We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arum Place Guest House
Ranked #2 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My friends and I really enjoy our stay at Arum. Wonderful couple, great breakfast and the accommodation wow, the best I have ever stayed in.
Close to places of interest such Soweto and so on......

Thanks a lot and I will return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
88
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We could not been more satisfied. The owner went out of his way to be helpful, even driving us to a local restaurant, a neighborhood street fair, and the Soweto museum
The breakfasts were tasty and the rooms attractively decorated
We felt very comfortable there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Wa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hosts were most gracious and exceedingly helpful. Located in Melville, a quiet suburb of Joberg. Host picked us up at airport. Got excellent feel for Joberg as a city and a society. It was a stop off place for trip to Botswana

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nice breakfast. Decent bed. Good location for business appointments. Wifi was reliable and a decent (for SA) speed. Would stay over for business again while in Johannesburg. Flat screen TV would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay, the room was very clean and cozy. Very good sized room and bathroom. Great breakfast, the owners are friendly and did everything to make our stay comfortable. The free beverages in our room and the lift to a restaurant was part of the great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GabTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Would recommend to anyone. Fantastic hospitality, great rooms and good location. Will go again for business and pleasure. Service was top notch and the included breakfast lacks absolutely nothing. If you want to stay in the area, this is the place to be. For family, the proximity to Gold Reef City is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marthin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights (18th to 21st March) at Arum Place Guest House in Melville Joburg on our way to Mauritius, our native island. David and Gladys are excellent hosts, very friendly and caring. Thank you Gladys for all your help to my wife Marie Josee regarding her medication. We were treated like good friends and appreciate that very much.

Breakfast was always excellent and fresh. Accommodation very clean and comfortable. Free trips to restaurants and back much appreciated. We did the Rhino & Lion Nature Reserve with David who was an excellent guide.

All in all it was a very good deal . Short but sweet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clement477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.8 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#4 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 291 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arum Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arum Place Guest House

Property: Arum Place Guest House
Address: nr 15 1st Street | Melville, Johannesburg 2109, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arum Place Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a guest house in trendy Melville, in Johannesburg South Africa with all the style, luxury and space that you expect from a four star establishment with the warmth and homeliness that you will only find at your own home. Overlooking the Melville Koppies, Arum Place Guest House is a small private retreat, although only a minute’s drive away from the Melville buzz. The spacious rooms with wooden floors and steel pressed ceilings are beautifully restored and individually decorated. Four luxurious rooms with full en-suite bathrooms are situated inside the main house and three self catering units are available for longer stays. Three of the rooms have king-size beds which can be converted into twin beds on request. Each room has been decorated, furnished and equipped according to the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa’s (TGCSA) criteria for four star grading.24 Hour sincere and friendly hospitality by live-in owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arum Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing