We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House on York
Ranked #42 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I use the House on York for business stayovers in Johannesburg. What a magnificent place to stay. Gavin and his team ensure that you are cared for as though you are part of the family.

The recreational facilites and small little surprises abound throughout the property. a beautiful tranquil setting for business meetings.

Well done Gavin and the team, we will be back!!!

Tania Herwill

Room Tip: Beautiful luxury cabin in the garden. Great for business meetings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaniaHerwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
14
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This beautiful home has to be one of my favourite stays in South Africa! Gavin went out of his way explaining everything to us, local restaurants, shopping etc and organised a late checkout and stored our bags while my noisy teenagers enjoyed all the facilities. The garden and pool area is gorgeous with our three bedroom cottage nestled amongst the tropical garden. There is a spa, gym, children's play area and even a sauna that we enjoyed. Not far away are some fabulous restaurants and shops. We had a very relaxing stay after a busy week on safari and we all wished we had more time to stay longer. Thank you Gavin and all his team.

Room Tip: I think all the accommodation was fabulous but we had the pleasure of staying in the three bedroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hospitality at its best. Made to feel very welcome at a "home away from home" that has a lot to offer. The kids loved it, from the pool table to the basket ball hoop and much more. Room was very stylish. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

House on York provides a range of fun facilities, ranging from a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and even a pool table. It is a safe place and its family friendly. Definitely the place to be. Friendly staff and amazing management also make this place stand out. It is clean , the rooms are lovely and there is a lot to choose from so you can get one that suits you best. World class standards at The House on York

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innocentmusara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I just wanted to pass on our thanks for our wonderful stay at your guest house, and in particular thank the manager for his brilliant looking after of us. He was helpful, friendly and made us feel relaxed. The facilities were wonderful, there was so much to do, we enjoyed playing pool, and spending time between the jacuzzi, sauna and swimming pool. The room was also very private and quiet. We walked to great restaurants that were viby and had brilliant food.

Room Tip: Fynbos Room was stunning with a private lounge and courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Nice place to stay, if you are travelling with a car. The room we had, was very beautiful. There was a sitting area next to the bedroom. We also had a small patio for ourselves. The bathroom was also very big.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midrangetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our room was extremely comfortable with a large sitting area, a comfortable bed and an excellent shower. The guesthouse itself has so much going for it: lovely swimming pool (though it was too cold to use when we were there), pool table, excellent kitchen facilities, wifi, secure parking, friendly staff. Gavin, the owner, was very helpful and chatty. We wished we had been able to stay longer... There is an excellent and very reasonably priced restaurant around the corner on Queen Street called the Rusty Lady.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
5.9 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#7 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Purple View B&B
The Purple View B&B
#61 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Simonne
Villa Simonne
#18 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
12.5 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#40 of 293 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on York

Property: House on York
Address: 7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — House on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your House on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing