We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three wonderful nights. The #1 Trip Advisor rating is deserved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although the amenities are delightful, the staff is what set this place apart. We stayed two nights before Safari and returned for a single night before heading home to the US. We wish we had planned to stay longer. The custom rooms were luxurious with both inside and outside showers The treats before bedtime including a chocolate, Amarulo liquor and a hot water bottle. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Residence. The food was excellent. The service was extremely attentive, friendly, and with a sense of humor. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: We were in 4 different rooms during our stay and all were wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phcfinancial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We cant thank you enough for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed your trip to South Africa and that you had an enjoyable and safe trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family only was able to spend one night at this wonderful hotel during a forced overnight awaiting our flight to Victoria Falls. We didn't have the time to try any of the hotel's amenities. That being said...this is an outstanding 5-star hotel. Our rooms were luxurious with wonderful bedding, bathroom (and toiletries and towels were lovely), and furnishings. Plus, they provided complimentary sherry (very good), chocolates, Amarula, and a bottle of wine. Staff was wonderful.

Our connecting rooms were each unique in architecture and design (which I like) and had amazing outdoor spaces (with private balconies, hot tubs, bathtubs, 2 person outdoor showers, furniture) which would have been lovely had it been summer and had we had the time.

My only complaint was that my lovely bathroom was smaller than my children's lovely bathroom...and since I'm paying for it...:)

Also, like to mention the hotel's quirky lay-out is refreshingly charming...I needed to ask the staff several times how to navigate to get to the lobby (that's right...through the bar/dining, the coy pond, the den/library, hang another right, or whatever...my own little safari). The hotel boutique was also very nice and believe it or not correctly priced similar to everywhere else.
The hotel provided transportation to the local Moyo restaurant located in a very upscale touristy area so close to the hotel.

And I must say...our 5 star Diva family has been to about 20 countries and stayed in some of the nicest places in the world...but without question this place had the most lovely (included) breakfast of any place we have ever stayed (with maybe the exception of a place in Seville, Spain). The setting and staff were lovely. They provided a "buffet" which was brought to the table in such an elegant way (didn't have to spoil meal time leaving the table to collect your food on a buffet line and worrying how others grope the food). And the food we ordered (yes, also included) was divine. I don't know what they did but they had the best cheese omelet and best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted. And they're just eggs! Unbelievable.

Highest, highest recommendations. All of our travel family 5-star Diva expectations were exceeded.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 5StarDivaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and trust you had an enjoyable and safe trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed at The Residence several times and I am amazed that it could get even better than the last. We stayed in the Madiba Suite in the new section and it was gorgeous. All of the rooms are gorgeous, but there was something magical about seeing the moon rise over our enormous deck, with hot tub, chandelier, day bed, comfy lounge seating, nice wine and totally private and quiet (in the middle of Johannesburg). Every detail is so well done and comforting. We loved the new airport transport vehicle with WiFi! The sky bar is an awesome setting.
The staff here are truly fabulous!!!! We feel like we returned to see good friends. On every trip we have had all our meals there and the food was, and still is superb. I am happy to say that my husband did not fall into the fish pond during this stay!
The Residence is the most perfect respite after a long overseas flight for great food, wine, service and night's sleep. It is an easy 15-20 minute drive from the airport - they pick us up. We will never consider staying at an airport hotel again. We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous and have wonderful outdoor bathrooms and spaces. We loved the deck of the Ma...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It’s always such a pleasure welcoming you back and we are so glad to hear that you enjoying staying with us. The fish say hi and missed their visit this time round ;-)
We trust you had an enjoyable trip and look forward to welcoming you back. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you both all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Even in South Africa's winter season, this property is immaculately landscaped and maintained. It is obvious that the Residence's owners are determined to create a breathtaking oasis in the middle of Johannesburg. We spent four days in the Pool Villa, which was very comfortable and well appointed. However, the high point for this property is the various sitting rooms and outdoor spaces for the guests. Only a dozen suites; so, you're never in a crowd. Great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. We appreciate your comments and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you back someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent two glorious days here to recoup from a 23 hour flight from Singapore and before going on safari. This gem of a hotel provided a peaceful romantic setting and we never left the hotel. The restaurant is terrific and the spa was wonderful. Since they have made this by joining homes together there are all sorts of rooms and spaces where we could sit and be perfectly private. I only wish we had added another day after we finished the 10 day safari. It felt like we were guests in a fabulous private home and the rooms are spacious with private decks. They also store extra bags that cannot go along on safari.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bsutera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had a pleasant trip back home and hope to welcome you back someday in the near future. Until then we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in November 2013. And have nothing but praise for the staff, food and rooms. However during our stay, we asked for information and recommendations regarding visiting a local "walk with cheetahs" conservation park only to be advised that the it would be a better experience to visit Ukutala - a mere 2 hour drive away. Although this was a lot further away and far more costly in terms of transport and admittance fee, we took their advice. I have to now say that I am heartbroken to discover, after seeing a documentary, that this is not a lion conservation park but a breeding program to support other farms and canned lion hunting. Has now ruined the whole experience of this hotel, Johannesburg and SA.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We were just as shocked and upset to find out the true nature of Ukatala. We would never have recommended it and after viewing the documentary will never recommend it ever again. We had only received great reviews from people that have been there hence recommending it. Our sincere apologies.
Kind regards
The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Residence Botique hotel is an amazing place to stay in Johannesburg if you want to avoid the boring 3,4,5 * chain hotels.

It is an old residence converted into a hotel. As the name suggests, it is a residence and we felt very much at home there.

There is a lot of personal attention by the staff ( they get to know your likes and preferences ) and address you by name.

They were a great help in organising tours, restaurant reservations etc. for us in and around Johannesburg.

Highly recommend it !

Note : Unfortunately the pictures up on trip advisor do not do it justice to how beautiful the place actually is.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmerchant009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
421 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
567 reviews
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
615 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £169 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing