We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN OASIS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House on York
Ranked #43 of 290 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AN OASIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived early evening and it was dark. Initially we found it hard to find but that was because the satnav was poor. Once there we were overjoyed by the room and the owners help. He was a wealth of information and stories. Everything kids could ever want and nothing was a problem. This was a 1 night stay and we were given full run of the property and even offered use of shower facilities and a late departure. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property. Only advice for Johannesburg is....hire a car, even for one day this is the cheapest and best way to get around and be independent. Some suburbs leave you as a prisoner. Day time was safe at York but wouldn't like to venture out at night. Couldn't fault the property though or the ownership. Marvellous.

Room Tip: The units vary and are limted on numbers but all are excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANTHONY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
14
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jena
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Its in a quiet neighborhood and safe locality. From outside it doesnt look much but its real comfortable inside. They had real good beds with complimentary wine. We left early so could not enjoy the breakfast. Each room is decorated tastefully

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KichuJena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

From the outside it doesn't look like much but inside it feels like you're at home.
We were in 3 different rooms in our group, all of which had their unique feeling. Very homely and plenty of space. The place has all the facilities you need and a large communal area with a heap of games including pool and foosball. Plus a sauna and pool for the summer season.
Gavin and the staff here were great. Very helpful.
I had to stay an extra night at the last minute and even though they were booked out he worked it out without a problem.
The surrounding neighbourhood itself was very safe during the day and at night we went out to eat at one of many nearby restaurants .
HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: Wooden cabin at the rear of the premises has an almost bungalow appearance, a jungle cabin in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewThomasW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at House on York for one night with a family of five. The family unit in the garden was excellent with lots of space and a real homey atmosphere. Kids could play crocket in the garden. Service was very friendly and helpful and the location is very convenient in a safe area, near Eastgate mall and the airport. A great alternative to a hotel in terms of personal attention, family accommodation, and most certainly value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdv999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This couldn't have been more perfect. Gavin was amazingly helpful, both over email prior to the booking, during the process and whilst we were staying. The taxi driver met us off the place as promised and we were welcomed by the night manager with a big smile!

Our room was great, super comfy bed, loads of space and a powerful shower. We heard no noise, had a good internet connection and felt completely safe.
Breakfast was delicious, with a huge selection to choose from, it was a shame we slept late & had to rush back to the airport as we could have stayed at breakfast for hours!

Room Tip: We were outside of the main building, about 10m from the main building, very private and secure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
5.9 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Purple View B&B
The Purple View B&B
#61 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 290 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Margaret's Place
Margaret's Place
#4 of 96 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
5.1 mi away
Village Green Guest House
Village Green Guest House
#9 of 290 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on York

Property: House on York
Address: 7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — House on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your House on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing