We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star accommodation”
Review of House on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House on York
Ranked #48 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The place was not what we perceived it to be and we were very disappointed as we were misinformed by the owner. Restaurants are not within walking distance and the level of cleanliness is not up to standard. I personally would not recommend this place to anyone, we did not remain the full 5 nights but rather went to stay at another guesthouse in Four ways. The owner refused to refund all our monies even though he misinformed us. One person who really stole my heart was his manager Khaya he is a real sterling employee and i would employee him any day as he did his utmost to try and accommodate us but he is only the manager and did not have much say.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annoited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S, Owner at House on York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review. For clarity each confirmation booking is sent with directions and a map to our location. When a guest accidentally books in the wrong area, as this guest did, needing to be in Fourways, we are unable to refund on the day of arrival. A portion was paid back to the guest to try assist them with their error. For further clarity, more than 10 restaurants are 300m away and and entire shopping centre less than a kilometre away – this is very close.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The best place to be in , in Johannesburg.The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Close to shopping centres and restaurants.The place lovely and homely .The breakafast is great ,what a special and lovely place to be in

Room Tip: The wendy house in the garden under the trees quite and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khayeni873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Customer-focused service approach to ensure that individual needs are met. Gavin goes beyond the norms to ensure great customer satisfaction. Lovely premises, furnishings and attention to detail. Relaxed and welcoming environment with great facilities and rooms look absolutely fab! I look forward to my next visit. I especially like the lounge and the garden areas. A good place to relax in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am a conferences coordinator and now constantly use The House on York, Kensington, Johannesburg to accommodate my delegates and guests. I found it compelling to also add my feed back on this platform as The House on York deserves a public commendation.

Their service, from booking my guests in, welcoming them, accommodating and seeing them off when they leave is superb. Most of my guests when they return to South Africa want to stay at The House on York. Thank you so much Mr Gavin Smith and your staff for such professionalism and please keep it up.

Archie

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Archibald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We travelled to jhb without a destination and googled House on york guest house. We were welcomed with open arms and our feeling was 'special' every day we stayed there. The management and staff were all unusual in their approach, as there lurked as sense of humor no matter what hour. No matter what, if they did not have it...they got it for you. They were caring about our comfort, and yet not invasive. The rooms were clean clean and linen were white white and the fragrance from bathroom to bedroom made one feel as if one were the first to be there...ever! Instead of spending two nights, we stayed four nights and cant wait to be back there again! Thank you to all at House on York!

Room Tip: Corner suites are great, but so are the ones north facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I repeatedly book this guest house for business. The facilities are immaculate, the staff are efficient and welcoming. All round great value for money.
The breakfast selection great.
The guest house is conveniently located near the highway as well as a number of malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful finishings, comfortable rooms and excellent position, make this the perfect place for business trips to Johannesburg. Gavin is attentive and accommodating.Thumbs up to you Mr. Smith for a well managed guest house.

I will be back....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank 448marcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
4.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
21.4 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on York

Address: 7 York Street | Kensington South, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £38 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — House on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your House on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing