We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Kai Thai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kai Thai- Sunninghill - CLOSED

Kai Thai- Sunninghill
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great Kai Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I enjoy this Kai Thai branch and the food is authentic and very tasty. The angry duck must be my favourite and the duck is tender, full of flavour and spice. The stir fried noodle dishes are also well worth trying. Some places make soggy noodles but theirs is always cooked perfectly. The staff are friendly and I have always enjoyed good service - apart from the odd communication issue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistent and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Recently visited this branch again. I would like to say that it is still the same quality. Please be aware that if you are vegetarian the manager will tell you that their curries are all vegetarian which is not true as the curry paste they use contains fish other than the yellow curry paste.

This is still one of the best Thai restaurant in the country.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a very nice chain with some great offerings. The service was good and it is a nice atmosphere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some Great Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

There's a reason Kai Thai has been voted the best Thai food in Jozi for like the last, like 10+ years (I think). I don't quite remember how many times I've been to Kai Thai, but I've sampled quite a bit from their menu. There are a number of Kai Thai locations around so stop in and try it out. If you like great Thai food you will love it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bufalo_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good quality Thai for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having recently returned from a long trip in Thailand we find that Kai Thai is able to provide very close to the perfect Thai meal. We have dined here and it has become our favorite take away. They do not deliver as they believe delivery services can get orders wrong. I agree. Dine in or collect this is a great Thai restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank THW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kai Thai- Sunninghill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing