty much continuously. The computers in the lobby are rickety at best. The walls are thin so you can hear everything in your neighbors loo...coughing, showering, toilet flushing...Also breakfast should definitely be included. The Gold Mine is overpriced for what you get. You're better off walking to Nino's a block away or the African Heritage Kitchen over by the Carlton Building which has great brekkie and lunch.

The worst: The staff is woefully uninformed and unhelpful. Some for instances: they didn't know what kind of voltage their electricity is and rather that say "i'll find out" they just left it with "i don't know." Also, when we asked for a 30 minute laid check out, it was denied because we didn't arrange it the day before...and we were told that housekeeping was literally waiting to clean the room. Of course, when we left, the cart wasn't even on our floor.

The area: Super dangerous. We were mugged in broad daylight 4 blocks from the hotel in a highly populated area and no one helped us. When we reported this to the staff, they basically said "yes, you can't go out on weekends or in the evenings or else this will happen." They told us not to call the police because it wouldn't do any good and they didn't offer a medical kit despite the fact that we were both roughed up. Note to hotel: staff should ask if guests are ok after they are attacked. If, as they said, it happens all the time, then they should have a protocol to follow!

Further, when we asked about safe areas to go like Rosebank, we were told not to take the bus or the train because, again, it's too confusing and dangerous and so we should take a taxi. Of course in Joburg you can't hail cabs on the street and we didn't have a phone since we were only there 4 days. When we asked how we would get back from Rosebank, the staff basically said "ya, that's a real challenge because you have to call them when you're ready, and cabs won't wait for you"... so for 4 days, we felt really stuck in the hotel with a 4 block radius to explore and unwilling to go any further into the city...it's a shame, but clearly the hotel has chosen style over substance. Any way you look at it, the staff needs immediate training on customer service...they need to learn how to point out solutions and not just problems. They come across as lazy at best, but otherwise it looks like they are either ignorant or surly.

Room Tip: I think higher floors are better and a deluxe has a minibar and a tub...but we couldn't get a cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogaTricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff treated me as if I were royalty!!! The fine dinning restaurant was very good. Aside from the location, if you're in jo'burg for overnight stay I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schopflein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

It beggars belief how this hotel has managed to get a four star rating. As the walls bordering the passage and between rooms are made of drywall/plaster board just about every minute sound transmits into and out of the room. The toilet is separated from the rest of the room by only a partition that reaches only about 2/3rd up the height of the room. What's wrong with a properly enclosed toilet & bathroom that has a door that you can close? In the shower cubicle there is a flimsy strange leaf shaped contraption that you must stand on and which wobbles. Floor tiles would have worked much bettet. The room I stayed in had the hot & cold water incorrectly labelled. The hotel's decor is thematically based on gold reef mining so internationally incorporates a rustic look. However, sometimes the rustic look is completely unintentional. Take for example the visible damage from damp to the bathroom partition wall in my room, or the exposed wires & hole connecting the lights in the bathroom, or the patched up drywall next to the toilet. This hotel has no gym or swimming pool and you have to pay for the Internet.
Johannesburg is a large city with so many options. You would be crazy to want to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoneThough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel looks like a normal 3stars european hotel. Service is nothing special. R200 for a 500mb internet connection are ridicolous !
Unbearable noise during the night because of the thin glass, even on the seventh floor.

Room Tip: top floors in order to reduce the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteoadriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.3 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
5.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#34 of 68 in Johannesburg
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Hotel

Property: The Reef Hotel
Address: 58 Anderson Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Reef Hotel is a 5-minute drive from Johannesburg's City Hall. It has an on-site restaurant and modern guest rooms with satellite TV and individual decor. Rooms at Reef Hotel feature floor-to-ceiling black and white photos. Each has a sitting area with a large satellite TV. The private bathroom offers a separate bathtub and shower in a deluxe room and a shower only in a standard room. Reef Hotel's restaurant uses fresh, seasonal ingredients to prepare both South African and international cuisine. The hotel's in-house bar offers South African wine, international champagne and has panoramic views of Johannesburg. The Apartheid Museum is a 5 minute drive from Reef Hotel. Many of Johannesburg's art galleries are also nearby. Complimentary shuttle is available within a 5KM radius subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing