We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best surprise of the trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Wow! This hotel exceeded my expectations on every level. The rooms are more than great, fantastic staff, wonderful food and even better location. It is hard to describe the experience in this hotel, but it was the best surprise of the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romyrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

As our first hotel, in a three week tour, The Residence certainly set a high standard for the rest of our stay in South Africa.

Although we arrived later than expected, due to problems with our pre-booked taxi (we so wish we had arranged a pick up through the hotel as it would have cost the same and no doubt have been more efficient and would have been a real treat) we turned up early on a Sunday morning and were welcomed with a refreshing iced tea and - as our room wasn't yet ready - an offer of breakfast. This high level of service was continued throughout our stay.
Our bags were stored while we were settled next to the pool (the leisure pool, which was heated, as opposed to the swimming pool - which was an excellent size, but leafy and perishing cold).

We were subsequently upgraded to the Penthouse and, after our bags were carried up the very narrow stairs to our room, we were presented with our own key to the terrace (and I suspect if we had asked, an umbrella would also have been available so that we could get into the hotel without getting soaked). The suite terrace - which was above the level of surrounding roofs - featured a double day bed; wicker hanging chair; hot tub; sofa, chairs and coffee table; as well as a dining table and chairs. The room itself had a sky light, surround-sound Ipod dock; sitting area with fresh fruit and sherry, real fire and TV - and there was also an outdoor shower and jacuzzi bath, in addition to the bathroom. (The bathroom products were also good quality.) The turn down service in the evening was exceptional (we were introduced to Amarula with a shot glass and miniature bottle presented with lovely chocolates on a silver stand).

Breakfast may have been self service continental - but you self-served from a table-side tray, which included a lovely home made granola and freshly squeezed juice that was so thick with fruit pulp it was difficult to pour from the decanter. This was followed by a nice selection of cooked options.
Unfortunately on the evening we ate there, the hotel dining room was neither busy - so it lacked atmosphere - nor was the food of a standard equivalent to either the breakfast or the accommodation. However, given the option of being driven to a superior restaurant in the hotel Rolls, it was OK for the one night - and the staff were so friendly, it made up for the average food.

The hotel is a little way out of central Johannesburg, but the staff were always very willing to arrange taxis, and it felt very safe. There was a number of lounges, and it felt very homely and comfortable. (The only real disappointment was the non-appearance in our room of the pre- arranged champagne for my husband's 50th birthday). I would have no problem in recommending a stay here.

Room Tip: I find it difficult to imagine any of the rooms are unsatisfactory - but the Penthouse is well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veggiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it along with your feedback. Our sincere apologies regarding the champagne not being place in the room in time. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip around South Africa. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you both all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Wow! So many hotels may learn what service really is!! We were treated like Royalty!! This manageress does not stand in one place long enough for any grass to grow under her feet!! Thanks so much to everyone for making our stay so memorable! Our next anniversary will be held in the Madiba suite :-) Thanks again! Eben & Corlia

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Corlia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad that you chose to spend your special day with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to congratulate you once again and wish you all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

If only all hotels could take a leaf out of this hotels book. Everything was excellent from start to finish.

These are the points that made our experience so enjoyable:
- Lucky, a hotel staff member, picked us up from the airport and asked us if there was anything we needed to get before we left the airport. He took us to an ATM and to a phone store to buy credit
- As soon as we got into the courtesy car there was a welcome note and bottled water on arrival
- Our room was impeccable
- The facilities at the hotel were excellent from two pools, one heated to the lovely boat lounge, gym and tennis courts.
- All staff are so friendly and go above and beyond in helping you out
- Food is outstanding. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here both nights and tried so many appetizers, mains and desserts, everything was delicious and presented in such a modern way
- The little touches that you are always surprised with (I won't ruin the surprise for you) is what gives this place just that edge over all other hotels.

The one and only thing that I would complain about is the slow internet.

Overall, I would recommend this small unique boutique to everyone, absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comment about the internet and are aware of it. We have the "fastest" internet available. We have technicians working on it to ensure it is working as intended.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Review
This hotel is very interesting. If you don't know what boutique is, it is essentially very small and very unique. Our room had an outside shower and bath. The room was kept very clean. The service is what will set this place far apart from others. Two or three people met us at the door when we checked in and were very accommodating. There is complimentary soda and water in the fridge. Only thing to keep in mind is that this hotel is a taxi ride away from everything. They will have to call one for you-this area is essentially suburban. The only area of improvement is that the internet is spotty at times. If you are looking to stream anything-forget about it. It works but it's not that fast. Also there is no iron in the room. You are better off bringing your own, but they will iron for you.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cecildadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments about the ironing board and are in the process of adding them to the rooms. As mentioned we do provide this service to our guests. We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and may you have a blessed 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I proposed to my fiancee at this hotel in December of 2012 and we decided to go back to celebrate our one year anniversary last week.
This hotel is superb in every way!!! The staff, service and beauty of the place live up to every expectation. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this ranks right up there with the best. Personal attention is top notch.

We love the place so much we booked a room as a Christmas present for my fiancee's parents even though they live in town - just a perfect place to get away!!
We will be back every year to celebrate our anniversary at the Residence!!

Room Tip: We've only every stayed in Room One, which has a jacuzzi and private deck - can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RYERAM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Congratulation once again and thank you so much for the review. We really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and would like to wish you both many many more anniversary celebrations at The Residence. We trust your in-laws enjoyed their Christmas present and would like to wish you all the very best for 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Probably the most special experience and warmest atmosphere I've been allowed to witness so far. We've felt very welcome from the start of our stay until the very end. Upon arrival I've busted the tire of our rental car in front of the residence and even before we've been introduced to our room, the staff waisted no time at all and insisted on taking care of my car and change the tire!
Afterwards we were welcomed with complementary brandy and self made iced tea, before being introduced to the staff.
The interior is made up of a unique, elegant but discrete style, which makes one feel as if you're in a private home. Every detail was just right. Each room has such a welcoming and warm atmosphere to it, it really makes you forget you're in a Hotel.
Since my job requires me to travel a lot, I probably stay in hotels up to 150 days a year and I've experienced my fair share of good service but nothing quite like this. Even the exchange of our car was personally taken care of by the owner, who called up the rental company in the morning, printed out directions for us and made sure we were to be treated "V.I.P" . I could just go on and on and on about this wonderful location, be it the breakfast, the tennis court out back or the outdoor bath tup.
Thank you so much for making our stay such a pleasant and unforgettable experience.
We will make sure to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisWill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for providing us with your amazing review. We really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure assisting you with your car and trust the rest of your trip went well. We look forward to welcoming you back someday in the near future and would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
377 reviews
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
635 reviews
2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £164 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing