We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible awful disgusting experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Gate Guest House
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Rude receptionist and TV blaring away full blast at reception ALL THE TIME. When one walks into the establishment it smells like a Chinese restaurant kitchen. This smell carries you all the way through to your room. In the room, carpets and chairs are grimy. Check both pillows and find several long black hairs - as if someone already lives in your room. Pull back the bedding and see stains and dirt. Receptionist rude and incompetent. I left after 20 minutes of arrival even although I had paid for two nights in advance. It was just unbearable. When I left, receptionist did not even stop talking on the phone. She just watched me walk past her desk with my luggage. Then she leaves me stuck in front of gate. So I go back inside and ask to open the gate which she does while I am standing there. Then I get to my car and the gate is closing again. So I go back inside at which point she starts shouting at me.

Room Tip: Awful disgusting dirty place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

I don't know in good conscience you can advertise this place. It was disgusting. Late check in, stuck outside the gate, and worse of all was the noise made by the manager herself and the rest of the staff right outside the room. I didn't even stay the second night as the accommodation not that they even noticed or called to see why I didn't come back. I will tell everyone I know NEVER to stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Thank you - I enjoyed my stay. I had more than enough space to work and could complete the work I set out to do without being bogged down with to little working space. Parking was easy to use and breakfast was excellent. All in all good value for money! Will be visiting again one of these days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The service was wow and what I liked the most about the place is the fact that there is privacy. And waking up having someone to offer you with breakfast was a bonus on its own. Really wished I'd stayed a liitle longer but there's always a next time after all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sinovuyo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
15.3 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 305 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
8.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
7.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#10 of 67 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
810 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westpoint Executive Suites
Westpoint Executive Suites
#19 of 67 in Johannesburg
209 reviews
4.8 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 67 in Johannesburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Guest House

Address: 291 Bryanston Drive | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: £25 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upmarket suburb of Bryanston, Golden Gate Guest House is a lovely 3 star establishment offering guests the best of a pleasant stay. Close to the Highways,Malls e.g hubbub of Sandton city,Casinos Business Centers this guest house is the perfect place for business or leisure travelers seeking a spot of rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing