We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clico Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If I am going to be working in the Rosebank area, I always try to stay at the Clico hotel. The service is fantastic and the rooms are great. The only downside is the food. Firstly the dinners are way over prices and a bit pretentious. when I last stayed there I had a chicken breast with polenta for dinner and it cost me R145.00. It was nothing special. There is nothing on the menu for a business person to have a simple meal. they have a set menu that costs R395.00. Continental breakfast in the monrining is awesome, but the person in the kitchen can fry eggs properly to order. saying this its still a great place to stay, I just go out to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear valued guest,

Your review and time taken to write it is greatly appreciated. We really pride ourselves in our cuisine and are very sorry to read that you felt our offering and pricing was disappointing the last time you stayed with us. We love to be flexible with the dishes we offer as not every business traveller is in the mood for fine dining every evening. The next time we welcome you, rest assured that we would love our chef to prepare you a dish that suits your budget and taste buds.

Warmest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed two nights at the Clico, in mid October. The hotel is nice, clean, located in a very nice and quiet, mostly residential, area of the city, within walking distance from the Rosebank Mall (in partial renovation at the time of our visit) and the very nice and fun area called “The Zone” – next to the mall.
We had room # 9, located upstairs in a building next to the main building and with a small balcony overlooking the yard and the pool. The room was clean and it had all the amenities expected. However:

The shower enclosure was much too tight for comfort: if you close the door and start the shower you’ll be under water that will be either too hot or too cold, until you fix the right temperature. If you do attempt to fix the temperature first and then close the door, water will spill in the rest of the bathroom.

After spending a full day in the heat of the city, a dip in the pool would have been very nice indeed. However, that was not possible that the pool surface was mostly covered by leaves, flowers and small debris fallen from the surrounding trees. What is the purpose of having a pool the guests cannot use ?!
At our second breakfast (on the day of our departure), we had to wait a full hour until someone took and served our order, although we were the only guests waiting. During that time, a local guest came was served and left while we were still waiting…. THAT was definitely not nice at all … A complaint to that effect to the front desk lady did not have much effect….

Room Tip: Room # 9 is nice and quiet, but the shower place is much too tight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldnomad_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear valued guests,

Thank you for writing a review about Clico and for so honestly sharing your different experiences whilst staying with us. When the next alterations or refurbishments are due we will most certainly consider improving the shower design in Room 9. We have taken your comments about the pool and the breakfast service very seriously and are currently investigating internally why this was not up to standard. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this. We do hope that upon your next visit we may welcome you back to Clico and that your stay will be seamless and trouble free.

Kindest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a wonderful little hotel. I just loved it.
This was the first time but I will definitely come back again.
The staff are so friendly and they are doing their outmost to help you. The breakfast is delicious and very relaxing.
The atmosphere is great and after a few days you feel so relaxed. Perfect.
Nice sitting by the pool, sipping a glass of champagne.
Saturday evening we booked in for the tasting menu. What an experience. I am very picky but honestly I loved everything.
I wish I had booked for some more days but I will definitely come back to this little place of heaven.
Birgit/Sweden

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Our team at Clico was very touched by your kind review. We take such pleasure in hearing from guests that see our little haven for what it is, appreciate the service our staff has to offer and last but not least, have a great appreciation for our cuisine. We are delighted that you had such a super stay and truly hope we may welcome you back again soon!

With warmest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A great choice for business travellers. Particularly loved the excellent food. Very friendly staff. Would recommend to all visitors in Rosebank area. Only area of improvement is a slight update on interior - a bit fraid

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank grule23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for speaking so highly of our little hotel. We would love to welcome you back and hope that a soft refurbishment is soon on the cards to fix the little snags that need to be looked at.

Kindest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went to Clico for my Birthday and had so much fun. It's a beautiful, quaint setting; the food is amazing and the staff attentive and friendly. Really a superb experience. Loved the butternut soup appetiser

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Reading that your Birthday was enhanced by a positive experience at Clico is a great delight. It was wonderful to have you dine with us and we hope that it was not the last time that we may spoil you with a nice setting and delicious culinary delights.

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

When we arrived at Clio, we realized that we had left one of our bags at the airport. The hotel helped us retrieve it and arranged a special dinner to accommodate our travel plans. Beautiful grounds in a lovely suburb and a great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wraopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review - we are glad your bag could be retrieved and that the rest of your stay in Johannesburg ended on a high and positive note! Please come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel in September for a night. It is arranged around a beautiful garden with swimming pool. The staff were really helpful in assisting us with arranging excursions at short notice, and breakfast was very good. They also allowed us to stay on for an extra half day, for a fee, so that we could shower and change before going to the airport to catch a long haul flight. The décor in the bedroom was not quite up to a 5 star hotel - that is our only negative impression.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine S S S, General Manager at Clico Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for pointing out your positive thoughts on our establishment and service. We would love to hear more about your suggestions and comments on our in room décor - would you mind sharing these with us a little more via email? This would give us a chance to work on some improvement where improvement might be due. We look forward to hearing from you!

Kindest regards,

Sabine Seeger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
793 reviews
1.9 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clico Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clico Boutique Hotel

Address: 27 Sturdee Avenue, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £102 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clico Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, Clico Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in the leafy and upmarket suburb of Rosebank in Johannesburg – South Africa. Centrally located to the “Joburg” city centre, high end business hubs such as Melrose and Sandton and metres away from the Rosebank Clinic, Clico’s location is convenience at your fingertips. Just 900 metres away from the Rosebank Gautrain station, the OR Tambo International airport is now only 20 “stress free” minutes away. Clico was established by Jeanette Schwegman, who wanted to cater for the travel-weary and discerning guest looking for that intimate experience by paying attention to all the important details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clico Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing