We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Ranked #31 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Los Gatos, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We chose this based on trip advisor and were not disappointed. The owner, Anne was there but her husband had some surgery so Margie took over the running. She was so helpful, new to the job, but what she couldn't answer she made a point to find out. I got help with the internet acesss, she made dinner reservations and car arrangements. When my husband was ill one day, they were very helpful. The room was lovely, only the bathroom without a door to close was a bit strange. Overall a very pleasant experience and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLosGatos_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
36
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I stayed here for 3 non-consecutive nights in December and it was the perfect stay to help me start my travels in South Africa.

I was apprehensive about traveling solo and walking around the neighborhood but I was pleasantly surprised with how safe it was, especially walking through the patrolled streets to Rosebank Mall.

Location, room size, breakfast and cleanliness are all fantastic but Anne, Margie, Rosie & Cynthia are the true gems of the guesthouse - I felt they went above and beyond, including letting me check in early, make dinner reservations at local restaurants and preparing a packed breakfast when I had to depart before the scheduled breakfast time.
Would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Jo'burg, from families to business travelers to solo travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Our two day stay could not have been better and will book again on our next visit to Johannesburg. We could not have hoped for a better host who went out of her way to be helpful even though we arrived at 9am when our book in time was midday. The breakfast was so good and large we did not need lunch.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

One of the best experiences I've had while travelling. Very friendly staff and great service, and in a very nice and pretty location where you can feel safe. The room I had was spacious and well furnished, with a very comfy bed. Instead of a minibar there's a big fridge in the central living room, with a small ledger to keep track of your purchases. There's also a small library here with books, travel information and magazines to read.
The Rosebank Lodge is about a block-and-a-half away from a large mall for all your shopping and dinner needs.
You can also book transport to/from O.R. Tambo airport while booking your room, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanut-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at this Guest House. Everything worked out well, arrival and check in was easy and straight forward. The Guest Lodge is very well laid out with a smart welcome area with TV. The rooms are very nice and very well made up - always clean and tidy and bright. The location when we first got there we thought was a little outside from the centre but you soon realise that Johannesburg doesnt have a real centre - well not one you want to stay in anyway.
Very friendly people were always on hand to help and support with anything you need and if you dont need help you are left to get on with whatever you want to do - just how I like it :-)
Highly recommended for anyone paying a short or long stay in J'Burg!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the Rosebank Lodge Guest House. The property is really beautiful with a pool and a very nice room. The room was very modern and well equiped. The room and bathroom are nice and spacious. A complimentary tea/coffee service is in-room. There's a nice sitting room with TV, and bookshelves full of books that you can borrow, and magazines galore. In the sitting room there's also an honesty fridge with cold drinks for everybody. The prices for that are more than moderate. The owner, Anne, was more than helpful. The breakfast is made to order and very good every morning. Wireless internet use was free of charge. The property itself is located in walking distance from the Rosebank Mall with a some good shops and very good restaurants. All together we really loved the place and would stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamburg_girl_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, WI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Rosebank Lodge and Guesthouse for two nights, Oct. 22 and 23, 2011. It is lovely! The room was very, very comfortable and stylish. The gathering area...welcoming. The garden...beautiful. The food...delicious! It was quiet, clean and safe. Anne was a gracious hostess.

Georgiana Schwandt, USA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiana_Schwandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.7 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#31 of 66 in Johannesburg
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#8 of 297 in Johannesburg
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebank Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge Guest House

Property: Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Address: 75 Rutland Road | Just off Oxford Rd, Rosebank, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank Lodge Guest House is well situated just three blocks from the Rosebank Mall, and two and a half blocks from the new Rosebank Gautrain station. It is an ideal location for the corporate as well as the leisure traveller. Several rooms overlook a landscaped garden, most with private entrances or garden entrances and were upgraded recently to include LCD TVs with DSTV decoders, complimentary wifi, crisp percale linen, 5* legacy mattresses - ensuring your comfort whilst you are away from home, amidst the hustle and bustle of the central Rosebank business district. Some rooms feature full bathrooms and luxurious king sized beds as well as a business area for checking on those important email responses etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosebank Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing