We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Ranked #18 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oosterbeek, the Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Sandton Boutique Hotel for several weeks, making trips in between. The staff was so kind as to give us the same room every time we came back from our travels and remembered our preferences. We felt indulged.
The hotel is warmly decorated with a mix of South African furniture and modern luxury. The hotel is very well situated in the centre of Johannesburg, only two minutes away from the Sandton City Mall. We recommend this hotel with pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review of our hotel. We are happy we have been able to make you feel at home and that you enjoyed our beautiful city!

It was very nice to have you as our guests and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to South Africa.

Best wishes,

Emmie and the Sandton Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    31
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
56
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying here for our first trip to South Africa. The trip was predominantly business. Emmie and her staff were most accommodating with all of our requests. The room was so lovely and the grounds were most pleasant. We have now found the place we will stay for all future trips to Sandton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Roxanne,

Thanks so much for your review: that is very kind of you! We thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests and we hope you will be visiting us again soon! All the best from beautiful Joburg: we miss you!

Emmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for one night, between our return from Kruger and onwards to Cape Town. The room we got at first had a thatched roof, and we found bugs in the cabinet with the fridge. Management was very gracious about changing rooms, offered to move us to a full concrete room, which we readily accepted. The Hotel is done up very nicely, the bathrooms especially are works of art. We stayed in for dinner, they had a grill on in the garden, but when we asked for Halaal food, they made sure our meal was prepared separately in the kitchen. And it was one of our most flavorful meals, served with great enthusiasm and regard for our dietary restrictions. The location is a bit iffy, if you are staying longer and would like to be out and about most of the times. It's in a residential lane, far from public transport and public areas, and though it's a safe neighborhood, the staff themselves discouraged us from walking around after dark. There are small nuisances, like what is or isn't included in the room rate (e.g. we were pretty sure that there was a hotel shuttle to the airport, which was a major reason we booked here, but it turned out they arrange transport for you at a higher than market cost).

Room Tip: Ask for a concrete roofed room..the thatched roofs are risky bugs-wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Sandton Boutique Hotel and your compliments to the friendly staff and the food. We were happy to accommodate your Halal food wishes and glad you enjoyed the Braai. Most of our guests appreciate the lush and green environment in the middle of busy Sandton and the fact that it is 5 minutes from the Gautrain, so would disagree about the location being iffy. As our website describes, the hotel is located in Sandhurst, the most upmarket suburb of Sandton and walking distance from Sandton City Mall as well as Hydepark Mall.
We will certainly check with you booking site about the transport mix up: thanks for calling that to our attention.
We wish you a great stay in Capetown and hope you return to Pakistan with good memories of South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Old world charm blends well with modern South African sytyle. We stayed in fine, individually decorated rooms. The bathrooms display good equipment and all amenities. We enjoyed the lush and well maintained garden. Breakfast is good. We experienced very friendly service. The location is suitable to explore Sandton. Sufficient parking space is available. I am looking forward to be there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the extra bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and also for your very friendly review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you and your colleagues again soon!

On behalf of Sander and the rest of the staff very best wishes from a beautiful and sunny Joburg!

Emmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This B and B was selected for our group during our stay for 4 nights. We were warmly greeted and shown our beautiful rooms. I stayed in the Jade room. It was huge, tastefully decorated with the most gorgeous and big bathroom with a large claw foot tub. There were a good amount of nice amenties such as bath salts. I certainly appreciated the free wifi that was not limited as I found at another hotel during my stay in South Africa. Brenda and Lucia were just lovely and accommodating. We had some confusion upon check out but I think that was more because of the travel coordinator than the hotel. The grounds are spectacular and well-maintained. I wish I would have had more time to relax in the garden. As for location, I think you need transportation to get around. The malls aren't far but a brisk walk.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice, different character. I saw several.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your nice review of our hotel! We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you had a wonderful time. I will thank Lucia and Michelle for taking special care of you.

Please come back soon to enjoy more of Africa and our hotel!

Best wishes from a sunny and beautiful Joburg!

Emmie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Sandton is a an excellent value in a very convenient location. We took the Gautrain from the airport and then quickly made our way to the hotel. We were greeted with warmth and efficiency. The breakfasts and dinners were splendid and gave us more time to sight see. Lucia is a gracious hostess who went out of her way to insure our comfort. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cathi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very kind review. We are happy you chose our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that the rest of your trip was fantastic and that South Africa was all that you expected and more! We would love to welcome you back in beautiful Johannesburg soon!

The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The boutique hotel is so beautiful, with an old world charm.. Location to things to do is perfect. The grounds and building are amazing - its a nice escape in a big, noisy city. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good and they have a well stocked mini-bar. Security here is very good, for those worried about staying close to JoBerg/Pretoria.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Manager at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Shannon,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate our hotel as much as we do!
We hope you had a great trip and would love to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
The Sandton Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
716 reviews
4.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 68 in Johannesburg
315 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford

Property: Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Address: 28a Oxford Avenue | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandton Boutique Hotel is a small friendly hotel in Sandhurst, Sandton, Johannesburg. Very close to Sandton City, with plenty of shops and restaurants, but in a beautiful tranquil setting. Ideal for business travelers, with spacious suites and rooms, free wifi, a conference room and plenty of place to invite your business contacts. Our service oriented and friendly staff will go out of its way to arrange transport, reservations, introductions etc. The in house restaurant caters for individual guests as well as for larger groups. The venue is very well suited for business meetings,dinner parties, braais and celebrations. Access to OR Tambo or Pretoria is easy with either the Gautrain, taxi or private transportation. We offer 8 beautifully furnished suites, all boasting en-suite bathrooms; under floor heating; telephones; DSTV and DVD players; coffee and tea making facilities; a bar fridge; wall safe and free wifi all over the property. All our suites have private entrances as well as private patios and overlook the luxurious garden. There are two lovely lounges, a dining room and a library. Our patio is ideal for sundowners as you listen to the sound of bubbling water and the beautiful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing