We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best steak in town.”

The Grillhouse Rosebank
Ranked #4 of 1,187 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Grillhouse, Johannesburg's most loved and well established premium steakhouse. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers the perfect quadfecta in dining - great food, a huge selection of fine wines and malts, stellar service and an upmarket yet warm and hospitable atmosphere. Please check our Facebook page for details of opening and closing times during the festive season and other holiday. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard!
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
343 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The best steak in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The service and the food is of the best in Joburg. Reasonably priced with a great atmosphere and you could always dance the night away next door at Katzy's. Just check the new dress code for Katzy's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    418
    102
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grillhouse Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Dinning here has a very upbeat, New York feel to it. The service is excellent and the food was top class. The Grillhouse seems like the place to be seen whether it's meeting friends or having a meal with family. The atmosphere caters for all occasions, and is rather festive and loud. We did feel like they were pushing to do a second seating with our table, but once we drew their attention to the fact that we felt a bit rushed the waiter slowed down the pace somewhat. Overall it was a lovely meal and we will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The food was fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had the Kingklip fish for dinner. Everything was good and the staff was great too. Business trip, we all enjoyed our dinner, wine, an appetizers. Excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie-Luvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great decor, professional friendly staff and tip top quality food. If only I could get a steak like this in England.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bastianbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All weather eatery! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I like the prescribed dress code for the place. It's got class and the food is super! At night, I mean late night, the place comes alive. It's a completely different ball game. My type. Real good music... and danceable. What else do you need? Location is great. Service was good while I was there, I don't know about you... Enjoy...

Helpful?
Thank Solomon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing