We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£219
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
£240
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£120
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
MrsSunsh1ne
Groton, Massachusetts

Beautiful Property

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2019
We landed in Johannesburg late morning and went straight to The Residence. They were kind enough to allow us to check into our room early so we could freshen up before heading right out for an afternoon tour.

Our room was clean and we immediately comfortable. There was a nice "living room" area inside the room as well as a beautiful sitting area outside the room that included its own hot tub. The property itself is feels very much like one over-sized, luxurious inn and the grounds are absolutely breathtaking. The pool areas and surrounding landscaping are so serene it is hard to imagine you are in the middle of a very large city.

The dining room certainly held it's own with a varied menu of deliciously upscale food. The atmosphere was relaxed and you did not leave that table hungry at any meal.

The staff could not have been more courteous and even arranged a quick ride to an ATM when we only asked for directions. Sadly we were only in Johannesburg overnight but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Residence and will not hesitate to stay there again should our travels take us back to the area.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Feb 2019
Thank you so much for your amazing review, it really means a lot to us and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
£156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £156
  • StayForLong
    £114
  • Priceline
    £156
0.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
    £98
  • Priceline
    £109
1.1 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£162
  • Hotels.com
    £160
  • ZenHotels.com
    £144
  • Expedia.com
    £160
1.7 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool and two story room structure
Booking.com
£61
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • Hotels.com
    £74
1.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
£116
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £103
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Expedia.com
    £112
3.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£107
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £86
  • Expedia.com
    £86
  • Priceline
    £107
2.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£80
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Hotels.com
    £100
  • Vio.com
    £80
2.0 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£156
  • Vio.com
    £156
  • Priceline
    £173
  • Agoda.com
    £156
9.5 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£37
  • Priceline
    £41
  • Agoda.com
    £37
8119.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Booking.com
£16
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £18
  • Agoda.com
    £10
  • Expedia.com
    £18
2.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
945
66
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
945
66
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub pool villa private jacuzzi turn down service moment you arrive stayed longer sitting room common areas an oasis pools safari spa marvin fireplace chandeliers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

We had an absolutely amazing time at this wonderful hotel. After many hours of travel, we were exhausted when we arrived. The staff was so accommodating, making sure we were fed even though it was at the end of the breakfast hour. We were able to get in to our room right away to get some much needed rest. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing. The entire property provides a sense of peace and tranquility. The food and service was superb! We highly recommend this inn.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank uarehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

We had a very good stay at the hotel. The service was fantastic. We booked a trip to Soweto via the hotel & they used Khuliso at Ramon tours and they also used him for their car pickup service to go to the local Rosemont shopping mall it was excellent & he was really personable & knowledgable- just great.

We felt very safe & looked after.

The breakfast was really good - plenty of choice of individually cooked hot & cold food buffet to help yourself ( sparkling South African wine & oysters if you like !)

We ate twice in evening at the hotel - really nice food & service.

We had complimentary sparkling wine in reception several times.

Our room was a suite with an outdoor patio & hot tub - just great with everything we needed. There were slippers, robes complimentary sherry & apples!

We couldn’t believe what we got at such a good price.

As it rained hard we couldn’t use the heated pool but I did go to the Spa & had a really good experience with a pedicure & manicure from Constance - I would really recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Penelope015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2019

Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it and for choosing to stay at The Residence. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

This is the second time I have stayed in this beautiful Guest House and it never disappoints. The staff are so attentive and there is so much attention to detail its hard not to want to stay here forever!

The beds are probably the most comfortable I have ever stayed on and I just wanted to bundle up the bed linen and take it home with me. I'm not one for lie ins but my husband could not get me out of the bed.

The food in general is wonderful, but I especially love the breakfast. They serve this wonderful local fresh cream milkshake in glass bottles and it's just sublime !

Coffee and cake is served around 4pm which is another little complimentary perk and the staff are always on hand to help you select the best wine to go with your evening meal.

I think if you are flying in to Jo'burg and wanted a few days respite before venturing off somewhere else, this is the perfect place to stay.

The only problem is it has now elevated my expectations of what I want from a hotel so now feel rather spoilt ! (but it is so worth it!)

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leikela45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and was so nice to welcome you back to The Residence. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019 via mobile

After two long overnight flights from Canada, we arrived jet lagged, at 11:00 a few hours early for check-in. We were warmly greeted, given a welcome drink and a short tour and shown our lovely room.

We stayed three nights. The complementary breakfast was quite lavish, the menus (in restaurant and room service) were very reasonably priced and the food was very nice. An excellent wine list was very affordable. Service was uniformly excellent.

Uber rides were cheap and easy, all over town, from the hotel.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank splashd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope that the jet lag subsided for the rest of your trip. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019

My husband and I had a wonderful couple of days in this very upmarket hotel. The decor may not be to everyone's taste but it is certainly unique. The service from all staff was ten out of ten. We enjoyed the meals, the swimming pools, the spa and just the whole atmosphere. We were grateful to be upgraded to a luxury suite and enjoyed the space and the jacuzzi.

Date of stay: February 2019
1  Thank 1inez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews