We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were a group of 14 staying here after our safari in Kruger and a trip to Vic Falls - what a fabulous last night in South Africa. In the van from the airport we were given the internet password, a bottle of water and a moist towellette. At the hotel we were taken to our rooms which included a decanter with sherry and mini-bar with soda and a wonderful closed in patio. We had dinner in the hotel and the food and atmosphere was wonderful. There were candles and lanterns throughout the hotel and piano player in the bar. After dinner, back to our room to find a rose on our pillow, 2 small bottles of liquor, small chocolates and hot water bottles in our bed. In the morning we were able to get a late checkout for a couple of our rooms so were able to enjoy the facilities. I had an African Massage in the spa which started with a foot soak, scrub and massage and ended with fruit skewers and juice on the sun deck. I would have loved to spend another few days to enjoy the hotel and facilities.

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool villa which included a very large sitting area and fireplace. The bedroom had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 746NatalieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to be able to welcome you back someday in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been to Johannesburg many times and stayed in different hotels, but on this trip, based on Tripadvisor reviews, we chose The Residence. What an outstanding choice. Our only regret is that we did not stay here on prior visits! From the time one walks through the door, you are made to feel as if you are part of the family, returning home after a long absence. I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I wish every hotel were this welcoming, warm and friendly! My husband and I used The Residence as a base, and our visit actually consisted of 3 stays over a 3 week period, so we got to know the staff and management well. Kudos to them all! If there is one reason to return to Joburg, it is to stay again at The Residence!

Room Tip: Suite 9 is exceptionally spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavinia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your comments. We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future. Until then from all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Residence and there is much to be positive about. The building and setting is really nice,it has a couple of pools and beautiful grounds. The rooms were spacious and I really liked the some of the extra little touches such as the small spa. We had a downstairs family room, which was convenient for moving luggage around but it was right next to reception and not as nice as the upstairs rooms, particularly not having a view out onto the grounds.

Rather than a down-side it's more the case that I'm not convinced it merits the full five star review. The staff were all really nice and were very helpful but:

- they were occasionally flustered if more than two or three people made a request
- the food was nice but not spectacular
- the wine was really reasonably priced but not as good as other stays
- a few bits of the decor were starting to look a bit tired in our bedroom

It's in a mainly a residential area, so there's nothing really around bar the hotel (given it's Jo'burg, we were expecting to have to get cabs everywhere anyway).

I've still given this a four and it was excellent value for money and I enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: Don't take the downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HerbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will attend to the issues you raised. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and would like to wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed at many high end hotels....this one is the best. Elegance does not amply describe it. Staff and management are gracious, accommodating without any hint of pretension. We stayed in the pool villa which was well worth the upgrade. Separate living room with working fire place, eating table and view of one of the two pools. Walled outside area with hot/cold shower, plunge pool, sun loungers and eating table. Bath with separate luxury bath and shower. Free mini bar with brandy in decanter. Since we are here in their winter, we were delightfully surprised that the turn down service included hot water bottles under the covers...in addition to hand crafted chocolate and Amarula to sip.
Other members of our party stayed at the top floor suite which had the entire top floor to itself. The sun porch included ample room to host a well attended reception with sun bed and hot tub. The room was well appointed with a separately walled area with outdoor bath and shower...to compliment the indoor bath, of course.
The hotel provides pickup and drop off service to OR Tambo.
We would love to just move in!

Room Tip: Certainly go for the small extra cost for a villa/suite upgrade. Otherwise, try rooms, 4, 7 or 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to visit us in our summer months and enjoy that experience. We trust you had a safe and enjoyable trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I arrived for the first night of our honeymoon and at first sight, the residence was beautiful. We thought it was a bit odd that the power went out for three hours and our jacuzzi was freezing cold, but we were willing to let it go because the property was so gorgeous.

We told our travel agent, the front desk owner, and ALL waiters that my husband was deathly allergic to nuts. Thinking that this is the top hotel in joburg we figured they could accodomate NOT cooking with nuts and we'd be safe to enjoy our first meal there. When we ordered dinner we told the waiter again about the nut allergy and he assured us that my husband's steak and veggies were totally nut free. Once the meal arrives my husband takes a bite and noticed that drizzled is a green..pesto sauce. We asked
the waiter what this was as it wasn't listed on the menu, and
low and behold it's a pesto sauce with ALMONDS.

We were so shocked that as we were one of three other people staying at the hotel and we mentioned this multiple times that they would be so careless.

The hotel called a doctor where my husband had to get shots in a supply closet, and I spent the entire night awake making sure he wasn't going into allergic shock. The hotel paid for the doctor bill and the medication (thanks), but clearly staying awake all night watching my husband to make sure he didn't die wasn't how I pictured our honeymoon.

The best part-when we checked out the owner woman handed me a bill for our dinner, minus my husband's entree and said " we didn't charge you for his plate". Considering we didn't even finish our meal I found it completely repulsive and disgusting that they would even charge us for that. I flatly refused to pay for the meal.

It's disappointing that a hotel which prides itself on service would make such a life threatnibg blunder. This isn't just a service issue, they literally put my husbands life in danger.

Shame on the residence.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fg1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your view, however we need to provide clarity as follows: All staff were notified of your nut allergy as we take our clients allergies/medical conditions very seriously. We often have guests travelling with food allergies and always accommodate their dietary requirements as requested. The “pesto/basil sauce” which you referred to (used as a green garnish on the side of plate) was in fact nut free and did not contain any pine nuts/almonds, as the chef was made well aware of the nut allergy. To reassure you that everything was in order, we did call a doctor at our expense that also confirmed that there was no concern at all. The doctor did however leave medication for your husband, as you had not brought any allergy medication with yourself for your entire trip.

As for the comment regarding the electricity – we have 2 backup generators, which in worst case, would leave a 30 second time period as generators switch into usage. We also have no record of any power outage during your stay and should there ever be a local municipal power outage, our property is well equipped.

Jacuzzi water – for hygiene reason all Jacuzzi water is replaced before every new guest arrival. As we had assisted, you with an early check in, the water had just been replaced. The Jacuzzi water does take approximately 60 minutes to heat up.

We trust that you did enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the residence last week and were most impressed with the entire experience. Great service, out standing ambience and helpful staff. The stay was a highlight of our time in Johannesburg and we will recommend to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sanjeev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you so much for providing us with your review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although the amenities are delightful, the staff is what set this place apart. We stayed two nights before Safari and returned for a single night before heading home to the US. We wish we had planned to stay longer. The custom rooms were luxurious with both inside and outside showers The treats before bedtime including a chocolate, Amarulo liquor and a hot water bottle. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Residence. The food was excellent. The service was extremely attentive, friendly, and with a sense of humor. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: We were in 4 different rooms during our stay and all were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phcfinancial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We cant thank you enough for your kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you enjoyed your trip to South Africa and that you had an enjoyable and safe trip back home. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.8 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 67 in Johannesburg
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £180 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing