We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay in Sandton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
Ranked #19 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sandton Boutique Hotel and it was wonderful. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and is like an oasis in the city. The rooms are stunning and extremely clean. The staff was super accommodating too. We had a mix-up on arrival because the booking site (hotels.com) didn't book something properly, but the staff was accommodating and sorted it out. They also let us stay past our check-out time and lounge in the beautiful garden. They also arranged all of our travel needs to and from the hotel. Just fantastic. The spa treatment I got was amazing as well. Overall it was a fabulous experience and I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greeli02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Manager at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest and it was an absolute pleasure to make you feel at home. We do hope the rest of your travels were nice and would love to welcome you back some time.

Best wishes,

Lucia
Sandton Boutique Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at the Sandton Boutique Hotel for 9 nights in November. We had initially booked five but due to a change of travel plans we asked for an extra 5 nights which they said they could accommodate but we would need to change rooms for the last night. We were happy with this as it saved the enormous hazzle of moving hotels in this city. However on our last day we were informed that we would need to ‘change hotels’ - so as you can imagine we were not best pleased and we beleive that this was because the hotel needed to accommodate a group of people attending a local business course - they obviously got more money from business bookings than one off travellers like us.

Our room (107) which was in the thatched area was superb, clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff cleaned the room every day and replenished towels etc frequently. The hotel is in a safe area and had good security and the gardens were very peaceful and well maintained. Yes the pool did have some problems after a heavy storm but plenty of staff were on hand to try and clean it up, not that simple.

On the negative side it was the inconsistency in the standard of food that we had during our stay. Our first few days the food was good but then the meals deteriorated and were really poor in quality and amount and we were surprised at this change and could only put it down to a change in staff. Sometimes we were the only guests eating so one would expect a better standard. We think that because of this the evening meals were prepared during the day and reheated when we arrived for dinner and on many evenings there was only one member of staff to cook and look after the whole of the hotel a daunting task even for the most experienced and on a few nights we only had a trainee member of staff to look after us. We are not ones to complain but it was a shame that this ruined our stay in Johannesburg it what could have been a wonderful hotel if the standard of food had been maintained.


We had booked the accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis - which usually covers both continental and full english, however cooked breakfast is charged extra so be aware of that. The cost of both the food and drinks we thought was extremely high compared with the numerous other hotels and guesthouses we have stayed in throughout our three months stay in Africa which was again a surprise;

On the positive side the hotel staff were extremely friendly and went the ‘extra mile’ to help you so a big thank you to them but something needs to be done to make this establishment a better venue which it could quite easily be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and accommodating staff and the beautiful rooms. We also appreciate your critique: we like to learn from our guests.
With regard to the food inconsistency, there may have been a flaw because of the chef's abrupt leave. We apologise for the inconvenience. WIth regard to the comparison of prices with the rest of Africa: please note that Johannesburg is the major city of Africa and the prices are not comparable to the rest of Africa. We are consistent with prices in Sandton at 4 star guesthouses.
With regard to the fact that you had to move out, I am really surprised! We extended your stay immediately when you decided to stay longer than originally booked and booked you through to what we were told would be the last day of your stay. If there was a miscommunication, that is very unfortunate. However, we never cut your stay short from your extended booking..
Again, thank you for the review and we hope the rest of your travels went well and that you arrived home safely.

Best wishes,

Sandton Boutiqe Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great atmosfere, quite place. Really nice furniture and facility. Excellent services provided by hotel´s employees. Hotel staff is able to do great recommendation in terms of restaurants, places to see etc. Only one area for improvement: Stability and performance of WiFi in all hotel´s places.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed one night here after a week in Madagascar on our way back to the US. We arrived late in the evening and had missed dinner, but Lucia arranged a driver to take us to a nearby restaurant and pick us up when we were finished. As we were not at all familiar with the area , this was a huge comfort.

I had the chance to chat with Lucia for a bit and she was very warm and accommodating. When I mentioned that our flight out of Jo-berg wasn't until 6:00 PM the next day she readily offered to let us stay in our rooms past checkout - I can't express how much we appreciated this, as we were preparing ourselves for a 17 hour flight home. Instead of sitting in the airport all day we were able to enjoy the grounds, rest in our rooms, and most importantly shower right before we left! Lucia also arranged a car (driven by the very lovely Nelson) to take us to the airport.

The rooms are lovely, and I had possibly the best shower of my life - not just because I was washing off the grime from Madagascar, but also because the showers themselves are amazing.

The breakfast offering in the morning was much nicer than your standard hotel buffet fare; delicious croissants and breads, real yogurt and yummy juices. My sister-in-law made use of the spa treatments offered and was very happy with them.

Overall we felt very safe and comfortable here, which is just what we wanted at this point in our trip. Lucia said to me several times, "welcome home!" and that is just what it felt like: home!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Lucia made our stay extra personal and special. Felt like we were well-looked after guests in someone's private home. An oasis and gem of Johannesburg!
Gunther also soothed my tired traveler bones with an incredible massage on property....just steps from my thatch-roofed room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Gerard,

Thanks so much for your kind review! We are happy you enjoyed the service at Sandton Boutique Hotel and Lucia thanks you for your personal words. It is our pleasure to make our guests feel at home and to make them relax. A Gunther massage is just teh ticket after a long flight and we hope it did indeed rejuvenate you. We hope you will come back soon to enjoy Joburg!

Best wishes from a beautiful country which is celebrating the life of its Great Tata (Father), who passed away after a life of giving wisdom and leadership to this country and the world.

Emmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This Boutique Hotel is lovely to stay in on holiday as well as on business. Due to the warm and welcoming atmosphere I really felt at home. It has a large beautiful green and flowery garden where you can really relax. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is great and the rooms are nicely decorated. It is centrally located to the Gautrain and Sandton City which makes it a perfect place to stay for going around in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I had booked a conference room for a client function and paid a deposit about 2 weeks prior to the event to confirm and secure the booking. Three days before the start of the function the hotel called to say that they were giving the conference room to one of the hotel's regular clients - who needed the room on short notice. They didn't care that
1. I had a confirmed booking and paid a 50% deposit
2. invitations had already gone out to my function guests and they had RSVP'd
3. The Hotel's last minute cancellation could harm the reputation of my events company.

The Hotel wanted to move my function to a small, dingy, thatched loft without air conditioning, no projector or screen. Prior to making the booking, I visited the hotel and discussed my conferencing requirements with the hotel's management - I was shocked that they even tried to offer me the tiny loft as an alternative.

If you host events or client functions, be warned that this hotel is inclined to cancel your confirmed booking days before your event. The service is poor, unreliable and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Puso F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmiesandton, Owner at Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Ms P,

Sorry to see your review. Our manager called you to triy to discuss with you if she could offer you an alternative venue or even an upgrade, but unfortunatly, you did not deem it necessary to have a normal discussion with her. I also tried to call you twice, but you refused to take my calls, so we could not discuss the best solution. If you would have insisted on using that space, we would have asked our long term customer to use an other conference room. We refunded your money immediately when you cancelled the event by email, an hour after our phone call. Again, we are sorry to hear how you feel about the situation, but we believe that, in case of a rare situation like this, talking to the clients to come to a solution is the way to go: there is always a solution.

Again, our apologies and please note that we go for 100 % accommodating our guests. We hope you still had a nice event elsewhere.

Best wishes,

Sandton Boutique Hotel Team and

Emmie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
331 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford

Address: 28a Oxford Avenue | Sandhurst, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandton Boutique Hotel is a small friendly hotel in Sandhurst, Sandton, Johannesburg. Very close to Sandton City, with plenty of shops and restaurants, but in a beautiful tranquil setting. Ideal for business travelers, with spacious suites and rooms, free wifi, a conference room and plenty of place to invite your business contacts. Our service oriented and friendly staff will go out of its way to arrange transport, reservations, introductions etc. The in house restaurant caters for individual guests as well as for larger groups. The venue is very well suited for business meetings,dinner parties, braais and celebrations. Access to OR Tambo or Pretoria is easy with either the Gautrain, taxi or private transportation. We offer 8 beautifully furnished suites, all boasting en-suite bathrooms; under floor heating; telephones; DSTV and DVD players; coffee and tea making facilities; a bar fridge; wall safe and free wifi all over the property. All our suites have private entrances as well as private patios and overlook the luxurious garden. There are two lovely lounges, a dining room and a library. Our patio is ideal for sundowners as you listen to the sound of bubbling water and the beautiful birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Sandton Boutique Hotel - 28A on Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing