We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible! Don't go there!!”

Rosebank Lodge and Backpacker
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosebank Lodge and Backpacker
Noordhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible! Don't go there!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were not clean, the sheets wasn't washed. We couldn't close the windows and there was no toilet paper or soap at the bathrooms. Everytime someone showered, there was a flood in the bathroom. the place was very dirty. they made up our beds the day We were leaving and they didn't clean the sheets. the service was bad and they had no control of anyting. the only thing We liked about the place was the location, But it was defidently not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tine Therese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    6
    9
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
4
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at Rosebank Backpacker because of the area they are in, even though I read some bad reviews , but I had a great time and never had a bad experience like some other guests , I never met the owner but the New Manager was very nice and helpful and organised some interesting trips for us. It is situated in a great area, which is close to all types of public transport. There was a great group of people staying at the same time as us and I never heard people complaining , so they must have improved the service .It is very close to a great Mall which is very convenient.

Room Tip: Book a private room with a bathroom en suite in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubijessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The only thing this place has going for it is it address otherwise it's horrible. The bed is crap the linen didn't seem clean the bathroom is so so. Quite possibly the worst place I've slept in. Rather make another plan.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MJD_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The only advantage of this place is that is nearby the Gautrain connection to the airport in a safe area with a fully equipped shopping mall.
I needed to leave 1 day earlier and it was not possible to get refunded for that night. This has been the first backpackers hostel that showed no service what so ever and cannot help you out.
- The staff tries its best, but knows actually very little about the area and where to eat etc
- Wifi is crap and very expansive to use (you are better off buying a data bundle)
- Kitchen is very bad equipped (expect nothing to help your cooking)
- Beds are very basic and cleaning is off beds and rooms is minimal

So if you have no other option, than you can try this one. Expect nothing so it will not disappoint you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veghel, Nederland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good:
- cheap accomodation
- communal area has as nice tv

Bad:
- we saw them make up the beds after a person left. Without washing any sheets they make the bed look like it is not used!!!
- kitchen is not good and the even use water in the dish soap so it is cheaper for them...
- information about Jo'burg is hard to get at the reception.
- the owner has no respect for his employees.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edministrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

As others have pointed out, cheap and well located in a safe area. Badly trained staff who are however, willing to try and help, they just don't know how.

Owner/manager? screaming at garden boy over a minor issue. If he had spoken to me like that, he would have been carrying his teeth in his hand. Totally unprofessional.

Overall, just adequate, reasonably clean but very small rooms, packed with bed. OK for a first or last night in Joburg as it is close to a large mall and the Gautrain to the Airport/Park Station

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_metaxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The price is reasonable and the kitchen/living room is decent, and it is located in a safe area. Our problem was that the staff was useless in providing tourism information about Joberg. They could not provide information on how to use public transport (just kept insisting we take cabs) and even gave us misinformation about museums (telling us the Apartheid Museum was closed when it's open 7/week). Also, every time someone buzzes the front gate, you hear a ringing in the room (even early in the morning/late at night). If you know the area and just want a cheap place to sleep the lodge is fine, but it is not good for tourists.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneybennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#28 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.8 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#10 of 98 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
Rosebank Lodge Guest House
#35 of 289 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
4.6 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#2 of 98 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebank Lodge and Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebank Lodge and Backpacker

Property: Rosebank Lodge and Backpacker
Address: 219 Jan Smuts Avenue | Parktown North, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have had the pleasure of servicing our travellers for more than 11 yrs. Our super friendly staff will support you and make sure you are secure and safe 24 hours a day. The ancient local flora makes you feel welcome and chilled. Spend time on our Patio overlooking our garden with its 100 + year old trees, enjoying laid-back late afternoons where you can join other travellers for a drink, a meal or a braai (BBQ) You will find just about everything you need, from a Tour and Travel desk to an Outdoor Terrace to soak up the rays. Novels can be exchanged, a communal kitchen is open to all, Telephone, fax, WIFI and internet access will allow guests to hook up on line. Our laundry facilities are on hand - for all those who have just come from safari. Rooms/dorms are clean, fresh linen is provided on arrival, all beds have plush duvets for added warmth. The adjacent Boarding house specializes in Short / Long Term Accommodation We offer the Cheapest Group Accommodation in Johannesburg - If you find cheaper rates in the Rosebank area we will beat it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Rosebank Lodge and Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing