We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value with a Personal Touch”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meridian Hospitality
Ranked #134 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value with a Personal Touch”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Excellent value accommodation. Rooms are exceptional for their category and accommodation is comparable to a high-end boutique hotel. Well stocked mini bar and very good breakfast.

Good service, staff is willing to arrange dinner if informed in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek_grgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Meridian for just 1 night recently and have to say it was really comfortable and great value. The room was well laid out and clean and the staff friendly and very amenable.
If I had to criticize 1 thing it's that noise travels very easily through the building but this wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Schay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Meridian Hospitality has the worst reception I have ever come across. I tried to make a booking for a friend for one night accommodation but the reception I received was very rude and I would never recommend this place to anyone. My friend wanted to stay there as it was close to a golf course. All I did was to ask the manager to make a booking for golf, as indicated on their website, and she rudely replied to me that I cannot call so late (which by the way was during working hours) and expect her to make a booking for golf. I reminded her that on their website, they indicated that they could arrange both a round of golf and transportation. The manager was absolutely rude. This is shocking and not expected from a manager. Surely, one would expect a manager to be better trained to deal with such a simple request. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oumi_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Although this is not the best part of town this is a beautiful place. Room is spacious and has everything you may need including a mini bar and a lovely patio area leading off the room. Thumbs up to the gate security who is always there to open the gate or to serve as a go-between to someone that should be at reception.
Entrance to reception - beware of the cobble stones. It is a bit loose and uneven and I nearly took a tumble over the cobble on more than one occassion.
Reception - I saw someone sitting behind the desk but I could not tell if the person works there or was just waiting there for a lift to arrive. No greeting, nod of the head, nothing. Not even a glance to say 'good morning dog'.
Breakfast is well laid out with the kitchen staff taking your hot breakfast orders.

Room Tip: Ground rooms have a lovely patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This establishment and its "on-hands" customer services and support saff should be awarded a 5 star isntead of the 4 star rating. My extensive stay was classy, safe, comfortable, warm and private with a great breakfast and enough beverages through out the day. Just get the consistency of internet connection sorted out and it can be world class. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: Just ask as the variety suites every traveller, couple's needs. South is colder thna north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The location of the Meridian wouldn't necessarily suit the leisure traveler, but Its location is suited to the business traveler. Its new - its modern (TUSCAN STYLE) located in the older part of Edenvale amongst residential houses. The Hotel itself is 1st class the rooms are large, well equipped and very comfortable with all the amenities and comfort one needs to make it a pleasant stay -The beds are comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities, There is a fully equipped bar fridge, the staff are polite and efficient and there is breakfast served . There is ample secure off street parking. The drawback for me is that there is no gym or swimming pool . But overall it is a good clean place to stay and all the amenities are of a high standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELAYEDBAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
6.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#24 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold Reef Place
Gold Reef Place
#195 of 291 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Lugano Guesthouse
Villa Lugano Guesthouse
#25 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Hospitality

Property: Meridian Hospitality
Address: 27 6th Avenue | Edenvale, Johannesburg 1609, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Hotel Class:4 star — Meridian Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Meridian Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing