We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rita
New York

Best place I stayed!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2023via mobile
The Residence is a beautiful intimate hotel on the outskirts of downtown Johannesburg. If you are looking for a quiet and homey feel this is the place. The staff was exceptional from the concierge, the restaurant, spa, drivers and cleaning services. Everyone was genuinely kind and went the extra mile without us asking. From Marvin picking us up from the airport, Moses helping my mom communicate with her sister via Whatsapp and Lucky giving us an amazing tour of SOWETO in helping us understand the history of South Africa. Will definitely recommend this place to others and when I come back I will be staying here!
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Make sure you travel on a day the apartheid museum is open if you want to visit it. Sadly during...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 17 Oct 2023
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£121
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £153
  • Priceline
    £93
  • Official Site
    £114
0.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£80
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £82
  • Hotels.com
    £76
  • Priceline
    £81
1.1 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£60
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    £69
  • Expedia.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
    £60
2.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£98
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £113
  • Agoda.com
    £72
  • eDreams
3.9 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin room
£50
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £40
  • Agoda.com
    £36
  • Expedia.com
    £55
3.0 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£155
  • Vio.com
    £157
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
    £157
9.5 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£53
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    £53
  • Expedia.com
    £54
  • Agoda.com
    £54
4.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£38
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £38
  • Agoda.com
    £38
  • StayForLong
3.4 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
£15
  • Agoda.com
    £12
  • Priceline
    £18
  • StayForLong
2.6 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £37
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • eDreams
18.4 miles from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
948
66
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
948
66
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub pool villa private jacuzzi turn down service moment you arrive stayed longer sitting room common areas an oasis pools safari spa marvin fireplace chandeliers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

This hotel was wonderful! The people were so attentive and welcoming. This was my first stop on my first trip to South Africa and I could not have been made to feel more welcome. The rooms and grounds were so beautiful. We could have spent many more than our 3 scheduled days there. Thank you so much everyone!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 598meghank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2023

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2023

A beautiful oasis of calm and top notch service. The rooms are spacious and the staff helpful. We dined in a cosy room with a roaring fire and great piano music. A special thanks to Rambo on reception, Thembi in the spa and Lucky who helped us with getting our bearings.

Room tip: It's a little dim so more light in the rooms would be super!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SapnaS360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2023

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

Cannot recommend this more highly. The staff were so friendly. Get Marvin to show you around the city. The complimentary breakfast meant you didn't need lunch. The accomodations were homely and the rooftop spa an oasis. Dinner menu was excellent.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NHGolfer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2023 via mobile

This was the perfect place to spend a few nights in Joburg whilst playing golf in the area. Beautiful room with different areas (sitting and a little deck with an outside shower). Super efficient staff and delicious meals in the restaurant. We loved every minute. Also so grateful to be allowed to stay in the room until a late check out.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2023

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2023

Beautiful hotel situated in a nice neighborhood in Johannesburg. The rooms are spacious with great amenities. The meals are incredible - definitely recommend having dinner and enjoying drinks at the bar. It was too cold to swim, but there's also a nice pool and tennis court and workout facility. While the facilities are amazing, the staff is even better. The service was incredible throughout our stay. Look no further than The Residence for a stay in Johannesburg.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Unclebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence The Residence, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2023

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews