We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clico Boutique Hotel - great food, accommodation and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clico Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed at Clico Boutique Hotel for a much-needed recharge and relax (I live nearby, but wanted a treat and some quiet time).
It's centrally located in the beautiful leafy suburb of Rosebank, and while it's quiet and tranquil, it's still very close to the shops and Gautrain station.
What I loved about my stay: Comfortable room with king-sized bed, satellite TV, magazines in the room, underfloor heating (I stayed on a chilly weekend), Charlotte Rhys toiletries, very friendly (but not overbearing) staff.
Another highlight was a divine breakfast, and the most amazing five-course dinner, paired with wine, served in my room (you can choose in-room dining, or dining room).

I left feeling so relaxed and renewed. I'd highly recommend it - whether it's for a stay, or a high tea, or a special dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear valued guest,

You have mentioned some stunning features about our hotel and thank you so much for noting them in your friendly review! I hope this was not the last time we may welcome you back to our hotel for some R&R time.

Warmest regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Clico and the personel are warm, friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and well equiped. My compliments to their inhouse chef! It is also within walking distance from the Gautrain station. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying at our establishment and trust we may welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I wanted to spoil my wife for our third anniversary, with an intimate stay over an as such, chose Clico. We had a very nice stay, but for the price & the five star rating, were exceptionally disappointed! The service from our waiter was very good, and again, for a five star rating, the rest was three star at best. The rooms were nice, but I expected more. Very average. The food was also nice, but the lack of selection and having soup served with a "skin" on it indicated that it was certainly not fresh and had been standing & my fillet also had to be returned as it was over cooked.
Breakfast was probably the biggest disappointment out of the lot. The offering left a lot to be desired. I know I seem to be carrying on about the rating and price, but that is what it is all about and because of it, you expect a certain level and I'm sorry to say that Clico, although nice falls very short. There are better priced establishments with a better offering than Clico if you are looking for a getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulMHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear valued guest,

We were very saddened to read about your feedback and that your stay with us was a disappointment. We have always tried our utmost to spoil our guests with our attentive service and delicious cuisine and apologise to you, that in this instance we seemed to have failed you. Your comments on our dinner as well as our breakfast have been taken very seriously and will be addressed accordingly.

Please feel free to contact me directly so that we can invite you back and make things up to you. We would love to redeem ourselves - you are absolutely correct in expecting a certain level when paying a 5 star price and we wish to offer this to you upon your return, befitting to our usual standards.

I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

From the friendly staff greeting you when booking in, to a beautiful room and well kept garden. This is the place to stay. Close to Rosebank mall and Gautrain station. They will serve you with a stunning breakfast in the morning. Lunch and dinner are also available. Thanks to Sabine and the staff for making my stay perfect and going the extra mile. Well done.

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully decorated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andries_steyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback on our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great stay, just too short. Booked easily with 1 day's notice, easy to find, well located, tranquil setting despite being just off Jan Smuts Ave. Room great. Breakfast excellent! Great service. Liked the complementary wine in the room despite the minibar, went great with the small lemon tart waiting on the beside table when I came in late.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CathyD680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind review! Although it was a short stay and we hope your next one with us will be a little longer, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the little Clico "touches".
Come back to visit us again soon!
Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Conveniently close to Rosebank and the Gautrain station, this boutique hotel will be the highlight of your business trip. Tastefully decorated rooms, and a well maintained garden makes it feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your positive words about our establishment. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

What could be better than a warm, sunny winter's day; a beautiful, tranquil garden setting and a delicious lunch served by friendly and attentive staff. That's exactly what we enjoyed at Clico Boutique Hotel. Just couldn't believe we were in the heart of Joburg. Thanks to everyone at Clico for a perfect day, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tersia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear valued Guest,
Clico is indeed a little oasis amidst a bustling Rosebank. We were so delighted to read that you enjoyed our outdoors spaces which is ideal for sunny days! I hope we may welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clico Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clico Boutique Hotel

Address: 27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £93 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clico Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clico Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing