We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was impressed by the decor,the details,and service. Our suite #5 has an outside jacuzzi. The overall hotel is nicely decorated. They offer you transfers from the airport and within the city in the car of your choice, Roll Royse, Mercedes ( yes, I am serious)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We really appreciate it but more importantly are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

After spending 15 hour on a flight,any hotel might do. When entering most hotels, however, you have to be processed. Not at the Residence. You enter what feels like your living room, complete with a grand piano and go to your room. And what a room. We had an entry level luxury room which at this hotel means an outdoor patio, fountain, hot tub and a few steps down, you enter a grand bedroom with sitting room and large bathroom adjoining. Now you know you're on vacation! Our room overlooked a lovely patio and garden--wait--this is better than home!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mr James Maxx
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to kick start your vacation for you. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that you had a pleasant trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

While we loved the property and especially the staff, the price of our room as very high. Located in a beautiful neighborhood close to Nelson Mandela's last home in JoBurg, the Residence did not fail in terms of service. The rooms were unique although a tad dated ... like we were staying in an old aunt's home ... very homey but .... again dated. Loved the staff ... lots of them and all very attentive. The fireplace in the piano room was lovely as well as piano player's music. If I return to JoBurg I will check the price of the room/suite and if more in line, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am surprised you hear about your concerns of our pricing, as we are benchmarked below the general rate in Johannesburg. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and from all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having read all the wonderful reviews we were excited at our 3 day stay and expectant of very high standards. On check-in and walking about the hotel we were very impressed by the décor - really very nice, and the staff all seemed very friendly. Then we were shown to our room - no 7. I think it is the forgotten room because the décor was in no way a reflection of the rest of the common areas. There had been a leak in the roof and the ceiling had been patch repaired rather badly and there was still mildew showing in some areas. Not so nice to lie in bed at night staring at this! The bed is super comfortable but the rest of the room was really a let-down. We had lunch there the first day and the food was not great at all. Oxtail in a small pot held a single bone - the sauce was tasty tho. The green Thai curry was so salty as to be almost inedible - it was nothing like any Thai curry I have ever seen - grey, dry and only chicken - no greenery. When told of the problem the manager correctly cancelled the bill. Breakfasts were not bad - but nothing special. The much written about "turn down service" did not happen on the first night. I queried it and the next 2 were good. Then we discovered too late on the last morning that the tea in the room had not been replenished in the time we were there.

So is this really a 5 star hotel - or were we just really unlucky? With reasons to travel to JHB regularly in the future I am a bit hesitant to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask NOT for room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike-Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mike-Petra,
Thank you so much for the feedback. I can assure you that your experience at The Residence is completely out of the ordinary. We appreciate you raising your issues with us and will be in contact to address the matter further.
Kind regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here after flying overnight and arriving in Johannesburg. Everything was thought of and the rooms and public areas were absolutely stunning. I have never stayed in a place like this before and will always come back to stay here if I return to this city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferJCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you back some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our three night stay at The Residence was very pleasant. This boutique hotel is quite small and is located in a posh Johannesburg neighborhood. As a result, it was an excellent place to recover from jet lag, but a fairly poor place to serve as a jumping off point to see the sights of the city. The hotel offers the use of their drivers and high end cars to take you places at prices comparable to taxis, but it is simply not the same as walking to and from various sights. (However, I am not certain that Johannesburg would score high on a “walkability” index for tourists.) My wife and I did find a small mall within a ten minute walk to which we escaped for a few lunches, as well as visit the Apartheid Museum and take the Red Line Hop on Hop off Bus around the city.

The hotel is filled with lounges (although I never saw a guest in one of them) replete with sofas and chairs reminiscent of a bygone era, fireplaces, and crystal chandeliers hanging from the ceiling. Although many may like this style, it was a bit dark and stodgy for my taste.

Our room, a luxury suite, was comfortable, although decorated in the style described above. It included a large comfortable bed, sufficient storage, and a small balcony overlooking the tennis court. The bathroom not only contained a full bathtub and a stand-up shower, but adequate storage for most of our toiletries.

The service was excellent. On more than one occasion I remarked to my wife about how many staff there were for such a small hotel. They were attentive and pleasant, and always seemed to be at the right spot, without being annoying or in the way.

Breakfast was pleasant with a mini-continental buffet at our table, as well as a small hot breakfast menu from which we could choose. We also had dinner at the hotel on several occasions. The menu was interesting, although somewhat limited, and the food was very good, but not excellent, and reasonably priced. As expected, service at dinner was excellent.

Overall, my wife and I had an enjoyable stay The Residence and would recommend it to those stopping for a few days in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjlv07b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately Johannesburg sights are very spread out hence limited walk ability. At this time of the year (Winter) some of our clients do tend to hibernate in front of the fireplaces in their rooms and order room service hence it could of seemed quiet.
We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and from all of us here at The Residence we would like to wish you both all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this amazing boutique hotel. The attention to detail was beyond anything that i have experienced. Many public areas/lounges/cozy areas to sit and enjoy the gorgeous furnishings. The staff were very friendly and helpful. William and Daniel were memorable in their attentive and charming service. Absolutely an oasis in the middle of a large city. Highly recommended. I wish we could have stayed longer.

We had 2 dinners and food was wonderful. Elegant and sophisticated without trying to hard. Amazing presentation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Penthouse suite and it was beyond beautiful. Large outdoor deck with jacuzzi and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much. We really appreciate your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had an enjoyable trip back home.
From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
377 reviews
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
635 reviews
2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £164 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing