We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hôtel - we'll be back !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kaydn215
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hôtel - we'll be back !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in February but wished we stayed longer. Very happy we were able to get in at short notice as it is an outstanding hotel. The hotel is situated in an upscale residential area (Houghton) so you need taxis or a car to get to places.

We were met by the resident driver - Lucky - at the airport who was great. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the staff and Charity the manager on duty. She was a great help during our stay as were all the staff. The hotel is a rabbit warren but with eclectic decoration and a lovely warmth. There are 2 small pools and a tennis court and even a small gym.

We were upgraded to a suite on the first floor which was a wonderful room with a very large bathroom. Great amenities including a coffee maker, biscuits, sherry, some fruit and a small tot of Amarula in the evenings. There is an outdoor patio with bath and shower - very good when the weather is good. The bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet. We needed to iron some clothes to go out which we were happy to do ourselves but the team organized to get them done for us quite quickly.

We had dinner the first night and the food was very good - some of the best we had on our trip including our stay in Cape Town. The wine list is compact but with some reasonably well known local wines - OK but could be a bit better. Our table was alfresco in the breezeway - very pleasant in the summer. Breakfast was also very good.

We had the traditional Dom Pedro nightcap in the piano bar - very good rendition from the bar staff - both the Amarula and the original whisky version.

We look forward to staying again on our next trip to Joburg.

Room Tip: All pretty good i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaydn215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and will be sure to address your comment about the wine list. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    53
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
102
400
38
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We we were driven to the hotel arriving at a large imposing metal gate which opened to a courtyard where stood a man in a top hat and was suddenly joined by every member of the staff welcoming us with hand shakes and I felt like I just returned to a long lost family. The warmth and personal care of the staff is amazing. We had suite #7 which was upstairs and entered thru a high wall where you the arrive in an outdoor sitting area with a lovely view, a bathtub, and two rain showers that are backed by a 6X10' mirrored wall. Indoors was a very luxurious king bed,chandelier and every imaginable amenity with yet another tub in the bathroom.Breakfast was great and when we had to leave at 6:00 AM breakfast was ready. Dinners were exquisite and the whole experience demands a revisit.
doctorHal

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorhal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chefs would like to thank you and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the run up to Xmas and our wedding and what a choice! We are very fussy with the quality we want in hotels but full marks! The penthouse suite was fabulous but the Mediba suite is something else! The outside bathrooms were a great way to start the day and the amazing food helped add many unwanted pounds before the big day! Rambo provided fantastic service with a smile and a great sense of humour. We would certainly recommend this to everyone who wants a few days of luxury, in every sense of the word. We will be back for more!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Searleandgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rambo says hi! We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future. Until then we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowichan Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

What's not to like? The Residence delivers as stated in the reviews. My wife and I book approximately 60 room nights per year for vacation(s); we are fortunate to have some comparables. This property "gets" the small details. Back in five weeks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Until then, take care, and thank you once again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

As part of our honeymoon we spent one day and one night in Johannesburg and stayed at The Residence. A true luxury, we forgot all our visits planned and just enjoyed our comfortable room with terrace, the outdoor bath tub and the hotel pool and restaurant. We also had massages in the hotel which were absolutely divine. We will definitely love to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to congratulate you once again and wish you both all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

No wonder The Residence Boutique Hotel is # 1 on Trip Advisor! No wonder all the reviews are fabulous -- We probably will say similar kudos as other reviewers - but because we loved our stay there so much, we would like to give our impressions too.

Our short stay was fantastic from the first moment we arrived to the time we left ( and wanted to stay longer). We stayed in early November, the second stop on a very long trip to several southern African countries, after a fabulous safari in Madikwe -- and as we have returned home not that long ago, we are only getting around to writing reviews.
Friends had stayed at The Residence when they had been in Johannesburg and highly recommended it -- We did our usual research and decided to stay there as well -- the best decision -- considering we were very apprehensive about staying in Johannesburg after all the negative stories we had heard.

We were intrigued when we realized the The Residence was very close to the home of Nelson Mandela, so on our way there, we asked our driver to take us there. As Madiba was still alive at the time of our visit we were able to see the home from the outside and even take photos -- and added plus. There were not any other people there at the time except for the security guards. Then we made our way to the Residence.

It is daunting at first as one drives through beautiful tree-lined streets yet with homes completely hidden behind high solid fences with cameras and ultra security measures. I suppose that does make one feel safe once inside, but coming from a country where one drives in the equivalent elegant part of town and sees homes in all their splendor-- it was a little strange.

However once inside the gates, we had the warmest of welcomes with a glass of bubbly and were shown to our beautiful room which was more like a mini suite. The bathroom had to be one of the largest and most beautiful that we have seen -- you could hold a party there!
Our room was luxurious with a chandelier even over the bed and we also had a lovely balcony area with not only an outdoor shower but also an outdoor tub.

All the amenities were first class and thoughtfully presented -- from the tea and biscuits, to the truffles and Amarula bottles that came with the turndown service.

We loved the swimming pools and tennis courts -- as we were travelling in several African countries and would be covering many miles, we had not brought our tennis gear even though we knew that there were courts at The Residence -- but everything we needed was provided so we were able to have a game before breakfast - a pleasant surprise.

The food was excellent -- breakfast which is included -- was served on an open air yet covered verandah on a bridge joining two parts of the lovely building which, we were told was the former Chinese Embassy. There was a pond with koi swimming beautiful flowers everywhere. The food presentation and quality was superlative. The night before we chose to have dinner at the Residence's restaurant as we really did not want to wander into the city and we really liked everything that we saw at The Residence so it was more convenient to stay there for dinner.
We were so glad we did as dinner was amazing. Not only was the wine list great and the food delicious--again there were little touches that were very smartly and beautifully presented -- like the giant diamond napkin rings and the crystal vases with after dinner truffles presented with dry ice -- so beautifully theatrical. One of the smartest items we found -- was one that every restaurant should have -- and oddly enough very few do -- or at least we have never seen this -- and we do go out a lot -- was a little clip over the menu with a small bendable arm and a little light at the end. In a restaurant that is dark for atmosphere it is often difficult to read a menu even if there are candles on the table -- this item on the Residence's menus was perfect.

The staff was pleasant, professional and very accommodating.

All in all a gorgeous boutique hotel where we were so glad to stay and would stay again.

Thank you to everyone at The Residence Boutique Hotel for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The past has left its mark on our surroundings (presence of security) but we have come a long way since then. Johannesburg does unfortunately get a lot of bad publicity but it truly is an exciting, evolving and amazing city to live in. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Southern Africa. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley,West Sussex
Level Contributor
265 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I really really felt so special at this amazing hideaway in the leafy suburbs of J'Burg. Recommended by my trusted tour Operator at Southern Destinations - Liesel didn't disappoint wither choices.
We opted for a Suite ( room 9) it was so spacious and the large deck with outside bathroom ( there is a complete repeat inside too ) made you feel alive. All the little touches - headed note paper with your name on it ( apparently after a number of visited you get bed linen inscribed too! )
Aaron ,Edgar and Elaine are amazing hosts and spend real time getting to know their guests. Examples abound of their understanding - such as a bit of a stressful checkin , was immediately followed by a " have a complimentary neck and shoulder massage on us whilst we get your room ready " approach .
We asked to go shopping to Sandton on our last day and were afforded the Rolls Royce To get us there ! Over the top but fun too
We were so fortunate to be upgraded to the Penthouse on our return from Safari - which was a complete villa on the top of the building with jacuzzi sun beds garden - separate outside lounge / outside bathroom and the ability to open the roof over the bed to see the stars - beyond belief !
Breakfast is superb and salads great for lunch - Dinner does need some work as it's 'ok' but in comparison to the rest of the experience needs a review ( less is more I think would help ! )
But the main ingredient in this amazing place is the staff- whether it be Keith/ Warren or Charity front of house - Ramboe / Emmanuel or Justin in the bar or Lucky the driver - all self taught and brilliant hosts who make the stay so special .
Well done Aaaron and team for a "" must come back " experience for 2 guys who felt so relaxed in your company .

Room Tip: Pay the extra and choose the penthouse or other suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really glad to hear that your overall trip was a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Property: The Residence Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing