We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Italian home”
Review of Tortellino D'Oro

Tortellino D'Oro
Ranked #57 of 1,207 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our Italian home”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not only the home prepared meals to take home and the glorious antipasto variety but also bliss to be greeted by the Bollini clan and served exquisite Italian food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    55
    10
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Above Average Italian food and good service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Tortellino's is easy to get to, being just off the N1, (alternatively go east on Glenhove Rd from Rosebank, then) immediately after the Athol Oaklands Synagogue.
Parking at lunch-time, particularly on a Friday, IS A PROBLEM! as the Centre (which is quite small) has very limited parking bays- you end up parking in the roads to the side, which is not ideal from a security perspective (always an issue in Johannesburg).
That said, the restaurant is kept warm in winter (in need- it was not that cool this time round), and is nicely open in summer.
The service is generally attentive and skilled. Courses were presented without undue delay.
The choice of meals (Italian-based, naturally) is extensive and "Italian" in its preparation and presentation.
The food we chose was tasty and well-presented...also good sized portions.
The wine list is quite extensive, and not unduly expensive for the area / class of Establishment.
Overall, a very pleasant lunch venue and event, at a reasonable cost in relation to the quality of the offering (and the delivered product).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pohcrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely mains, desert a letdown”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved the cosy atmosphere of the restaurant and the fact that the space used for retail in the day houses tables and chairs at night. We were greeted by a very well informed waitress, who could explain everything we wanted to know, this is always appreciated. We were served complimentary sparkling wine and antipasto, our mains were delicious and the sauces rich and tasty. The desert was a letdown and not cheap, we opted to share a mille feuille, it was stodgy and tasteless, between the two of us we didn’t finish it. Overall we enjoyed our experience but would not recommend that desert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moony_kav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food ruined by poor service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Been to restaurant a few times. Always good food. However today the service was terrible. I have left feeling overcharged. At those prices I expect a full dining experience of good service and good food.

Helpful?
3 Thank Francis_rogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better on previous occassions”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A little disappointed with my most recent experience here - I found it to be overpriced and the food simply wasn't up to the standard that I'd expect for that kind of money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artificer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tortellino D'Oro also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Tortellino D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing