We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing venue!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaba Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thaba Eco Hotel
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

i Had my wedding reception here and the venue is amazing!The staff very helpful! Overall a wonderful experience. I also stayed in the honeymoon suite, very nice big bathroom!Room was great! Would Definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaaista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback regarding the venue and the staff. We are glad that the honeymoon suite features met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    52
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
83
7
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here a while back and cannot praise it enough. Great rooms with fantastic views. Close to JHB but you feel like you are somewhere else. Friendly staff and the restaurant is amazing and such great variety. Also dont miss on the chance to go to the Lion cub sanctuary. If you are looking for a place for you wedding...dont look anywhere else!! Thaba Ya Batswaba has it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
WOW thank you EJ792013 for the amazing review. We are truly blessed to have the surroundings that we have at Thaba Eco Hotel and glad that you felt that you were somewhere else and not in Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I recently had the opportunity of staying at the resort overnight when we had a year end function at the hotel. The setting is great as it is basically in the city of Johannesburg but still feels like you are in the countryside. The rooms were well appointed although the walls were a little thin. The 'taxi' service from the rooms to the various functions was OK but they need to have more cabs available - we had to wait quite a while each time we wanted to use them. The rooms themselves were good and a nice feature was the complimentary bar - you could have anything in it but were charged for any replacements - so you didn't have to worry about being nailed with a huge bill afterwards. The problem was that ice was not readily avaible in the rooms. The food was excellent - although the plated dinner was probably just too much food. Despite this I managed to finish the meal - it was that good. The breakfast in the morning was a normal hotel style buffet breakfast but it was a good assortment. Really enjoyed that. The only irritating thing was that the hotel called me after I left to see whetehr I had removed a gown. It left a really bitter taste for me as it was almost an accusation of theft. I am not someone who steals cheap oversized hotel gowns. Admittedly after I explained that I had not taken it - either accidently or wilfully - I heard nothing more. I would definitley re-visit if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you Richard H for pointing out both our positives and our negatives. We are extremely pleased that the hotel rooms were “in themselves good and nice”. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the hotel gowns. We look forward to having you back when the opportunity arises again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montecatini
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice property, almost within a natural park.
The system was set to the residence-apartment model, with several blocks made of 4 (big) rooms located in rather large area surrounded by greenery.
The rooms were really big, well equipped and furnished. The huge bathroom. Very good indeed!
There was also a central unit where there was a restaurant (not bad breakfast).
I have not had the opportunity to try the SPA, while certainly represents a flaw the absence of a gym.
Reasonable price for a nice property for those looking for a quiet and relaxing staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We would like to thank you for appreciating the peaceful nature of Thaba Eco Hotel, and glad to see that all the standards that Thaba Eco Hotel set out to achieve have exceeded your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

It was the most exciting experience for the 3 days.The place is fantastic and the staff has so much care for their clients.It was a business trip, but I felt like I was on a holiday vacation. The atmosphere is so peaceful and the staff is consistently accommodating.The gifts are awesome and the foods is brilliant and it is served to invite you for more.I would definetely want to come back to Thaba Ya Batswana.The services is of a highest standards.I would recommend this place to everyone that needs a break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roeweida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
What a brilliant review and we are very pleased that you are wowed by all that Thaba Eco Hotel has to offer. We are happy that our staff’s warm smiles and attentive nature has made your experience worthwhile and that the restaurant made you feel as though you wanted to eat more. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next break or business holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brakpan, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had our wedding at TYB on 26 October at the Lobola Kraal and they really made our day much more than what we could ever dreamt of. Our day was perfect in every single way possible. The venue speaks for itself, the food was amazing (compliments from all of our guests) the services was of the highest stardards. I could have my wedding day again again...but only if its at TYB!!! You made us part of your family & we love it!
We cannot thank you guys enough for everything you have done & meant to us on our wedding day!
You guys are a great team!!!

Highly recommended for all bridal couples! No stress, just fun and laughter all the way!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We always aim to achieve that our valued guests are always part of our Thaba family. We are really pleased that your wedding day was a dream and that your guests were amazed by the food and service. We look forward to having you back soon to celebrate your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The most beautiful place to have a retreat, or just spoil yourself. If you want to have a conference with your workers? This the place.the food is good and served to invite you for more.

This is also the right venue close to Johannesburg where you can have a wedding. The big marque tent venue on top of the hill is the best.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful and have a veranda where you can have a view over the nature reserve and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn H, Reservations Manager at Thaba Eco Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled that you have named Thaba Eco Hotel as a “beautiful place to have a retreat, or just spoil yourself”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
9.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
11.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
10.6 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
10.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Eco Hotel

Property: Thaba Eco Hotel
Address: Impala Road | Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, Johannesburg 2091, South Africa (Formerly Thaba Ya Batswana)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thaba Eco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the tranquil and picturesque Klipriviersberg Nature Reserve, one finds a piece of Highveld Heaven in the form of the impressive Thaba Eco Hotel. A decade of passion has resulted in brand renowned for world class customer service. Thaba Eco Hotel has recently been voted as the BEST 4 Star hotel in Gauteng at the Lilizela Tourism Awards, and is now also a registered FAIR TRADE tourism certified business. The design of Thaba Eco hotel was inspired by the historical and environmental elements of the Tswana Mountains. With the luxury, executive and Bushveld suites, guests have a variety of room types to choose from. As part of their Green Policy, Thaba Eco Hotel has incorporated several creative and positive measures to contribute to the sustainability of both the area and the planet as a whole. All hotel rooms have been designed with the environment in mind. Colours of the exterior of the buildings represents the stone and tree bark to reduce visual impact, and only 50% of the Bushveld suites floor plan touches the ground to ensure the maximum protection of the fauna and flora. Thaba Eco Hotel also has a variety of stunning venues for weddings, conferences and other functions, such as the Marquee, Lobola and Tswana Banquet Halls. Leisure activities include the Sinzinani Day Spa, Meditation Trail, Guided Hiking Trails and the popular Thaba Lions Educational Centre. For the future generation our Eco Kids Club provides educational nature walks and various other leisure activities.We have also realised that hospitality and tantalising food goes hand in hand, and have therefore put together a team of world renowned chefs to attend to everybody's culinary requirements. At our Olive Tree Coffee Shop one can indulge in a slice of freshly baked bar-one chocolate cake next to a 500 year old Wild Olive Tree, while enjoying an aromatic coffee or sipping on one of our herbal teas.The impeccable facilities and breath taking natural surroundings ensure that Thaba Eco Hotel is the venue of choice for both the corporate and leisure markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thaba Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaba Ya Batswana Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing