We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and interesting menu”
Review of SalvationCafe

SalvationCafe
Ranked #36 of 1,212 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Salvationcafe is a hidden gem in the middle of 44 Stanley; an oasis in the urban jungle of Joburg; a sanctuary amidst olive and leopard trees; a must-do for visitors and locals alike; a locals favorite with international allure. Come and enjoy an award-winning breakfast, a signature lunch (one of several) and a homemade dessert like our cheesecake of which customers often say it is "the best I have ever had". We invite you to come and try for yourself and share your experience on Trip Advisor. Buon Appetito!
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Different and interesting menu”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

On my many visits to Salvation Café, I have never been disappointed. The food is well presented and different and certainly interesting. The waiters are friendly without being familiar and seem to really know the menu.

I also like that you can sit outside under the trees, or umbrellas, and the vibe is just great. The chairs are not the most comfortable I have ever sat on, but concentrating on eating that delicious food, soon makes you forget your uncomfortable bottom half.

Can't wait to go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    72
    12
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Salvation Cafe”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A quaint little restaurant, Salvation Cafe gives the feel of a secret garden right in the centre of the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg. The menu is interesting offering fish cakes with fresh refreshing salad to a pure beef burger (my favorite) crammed with avo, cheese and other delicious compliments. The onion rings are a winner. One special thing aboutSalvation Cafe is the New York Cheesecake they serve. WOW. This is a must for every dessert lover. The berry compote is thick and not too sweet. The berries still have a bit of a crunch in them, so the compote itself has not been overdone. The cheesecake is smooth and decadent. You can think about little else when eating it. It's definitely not one to share so make sure you get your own piece! The outdoor seating is lovely. It's the perfect Saturday lunch spot on a breezy spring afternoon. The New York cheesecake however, makes Salvation Cafe an any day kind of place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thobeka_Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I recently discovered this quaint spot at 44 Stanley. The food is wholesome and tasty. The service is great and there are warm, friendly faces that are always willing to help. I'm a fan of simple food made with love and that's what Salvation offers. Lovely place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vuyokazi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently Serving Quality food”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Its an informal cafe but there is a distinctive mark of someone who is deliberately and painstakingly paying attention to detail. I've eaten here about 10 times already and the presentation is always good and the ingredients seem well chosen for their quality. Only open for breakfast and lunch. This restauranteur probably could have opened in a much higher profile spot; but 44 on Stanley just adds to this one of a kind restaurant. This is as hip and happening as Joburg gets in my mind...its been here a few years already and it still feels that way. Not easy to find or park at but I'd say worth it. Only criticism are outside tables can be a little rink dinky and uncomfortable; but can't knock the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Down to erath good food”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Salvation cafe is great for a weekend lunch. The food is unpretentious, fresh and well put together. The atmosphere always ads to a great meal out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank katejager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SalvationCafe also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to SalvationCafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing