We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“International Standard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gautrain

Gautrain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.97*
and up
Johannesburg Combo: City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off and Soweto Tours
Ranked #2 of 170 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gautrain is Africa’s first world-class, modern rapid rail and bus service for Gauteng, a province regarded as the economic heartland of South Africa.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“International Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've been traveling on the Gautrain since it opened and I must say that it does Jhb proud. Haven't had any misfortunes of delays due to tech difficulties which I've heard about but never once have I been let down.

Always a pleasure and the process seems smooth and quick.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Q b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,619
    1,285
    250
    61
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Taking a cab from OR Tambo to Sandton would have cost me at least R450. Thank goodness for the Gautrain because for just R125 i reached Sandton in less than 20min and enjoyed a safe and clean ride. Really impressed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank YenaLuthuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Business good, FAMILY trips NOT so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

For business trips to and from OR TAMBO I do not have a problem but it is getting too expensive to take kids on the GAUTRAIN.

For example: going from Sandton to Centurion and back for a family of 4 will cost me more than if I had taken my car!!

Cost of Parking + Trainfare for 4 is much more than driving my DOUBLE CAB to Centurion + E-toll and parking

To make it work you need to get kids under 16 to travel free.

Helpful?
Thank BiggyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient, safe, and fast transportation to where visitors want to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Gautrain will get you between Pretoria, the northern suburbs, and Joburg central. Basically, anywhere a tourist might want to go (except for Soweto and outside the city. Also goes to the airport, though it'll cost you R150 to make the connection. If you're cheap, I bet you can get of at Rhodesfield and maybe find a way to walk across the street to OR Tambo, the stations can't be more than 500m apart. It'll save you R100- the extra cost of the airport link.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dha10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“See Gauteng”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very nice experience for the first time, after that it's still nice yet you've seen it all. The landscapes you see is awesome. It's very easy to use and safe. Very clean and the staff are always willing to assist. The bus service is also very nice. I love it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gautrain also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Gautrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing