We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£219
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
£240
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£120
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ElaineTO
Toronto, Canada

Overnight stay - a must

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2019via mobile
In transit on way from Botswana back to Canada - our agent at Rhino Africa arranged this overnight stay.

What can I say, we will be back

Leonard met us at the gate and helped get our luggage in. Samantha toured us around the stunning complex - 3 pool choices - eating areas beautifully appointed and an attentive staff (thanks Leonard)

The different rooms/suites vary in size and opulence- breathtaking and tastefully decorated

Drinks pre dinner in a seating area adjacent to the bar allowed us to enjoy the pianist and a romantic conversation.

Aaron (one of the owners) was generous with his time and helped choose the appropriate wine to enjoy with our dinner. He shared his vision for his country and its on-Going growth.

We used one of their drivers to take us to a couple of museums - a trainee with potential

We will be back, thanks
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 2 Apr 2019
Dear Elaine, thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future. I hope you manage to find my recommended Pinotage back home and trust the weather on arrival was not too cold. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
£156
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £156
  • StayForLong
    £114
  • Priceline
    £156
0.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£109
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
    £98
  • Priceline
    £109
1.1 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool and two story room structure
Booking.com
£61
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £44
  • Hotels.com
    £74
1.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
£116
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £103
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Expedia.com
    £112
3.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£107
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £86
  • Hotels.com
    £86
  • Priceline
    £107
2.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£80
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Hotels.com
    £100
  • Vio.com
    £80
2.0 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£156
  • Vio.com
    £156
  • Priceline
    £173
  • Agoda.com
    £156
9.5 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£37
  • Priceline
    £41
  • Agoda.com
    £37
8119.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Booking.com
£16
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £18
  • Agoda.com
    £10
  • Expedia.com
    £18
2.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £162
  • ZenHotels.com
    £144
  • Hotels.com
    £160
1.7 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
945
66
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
945
66
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub pool villa private jacuzzi turn down service moment you arrive stayed longer sitting room common areas an oasis pools safari spa marvin fireplace chandeliers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2019 via mobile

Love everything about this place: the staff are Soooooo gracious, kind and attentive. The food is excellent! The rooms are large and comfy - mine even has a terrace with an outdoor shower and a tub! 💅

I look forward to coming back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank RTinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019

This is the quintessential boutique hotel, away from the hussle of the city. And, the staff aims to please on every level. Friendly, courteous and charming define the people and the amenities. Our stay was brief and early into our journey of S.A. but we have not forgotten how welcoming our initial foray was into this magnificent country.

Room tip: No bad rooms!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank billcamera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence, albeit a short one. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip around South Africa and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019

What a wonderful hotel. Great food, Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Staff are so lovely and friendly.
Loved the piano bar in the evening.
Quirky rooms with both indoor and outdoor showers/baths.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

We landed in Johannesburg late morning and went straight to The Residence. They were kind enough to allow us to check into our room early so we could freshen up before heading right out for an afternoon tour.

Our room was clean and we immediately comfortable. There was a nice "living room" area inside the room as well as a beautiful sitting area outside the room that included its own hot tub. The property itself is feels very much like one over-sized, luxurious inn and the grounds are absolutely breathtaking. The pool areas and surrounding landscaping are so serene it is hard to imagine you are in the middle of a very large city.

The dining room certainly held it's own with a varied menu of deliciously upscale food. The atmosphere was relaxed and you did not leave that table hungry at any meal.

The staff could not have been more courteous and even arranged a quick ride to an ATM when we only asked for directions. Sadly we were only in Johannesburg overnight but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Residence and will not hesitate to stay there again should our travels take us back to the area.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsSunsh1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, it really means a lot to us and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

We had an absolutely amazing time at this wonderful hotel. After many hours of travel, we were exhausted when we arrived. The staff was so accommodating, making sure we were fed even though it was at the end of the breakfast hour. We were able to get in to our room right away to get some much needed rest. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing. The entire property provides a sense of peace and tranquility. The food and service was superb! We highly recommend this inn.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank uarehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews