We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Social”
Review of Cube Tasting Kitchen - MOVED

Cube Tasting Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Midrand, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Work Social”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

An exploratory eating experience! Lots of small dishes with phenomenal tastes that are really hard to explain!

The nitrogen-based dessert was awesome!

At the time, they didn't have a liquor license, so we took our own wine, but still an awesome evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avikaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    98
    29
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different. ”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

As ever a brilliant meal from Dario and the team. Interesting tastes, flawless presentation all in the most relaxed atmosphere you can imagine. Add to this a personal touch that keeps us coming back for more.

By far the best restaurant in Johannesburg.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Standout Brilliant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place was awesome from start to finish. It is a 14 (ish) course set menu which changes regularly. It starts at a set time and really runs like clockwork. We were landing on a flight the same day with tight timing and so they helped us adjust the menu so we could fit everything in. Each course is explained to you by one of the chefs and the food was both delicious and interesting, as well challenging to the taste buds. The atmosphere is intimate - its a small venue and although the eating experience is very high end, you can see the kitchen, the dining area is very low key and casual and you are as at home in posh dress and heels as in jeans. This was our last night in South Africa and we couldn't have chosen a better place for it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_is_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Intimate and delicious”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The set menu takes away the admin related to choosing a meal. You can bring your own wine; ) it's an intimate relaxed setting. Food sounds like a little but as the courses accumulate you get more full. We had to reduce the number of courses from the maximum amount to the minimum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunnyWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely date night”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was pregnant at the time of our booking, and was accommodated down to the 'T'...it was a night I wont forget. My husband and I loved the food, and the whole experience was just lovely. Nice to go try new things. Makes for a great date night! or even a good spot to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cube Tasting Kitchen also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing