We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION PERSONIFIED !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clico Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have had the great fortune to have stayed at Clico on many occasions during 2012 and 2013.

The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully furnished and equipped with all the amenities and finishes one would expect of a 5 star establishment.

The beds are super comfortable and, in the cold Highveld winters, the rooms are as warm as toast.

I have also enjoyed the use of the conference facilities. Again, impeccable furnishings and all the right equipment and set-up to make any conference or meeting work well.

The management and staff are friendly and attentive but unobtrusive. I always feel I have as much, or as little, privacy as I want.

Room Tip: I love the self-catering unit or the room above it, in the outside unit. Very quiet and private, plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear James,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review about our establishment. We are most delighted to know that you love staying here so much and particularly look forward to welcoming you back as often as possible!
Kindest regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

There is absolutely nothing negative to say about this property, the staff, facilities and catering is always superb. Quality dining matched with friendly and efficient staff - ensuring you feel completely taken care of throughout your stay. They recently hosted my client's group of winners that travelled from across Africa. This large high-tech electronics manufacturer and digital media enterprise will most certainly be using Clico again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Gabriella,
We are most pleased to hear that your client felt looked after at Clico - thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback about our establishment. We trust this will not be the last time we hosted you and look forward to having you and your client back again soon!
Warmest regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was my first time staying at this hotel, and certainly not the last. I enjoyed my stay. The food is great. The staff is very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Best location close to the mall and restaurants if you are tired of eating at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your kind review about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you are planning to stay with us again and that you have such nice things to say about our establishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Attentive, professional, fabulous food. Cannot find any fault with any aspect of my stay. The staff were all friendly and professional. Nice areas to relax in outside of your room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarefootP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review about our hotel.

We are delighted to read about your positive feedback! Upon sharing words such as yours with the team, there are always proud smiles all around - which is so motivating, thank you!

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Warm regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The hotel is a converted former home with a beautiful big garden and nice sized pool. It is located right in lively Rosebank business district with great galleries, shops and restaurants in walking distance. But if you have enough of buzzing environments, you can retreat into the hotel and garden and have a nice quiet and relaxing time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohoYaChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Excellent Valentines Day dinner at Clico's on 14 February 2013. As expected great attention to detail, brilliant ambience and quality of service from Sabine's staff exceptional as well as quality of food. Compliments to the Chef. We keep on coming back and will do so for many more events/ years as we know we will always get (more than) what we pay for. Well done to the whole team!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Willem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Have just had 3 days at the Clico and we were overwhelmed by how warm and generous the staff are - especially Puki, Trevor and Sabine - all fabulous at their jobs and working to support us in a professional, understated way. The food was divine and the atmosphere very peaceful and relaxing. I will definitely be back as soon as I can!! Thanks again - a real haven.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clico Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clico Boutique Hotel

Address: 27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £93 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clico Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clico Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing