We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Ranked #20 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The boutique hotel is so beautiful, with an old world charm.. Location to things to do is perfect. The grounds and building are amazing - its a nice escape in a big, noisy city. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good and they have a well stocked mini-bar. Security here is very good, for those worried about staying close to JoBerg/Pretoria.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Manager at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Shannon,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our hotel as much as we do!
We hope you had a great trip and would love to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We would recommend this establishment for its location, beautiful property and helpful management. We were able to walk to Sandton City from this location but it is easy and reasonable enough to hire a cab. The accommodations were lovely. The bed and pillows were clean and comfortable. The only downside was the shower did not drain properly and there was some confusion about our pre-payment which required we spend time with them sorting it out when it never should have been in question. Otherwise, these are only minor issues and on the whole a very fine establishment and a better option than a cookie cutter type hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing Sandton Boutique Hotel for your visit to Joburg and thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the rooms and facilities of the hotel.Our apologies about the confusion with regard to the pre payment: we do not usually get paypal transactions. Again thank you for staying with us and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Best wishes,

The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It's not often that I arrive at a hotel, B&B or Guesthouse where I just feel like I belong. 28A is a peaceful little haven close to everything.

The rooms are big and comfy, great shower and bathrooms, but more than anything it's the attention to detail, the small things that make this place unique.

If you want to stay someplace where you'll feel like you're staying with old friends and you can just chill and do what you like, come and go as you please then 28A is it!

Room Tip: Be close to the main house and social or far and anonymous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APagey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear APagye,

Thanks for your very nice review. We are happy that you feel elcome in our hotel and hope to exceed your expectations next time you stay with us.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

Emmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

For business purpose I chose this Boutique B&B instead of a large hotel chain. Well I made the right choice. The room was spacious and I had my own private terras. Excellent staff especially Zas the Manager. She is so warm and helpfull. Nice mix of guests (business and leisure). The well decorated spacious garden with several whistling birds makes this hotel a real pearl in crowdy Jo'burg. The place is very central and they have their own taxi driver what is very convenient.
I am looking forward to my next stay in this great place. Remy Rodenhuis.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeeheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we loved having you as our guest. Our team is there to make you relax and enjoy the beauty of South Africa, even when you are here only for a short business trip. We hope you come back soon with your family to be able to enjoy a little more of what Joburg has to offer!
Very best wishes,

The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was second stay and I enjoyed all the more because it felt like I was home. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. I love being able to walk to Sandton City, pedicures by the pool, massage in the spa then right into my room to relax, home cooked meals catered to my allergies, reading in the garden and the spacious rooms.

I will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the same room I had before. I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rybs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Manager at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We do appreciate it very much and hope that your countrymen and women will also come to enjoy our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back next time!

The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A beautiful garden setting and tastefully decorated rooms. Sanders, the manager was kind to pick us up and drop off at the Gautrain. Nice wine selection to enjoy in the garden. Very clean and well maintained. Treat yourself to the massage as all three of us did.

Room Tip: We had just arrived after a very long flight from the United States. Highly recommend booking a mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredTeacher15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear guests,

Thanks so much for your kind review! We are happy too hear that you are as positive about our beautiful hotel as we are. It was our pleasure to serve you and I am glad the massages did their work after your long flight.

Thank you again and hope to welcome you back!!

Emmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

To say it's within walking distance of both Sandton City and Hyde Park malls might be reserved for the more strenuous, but it is very close to both. The gracious thatched house is set in a magnificent garden where the bubbling of the swimming pool and the birdsong is more evident that the noise of the city outside. This is a perfect place to come back to and just relax on the verandah or in the garden.
The room was very spacious and very comfortable... with a perfect bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capeinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Carl,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. This coming from such a seasoned professional in the hospitality business, gives it even more weight. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very best wishes from Emmie van the Sandton Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford

Address: 28a Oxford Avenue | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandton Boutique Hotel is a small friendly hotel in Sandhurst, Sandton, Johannesburg. Very close to Sandton City, with plenty of shops and restaurants, but in a beautiful tranquil setting. Ideal for business travelers, with spacious suites and rooms, free wifi, a conference room and plenty of place to invite your business contacts. Our service oriented and friendly staff will go out of its way to arrange transport, reservations, introductions etc. The in house restaurant caters for individual guests as well as for larger groups. The venue is very well suited for business meetings,dinner parties, braais and celebrations. Access to OR Tambo or Pretoria is easy with either the Gautrain, taxi or private transportation. We offer 8 beautifully furnished suites, all boasting en-suite bathrooms; under floor heating; telephones; DSTV and DVD players; coffee and tea making facilities; a bar fridge; wall safe and free wifi all over the property. All our suites have private entrances as well as private patios and overlook the luxurious garden. There are two lovely lounges, a dining room and a library. Our patio is ideal for sundowners as you listen to the sound of bubbling water and the beautiful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing