We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thaba Eco Hotel
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location and great views, with a wild life feel, you woulldn't know you're in Johannesburg. It was a great place to freshen up after a hectic year. We had team building games, which were great, a wonderful lunch followed and a great evening with dinner with all kinds of meat and variety. It's very safe and one can relax and enjoy the peace.

Room Tip: Have a team building session if you're travelling with a group of friends of colleagues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwight87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback.
We are most impressed that you enjoyed your evening and dinner prepared by our renowned chefs.
We look forward to having you back at Thaba Eco Hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights over the weekend at Thaba Ya Batswana, Our booking were are disaster and if I had not made a phone call to confirm the weekend would have been disastrous ( Booking done via booking.com I always use them so a first) Management responded quickly and professionally and resolved the issues. We attended a wedding and were impressed by service, venue and food.
The Suite was spacious and had the wow factor on entrance only once one started using the suite the discomfort of bathroom toilet and dressing in one room become oh too apparent.
As a one night stay to attend weddings/conferences it is perfect
The spa was good and we enjoyed our massage.

Room Tip: All Suites were good and don't believe any one has an attraction over any other. I rate this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug pullen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, General Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Mr Douglas Pullen

I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this survey, as it assists us in correcting our service shortcomings and I would like to assure you that we take your comments very seriously.

We have noted that the booking was made through bookings.com, we will get in contact with them regarding the booking experience you had, we sincerely apologizes that the process was not hassle free.

We have made a mistake by not placing the hamper in your room upon arrival, and we are glad that this was sorted, however this should have been checked. The matter will be addressed with our Rooms Division team.

Please will you be so kind as to what voucher you are referring to in your post?

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thaba Ya Batswana - Eco Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,

Maruis Botes

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Minutes away from central Johannesburg, this eco friendly hotel is situated in a nature reserve. It is a specialist venue for conferences, functions and weddings, but is also a fabulous venue for breakaways. The setting is lovely, accommodations are beautifully furnished suites, with cavernous and opulent bathrooms. Luxury toiletries are from Crabtree and Evelyn. Food is hearty, though not haute cuisine. A wonderful place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Greg W

We are blessed to be surrounded by the beautiful nature reserve and that our conference, functions, weddings and beautifully furnished suites met your expectations. We look forward to your return to Thaba Eco Hotel.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We recently booked this venue for my sisters wedding and the venue is beautiful,amazing setting,we booked 4 rooms for the night before and requested a few things prior to arrival, however there was a lack of communication between the relevant parties involved and some things were over looked by the hotel and the venue staff.

We checked in on Saturday evening only to be told our bookings were made for the next night however a gentleman by the name of Paul arranged rooms for us within an hour.The rooms are beautiful and spacious with stunning views,they are extremely clean,the bathrooms are massive,a good breakfast and an overall lovely hotel,you don't feel as though you are a stones throw away from the city.

The cons were that the arrangements I had made with the wedding co-ordinator with regards to details for our rooms and the hall for the wedding were not all fulfilled,although minor they should not have been overlooked,I have still not heard a word back from her till today as she said she would drop me an e-mail the week of the wedding to confirms these things- disappointing.
A very odd thing missing was there were no tissues in the room.

The wedding was amazing,the view breathtaking-highly recommend this wedding venue.

A huge thank you to Paul for your help in arranging the last minute details and taking the time to check in on the bridal party.

I would recommend this hotel but ensure everything is in writing or in an e-mail.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Nasmia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Nasmia

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing important areas for improvement to our attention. It is very important for us at Thaba Ya Batswana to be aware of such feedback and to ensure that our valued customers are always our first and foremost priority.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our venue. We are truly blessed to have such beautiful natural surroundings.

I have investigated the issues raised in your review. We would like to state that your sisters wedding was a Halaal wedding which was outsourced to a Halaal Caterer and Wedding coordinator. Thaba Ya Batswana was not involved in the planning the actual running, staffing or catering of the event.

With regards to the Hotel Rooms, our Company policy is that all rooms need to be secured with credit card details or full payment before check in. We had not received any thing from you and also could not reach you on the contact details provided to us. Therefore we cancelled the four provisional rooms but we are glad to hear that Paul assisted in reinstating these bookings for you on the day.

We do believe in creating lifelong friendships and this is what we hope to establish with you over time.

Please contact me should you require the details of the suppliers to resolve any matters you might have.

Our aim at Thaba Ya Batswana is to offer our clients an unforgettable experience every time and look forward to having them back for all occasions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.


Kind regards
TARYN PORTEOUS
Sales & Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our business accommodation was booked at this "home away from home" hotel. It was a wonderful way to relax and feel refreshed after a week of hectic business activities. The breath taking views and general feeling of calm and tranquility were appreciated by the delegates from all over the world.The staff are friendly, helpful,very efficient and always ready with a smile. The rooms are spacious,clean and have a great atmosphere with specific and creative decor. A very good night sleep is on the menu!
The Kraal restaurant did an awesome job at accommodating the needs and demands of us all and thanks to them we pulled off an amazing celebratory dinner.
Of course the Lion cubs were a highlight for many in our group, the experience of a cuddle with the babies is one that will be mentioned in our company for a long time still.
This hotel is a definite for business, family or a romantic getaway - I hope to see the Thaba family soon! A very well done to Paul and Taryn from Thaba Ya Batswana for coordinating our stay with ease.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Lynden K


We are pleased to know that we met your traveller’s expectations with our service, hotel rooms, food, especially as your guests were from different countries whose each demand was met in accordance to their specific needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This was really an amazing surprise, what a beautiful set up and awesome room, great service and attention to detail. Next time i will be back with the all family. I loved the baby Lions project concept. please keep the good job.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloGoncalves69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear PauloGoncalves69

We are excited to know that you were surprised with our beautiful rooms, great service and attention to detail. We can’t wait for when you bring your family back to experience our awesome hotel.

Regards
Thaba Eco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our conference was held at this world class hotel & lodge, the choice of global market leaders. From the minute you enter through the gates, you forget that you are in one of the busiest cities. Breathtaking views of the Southern part of Joburg, friendly staff right down from the cleaners to the MD, everywhere we went we were greeted with a smile and someone offering to assist with luggage, finding the way, etc. Conference facilities must be the best in the world, with great food and snacks and lots to drink. Fantastic rooms, with everything you need & more, the food at The Kraal Restaurant outstanding. The highlight was our interactive session with the lion cubs, a mere 4 weeks old, climbing all over us. Truly an awesome experience.

Room Tip: The eco apartments is a must stay as well as the Kraal area rooms - we stayed in 203 with own little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Wow, thank you Melanie665 for your feedback.

From the time you entered at security to the time you were greeted by our MD and were assisted by our porters we could tell you had an amazing experience.

We are also thrilled to know that you thought our hotel rooms were fantastic and that the food at our Kraal Kombuis Restaurant met your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you back at Thaba Eco Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
25.6 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#22 of 66 in Johannesburg
195 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
335 reviews
3.9 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#42 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
11.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Address: Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £104 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaba Eco Hotel is a rare and valuable jewel surrounded by the Southern Johannesburg metropolis. It is situated in the Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve just 10 km from the city centre and has an abundance of indigenous trees, plants, birds and wildlife. Thaba is passionate about professional, service-oriented hospitality. This, along with the beautiful world class facilities and breathtaking natural surroundings, makes it the venue of choice for weddings and all special occasions. Thaba offers an idyllic setting in contemporary African style that will make your special day unique and unforgettable. Our delightful on-site church is the perfect place for your sacred wedding vows to be concluded in a romantic atmosphere with panoramic views. Our team of professional wedding coordinators will take care of everything in the finest detail to ensure that you can fully enjoy every moment of your dream wedding. Relax in the luxury hotel rooms amidst the tranquil setting with breathtaking sunsets and unwind at the spa, refreshing pool and meditation trail. The Kraal Restaurant and Olive Tree Coffee Shop offer cuisine to satisfy the most discerning of palates with superb food and wine, delightful treats and rich aromatic coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing