We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful guest house, with lovely and helpful hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arum Place Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arum Place Guest House
Ranked #2 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful guest house, with lovely and helpful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We only stayed one night but Gladys and her husband did everything to welcome us in the most hospitable way! We had a wonderful room, with lots of confort and wonderful little details that make a difference! Truus and Joel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truus Huisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
88
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Good location for us, near to family and Melville (restaurants and culture). Room well appointed with a very comfortable king-size bed. Separate shower, bath and loo much appreciated. Excellent breakfast included in the rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sumpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at Arum Place guest house for 1 week.I liked everything about the place.My room was cleaned every day and it was spacious and cozy.The service from the staff and owners was excellent.Its location is perfect its in a quiet are and near restaurants on &7th street ,shops ,and the University of Johannesburg were l was attending a Seminar and the owners drove me to and from university for free.I would recommend this place for anyone who wants to stay in Johannesburg for business or holiday.Am definitely going to stay there again in July

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yeukai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay with David and Gladys. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfasts were very good. My room had a nice balcony with views of the hills and lush green trees. David was very willing to drive me to Soweto one day and the Apartheid Museum the next for a very small charge. I also arranged with them to provide me with transportation to and from the airport. Their guest house is in an upscale area with nice restaurants and shops nearby. I walked to the restaurants and then phoned and David came and got me. I will certainly book here again when I return to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

charming big clean rooms with bath.
good breakfast.
very helpful. We got a drive to the musuem as service!
They care about their guests. (They phoned us, as we came back late!)
Location: a bit outside, but quiet and safe

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nice room, and friendly owners/staff. The place is the owners' home, so it can feel a bot more personal than other guest houses. We parked next to their car in the garage, and the room opened on to the living room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mwagito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, they did all our laundry and weren't even charged for it (off course we left a good tip for the staff). Good location very close to Melville 7th street but nice and quite. Great room with nice corner bath and separate shower and toilet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PellevanHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
3.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.8 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#7 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 293 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arum Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arum Place Guest House

Property: Arum Place Guest House
Address: nr 15 1st Street | Melville, Johannesburg 2109, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arum Place Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a guest house in trendy Melville, in Johannesburg South Africa with all the style, luxury and space that you expect from a four star establishment with the warmth and homeliness that you will only find at your own home. Overlooking the Melville Koppies, Arum Place Guest House is a small private retreat, although only a minute’s drive away from the Melville buzz. The spacious rooms with wooden floors and steel pressed ceilings are beautifully restored and individually decorated. Four luxurious rooms with full en-suite bathrooms are situated inside the main house and three self catering units are available for longer stays. Three of the rooms have king-size beds which can be converted into twin beds on request. Each room has been decorated, furnished and equipped according to the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa’s (TGCSA) criteria for four star grading.24 Hour sincere and friendly hospitality by live-in owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arum Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing