We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people make this place the haven that it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor, we chose to stay at this place during our recent visit to Jo'burg. Even though we did not arrange for airport pickup, we only had a short wait while the concierge arranged transportation from the airport to the hotel. Right from this point 'til departure, we were well and truly looked after by the very friendly and attentive staff. Went for some spa treatments and was not disappointed there either. The only off-putting part of the experience was being hit up by the Reception person for booking tours through the hotel as soon as we got to the hotel, and even before I filled out the check-in form. Apart from this minor hitch, hard-pressed to find anything negative about this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shehezadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review. We really appreciate your feedback and will address the matter raised. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé planned our engagement at The Residence and the experience was absolutely incredible. The staff were all extremely attentive, even arranging a private dining area for us next to a beautiful fire place to ensure that this special occasion would be as memorable as possible. Keith was extremely accommodating and assisted my fiancé with all of his special requests. They thought of every detail down to the rose petals on the table and the complimentary champagne on tap.

The food was exquisite and the Madiba Suite was beautifully furnished with all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star presidential suite - including the private terrace and jacuzzi.

I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful sanctuary and I would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aerontjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Congratulations once again. We are so glad that we could be part of such a special occasion. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you both all the happiness in the world and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. Staff are a delight to deal with. Assistance with tours, transfers and bits and pieces was outstanding.

The hotel itself is gorgeous and worth every cent. It's a haven within this city. I was upgraded to the Penthouse which was a delightful surprise - truly special place to stay. I almost never left!

I will certainly stay here again if I ever make it back to Cape Town.

Breakfast huge and yummy. Dinner gourmet and very reasonably priced.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sarahp0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you for your review and trust you had an enjoyable trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stopped over in Johannesburg for two days recently, en route home.

We'd never seen a 99% percenter on Tripadvisor so were excited to check out The Residence, and were not disappointed. We were picked up by Lucky at the Airport, upgraded on arrival, and found all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was actually the old Chinese embassy combined with the house next door, and the conversion was well done, with a great feel with the two pools (one heated), the gardens, the water features and also the koi pond.

The location was good, a nice leafy suburb around 10 minutes drive each from Joburg CBD, Sandton and the restaurants at Melrose Arch, and one-way transfers in the Rolls Royce were good value at $20. Felt safe running in the area in the morning.

The included breakfast was a continental selection plus a cooked plate of your choice - English style big breakfast, salmon benedict etc. Very filling and very tasty. We stayed in one night and the fireplace in the bar was fun, while the ostrich and impala carpaccio plus the beef fillet were excellent. The frangelico and chocolate on the pillow each night was a nice touch.

No complaints at all. Didn't check out the gym, which a few past reviewers had mentioned.

Room Tip: Unless you are going to use the large outdoor patio or the jacuzzi, would recommend the suites over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candid_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really appreciate the feedback and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to welcome you back someday in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My first trip to South Africa, and I could never even imagine what I came to. Travelled solo, and wanted a safe and nice place to relax. Came to paradise and were spoiled rotten by wonderfull people, environment, surroundings !! The staff helped me to get a very nice, safe and fabuolus taxidriver to take me around to Soweto, Mandelas house and oter places of interest. He knew everything abouth South Africa and history. Ask for TK!!! Everything for a very reasonable price. THANK YOU and I will definetly be back.
Sissel Horni, Oslo, Norway

Room Tip: Had a wonderfull rom suite 9. Comfortabe beds and interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sissel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sissel, thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully someday soon. Until then, we would all like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Kindest regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The reviews don't do this place justice until you get to experience staying here. We felt very welcome upon our arrival and the staff were helpful in getting us situated into room five. The room exceeded expectations, the soothing music and scents when we entered made us feel like it was our own little spa paradise. The food at the hotel was wonderful and can't rave enough about the service we received. We were fortunate to have Lucky drive us to run errands and he also do a little site seeing. I wish we would have had more than one night to spend here at the hotel, will be coming back in the near future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeghanM616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your comments. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you had an enjoyable trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.
Kindest Regards The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

As others have said this is an absolutely wonderful boutique hotel with large amounts of public space,2 swimming pools,lounges,bars and restaurant etc,but with a small number of wonderful rooms.The Hotel is really 5 star but,thanks to the high exchange rate of the rand,very reasonably priced for excellent rooms,food and drink.All the staff are attentive and give great service particularly on transfers,trips etc.Thanks to Lucky for taking us to the airport in the hotel's Rolls Royce after my wife admired it !.In short you cannot get better overall than this Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get the room with the jacuzzi on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianmcllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really do appreicate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you had an enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and Lucky says he will have the Rolls waiting for you at the airport when you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
369 reviews
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
631 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £164 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing