We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, gorgious breakfast, helpful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arum Place Guest House
Ranked #2 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We felt comfortable and safe. Great breakfast. Special service by the hosts: they offer a shuttle to the restaurants in the neighbourhood free of charge.If you want to be carried to the city, you pay 100 Rand. Good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reinhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Arum Place Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

An excellent place to stay. Wonderful location, close to shops and restaurants in Melville. The service is impeccable, as are the breakfasts! I highly recommend Arum Place to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We really enjoyed the all of facilities were excellent. We dont have words to describe what we have seen, fantastic place, the manages are very professional.
We hope to back one day even to recommend others.
Thank you very much for all you provide for us

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Antonieta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

it was a very pleasant stay, leaving me with nothing to recommend. The breakfasts were delicious and nutritious including fresh fruit salad and freshly baked goods. The service was excellent with attention to every detail. The fridge was restocked daily with bottled water, juice and carbonated cold drinks. Good quality soap, washes, shampoo and lotions in the bathroom refreshed daily. Delicious bedside chocs!


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Franschhoekphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This guesthouse is perfect, the owner David and his wife live here,very discreet, and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The pictures while booking dont make justice to the room which is far nicer than what we expected. the ''shades of blue'' room is spacious and they have the most comfortable bed i have slept in in a long time. Everyday your room get cleaned and your stuff organised to perfection. Good breakfast with everything you would want for a good start of a day (hot drink, eggs,fruits, cereals, yoghurt,fresh juices,sausages ,bacon and vegetables). Melville 7th street is at walking distance, but because it is not recommanded to walk at night David drops us off couple of time and show us around.And all this for an unbeatable value. I give a 10/10 to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maeva101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I want to qualify that I didn't warm up to the design and finishings, but good old school furniture, and it really it's a style issue, so I could be unfair to the hosts who were good. The breakfast was very very good, and I had chocolates, drinks and biscuits in the room and you get a full DSTV channel service, which is rare in most hotels. So, it's really one of those places either you like or dislike depending on the design and finishings. I think the place is due for an upgrade, even the appliances need attention, but overall the location is great,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very friendly and helpful hosts. The room was spacious and clean; the bed comfortable. Breakfast quality and variety were very good as well.
Located in Melville with good restaurants nearby. We enjoed staying at Arum Place and would always come again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex989899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#28 of 66 in Johannesburg
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 299 in Johannesburg
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#12 of 299 in Johannesburg
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#4 of 299 in Johannesburg
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arum Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arum Place Guest House

Address: nr 15 1st Street | Melville, Johannesburg 2109, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arum Place Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a guest house in trendy Melville, in Johannesburg South Africa with all the style, luxury and space that you expect from a four star establishment with the warmth and homeliness that you will only find at your own home. Overlooking the Melville Koppies, Arum Place Guest House is a small private retreat, although only a minute’s drive away from the Melville buzz. The spacious rooms with wooden floors and steel pressed ceilings are beautifully restored and individually decorated. Four luxurious rooms with full en-suite bathrooms are situated inside the main house and three self catering units are available for longer stays. Three of the rooms have king-size beds which can be converted into twin beds on request. Each room has been decorated, furnished and equipped according to the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa’s (TGCSA) criteria for four star grading.24 Hour sincere and friendly hospitality by live-in owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Arum Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing