We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B's Don't Get Much Better!”
Review of Leighwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leighwood Lodge
Ranked #21 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Recently spent 15 days in southern Africa vacationing. We used Leighwood Lodge as our base camp and loved every aspect about it. Spent a total of 4 nights here between excursions to Victoria Falls, the Chobe River and a game reserve adjacent to Kruger Park. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and the breakfasts was top notch. The owner and his staff were the best. We have no problem recommending Leighwood Lodge to anyone. The place is Outstanding!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bosall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at roughly 10 guesthouses and BnBs on our trip to South Africa, some of which were just superb. We would not rate Leighwood Lodge highest among them, but we enjoyed our stay. There was nothing to complain. The bed was good, we had a fairly good sleep although the sound coming from the fridge was a bit annoying at night. The owner and his staff are very, very helpful and friendly. We appreciated their advice. Would definitely recommend this place for one or two nights but not necessarily for a whole week or more.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Incredibly comfortable and spacious rooms, delicious breakfast and wonderful hosts.
The staff are humorous and efficient whilst the location suits for both business and pleasure.
Looking forward to returning and a pleasure to recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Marcelo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Leighwood Lodge is wonderfully situated in Parktown North. It was easy to access from the airport and very easy to get around to my meetings. The staff were friendly, and the room was fantastic. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Perfect place to stay in Johannesburg, if you are looking for peace and quiet. The pool and inner courtyard are beautiful, and the rooms very spacious. Sam was a perfect host! Oh, and the breakfast was a perfect way to start each day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A family wedding brought us to Johannesburg and we were lucky enough to find Leigh and Sam at "The Lodge". 8 of us arrived and we were made to feel so welcome. We were family reunited from Australia and had a lot of catching up to do. Sam and Leigh bent over backwards to accommodate all our requests - dinners, work parties for the wedding, guests coming to visit, sandwich making for wedding showers, sandwich making for brides and the bridesmaids and all done with a smile. The breakfasts were excellent - you get what you ask for!! Coffee and tea on tap all day if requested. The gardens and pool are well kept and maintained but unfortunately we did not have time to spend relaxing about. Should you wish there were lounges and the atmosphere was chilled and happy. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfy. The bathrooms are big enough to do your morning exercises in!! All in all we had a wonderful stay made even better by having Leigh and Sam as our hosts. Thank you for going the extra mile. We returned for a few more days after visiting Umzolozolo game reserve and were given our original room. We were so happy. 5 Stars to your able and professional staff and the guards who made us feel safe and secure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caren_burnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My company rented out the entire property for those of us attending a conference at our world headquarters. Coming from NYC, I had no idea what to expect but I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Sam and Leigh were amazing hosts. The rooms are huge and very comfortable with large spa like bathrooms. The staff is very attentive and friendly and the made to order breakfasts were quite a treat. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
624 reviews
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighwood Lodge

Address: 41 2nd Avenue | Park Town North, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £75 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leighwood Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leighwood Lodge is a four-star boutique guest house in Parktown North, Johannesburg. The lodge is ideal for both up-market corporate giuests travelling to Johannesburg on business, and leisure travellers looking for central accommodation close to the city centre and the northern suburbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Leighwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing