We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautifull"”
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thaba Eco Hotel
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“"Beautifull"”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It was the most exciting experience for the 3 days.The place is fantastic and the staff has so much care for their clients.It was a business trip, but I felt like I was on a holiday vacation. The atmosphere is so peaceful and the staff is consistently accommodating.The gifts are awesome and the foods is brilliant and it is served to invite you for more.I would definetely want to come back to Thaba Ya Batswana.The services is of a highest standards.I would recommend this place to everyone that needs a break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roeweida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
What a brilliant review and we are very pleased that you are wowed by all that Thaba Eco Hotel has to offer. We are happy that our staff’s warm smiles and attentive nature has made your experience worthwhile and that the restaurant made you feel as though you wanted to eat more. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next break or business holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    57
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
89
7
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brakpan, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had our wedding at TYB on 26 October at the Lobola Kraal and they really made our day much more than what we could ever dreamt of. Our day was perfect in every single way possible. The venue speaks for itself, the food was amazing (compliments from all of our guests) the services was of the highest stardards. I could have my wedding day again again...but only if its at TYB!!! You made us part of your family & we love it!
We cannot thank you guys enough for everything you have done & meant to us on our wedding day!
You guys are a great team!!!

Highly recommended for all bridal couples! No stress, just fun and laughter all the way!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We always aim to achieve that our valued guests are always part of our Thaba family. We are really pleased that your wedding day was a dream and that your guests were amazed by the food and service. We look forward to having you back soon to celebrate your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The most beautiful place to have a retreat, or just spoil yourself. If you want to have a conference with your workers? This the place.the food is good and served to invite you for more.

This is also the right venue close to Johannesburg where you can have a wedding. The big marque tent venue on top of the hill is the best.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful and have a veranda where you can have a view over the nature reserve and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled that you have named Thaba Eco Hotel as a “beautiful place to have a retreat, or just spoil yourself”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed one night at the Thaba Ya Batswana in transit while in South Africa. I was booked there by my company and thought it was a standard style hotel. The hotel is a lodge style arrangement with individual hut-like buildings for the rooms. This could be fun but not what I was looking for in a business hotel. The hotel is in a isolated porting of Johannesburg. The Sunday night that I stayed there, I think I was one of two guest in the entire property. I only saw one other person at the restaurant. It was raining that night and I had to go to the hotel restaurant which was a 10 minute walk from the room. Normally, I could have taken the hotel cart, but the phones were not working that night so I had no way to contact the front desk for any assistance (a safety concern). I just was not comfortable and don't think I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
05 November 2013


Dear Kenneth Clarke

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing important areas for improvement to our attention. It is very important for us at Thaba Ya Batswana to be aware of such feedback and to ensure that our valued customers are always our first and foremost priority.

We would like to respond to your feedback as follows:

We are disappointed that you felt that our hotel is isolated and too far from the city. We think the rainy night added to your feeling of discomfort. In fact we are only 11km from the Johannesburg city centre! The evening you stayed over at the Thaba Ya Batswana was one of our rare quiet evenings and this could have affected your opinion of the hotel.

We apologize unreservedly for the in-room telephone that was not working. Unfortunately the rain caused our service to be interrupted.

The design of our hotel rooms was inspired by the historical and environmental elements of two groups of Tswana people who lived here 300 and 500 years ago. We have used stone work and domes throughout our venue to continue their style of building. Our website has more information on the unique aspects of Thaba Ya Batswana.

We believe in creating lifelong friendships and this is what we hope to establish with you, your friends and family over time. We trust that you will have time to enjoy the unsurpassed setting and service that Thaba Ya Batswana offers when you next visit South Africa, as our aim to offer our clients an unforgettable experience and look forward to having them back for all special occasions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.

Kind regards
STOEP CATERING CC

TARYN HEGGIE
RESERVATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebene, Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here while I delivered a training at the hotel and I was highly pleased with my stay - both my stay and as someone who used the conference facilities.

I stayed in what they call Bushveld suit - room was clean, spacious, and had lots of facilities. But more important that the room was the amazing service of the personal - almost all without exception were friendly and professional.

I do have some feedback for manager:

a) The information card in the room says restaurant opens at 6:30am for breakfast. That's not correct - the restaurant staff told me it's always been 7am. I was there 6:30am on my last day since I had an early flight and they were still setting up. The staff did try and accommodate me at that early hour. Thanks to Thobile (she does awesome omelettes) and when the cooker in the restaurant was slow to heat up, she went into the kitchen to make my omelette.

b) For the classrooms where training occurs, please do look at getting bold markers with THICKER heads - the ones supplies are tiny and inadequate for anything but a small meeting where everyone is around a table.

c) At least during conferences, do make sure Internet access is better. It was slow and often went out completely.

Room Tip: In the evening and morning, if you look hard in the grass you'd see some cute little rodent-like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
20th September 2013



Dear Sir

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing important areas for improvement to our attention. It is very important for us at Thaba Ya Batswana to be aware of such feedback and to ensure that our valued customers are always our first and foremost priority.

We would like to respond to your feedback as follows:

We apologize unreservedly that our in room card stated the incorrect breakfast time - this has now been corrected. We are also busy with new in room folders. We have passed your thanks on to Thobekile for her awesome omelets.

We have requested larger markers for bigger groups at our operations department.

Thanks to your feedback on the internet access, we are sourcing a new supplier for the internet. As our internet supply is affected by the weather this has also now been taken into account.

We believe in creating lifelong friendships and this is what we hope to establish with you, your friends and family over time. It is the first time that we have had this feedback and we trust that the measures that we have put in place will ensure that it will not happen again.

Our aim at Thaba Ya Batswana is to offer our clients an unforgettable experience and look forward to having them back for all special occasions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.

Kind regards
STOEP CATERING CC
TARYN HEGGIE
RESERVATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Recently we had the opportunity to bring together a large group of family and friends from South Africa, USA and UK to celebrate our wedding and a very special birthday. Thaba Ya Batswana turned out to be the perfect venue. The venue is close to Johannesburg and very convenient for air and road travellers. It was close enough for day guests, and onsite accommodation for those travelling further. Our aim was to have our guests interacting and mingling with each other. The restaurant provided a superb buffet within a country style setting. The added opportunity for our friends to spend time with the lion cubs and to enjoy the nature reserve and other facilities provided more opportunity to catch up with the latest family news and meet old friends. This exceptional weekend will not easily be forgotten.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leRouxCilliers C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are truly blessed with our beautiful landscape here at Thaba Eco hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your guests from far and wide enjoyed your wedding and a very special birthday. We are glad to hear that your exceptional weekend will not easily be forgotten and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location and great views, with a wild life feel, you woulldn't know you're in Johannesburg. It was a great place to freshen up after a hectic year. We had team building games, which were great, a wonderful lunch followed and a great evening with dinner with all kinds of meat and variety. It's very safe and one can relax and enjoy the peace.

Room Tip: Have a team building session if you're travelling with a group of friends of colleagues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback.
We are most impressed that you enjoyed your evening and dinner prepared by our renowned chefs.
We look forward to having you back at Thaba Eco Hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Thaba Eco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
9.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
10.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
8.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#22 of 68 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
11.4 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#14 of 68 in Johannesburg
317 reviews
11.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Property: Thaba Eco Hotel
Address: Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaba Eco Hotel is a rare and valuable jewel surrounded by the Southern Johannesburg metropolis. It is situated in the Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve just 10 km from the city centre and has an abundance of indigenous trees, plants, birds and wildlife. Thaba is passionate about professional, service-oriented hospitality. This, along with the beautiful world class facilities and breathtaking natural surroundings, makes it the venue of choice for weddings and all special occasions. Thaba offers an idyllic setting in contemporary African style that will make your special day unique and unforgettable. Our delightful on-site church is the perfect place for your sacred wedding vows to be concluded in a romantic atmosphere with panoramic views. Our team of professional wedding coordinators will take care of everything in the finest detail to ensure that you can fully enjoy every moment of your dream wedding. Relax in the luxury hotel rooms amidst the tranquil setting with breathtaking sunsets and unwind at the spa, refreshing pool and meditation trail. The Kraal Restaurant and Olive Tree Coffee Shop offer cuisine to satisfy the most discerning of palates with superb food and wine, delightful treats and rich aromatic coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing