We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed reviews from the group”

The Raj Montecasino
Ranked #157 of 1,204 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban
Level Contributor
415 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews from the group”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love Indian Cuisine and I will go out of my way to eat good Indian food. Since we were going to the theatre at Monte-casino, The Raj was, for me, a no brainer choice. However my meal was disappointing. I have scored them 3 star (it would be lower if I was scoring on my meal alone) because although my Chicken Korma was bland and fairly tasteless, other members enjoyed their meals including Butter Chicken and Lamb Curry. The Prawn Curry (also in Korma Sauce) which another member of our group ordered was also poor. The prawns were mushy, a sign of using less than fresh ingredients and the sauce was, like mine, bland and relatively tasteless. The service was adequate but not great and not once did any member of management check on our table of 5. With all the choices on offer at Monte-casino complex, The Raj would no longer be my first choice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NauticalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    60
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Good tasty food and great friendly service. Reasonably priced for Monte Casino. Will come back again soon. Lamb chop starter is recommended.

Helpful?
Thank TheManth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food - a bit pricey”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good food however a bit expensive. Service was okay. Can be improved. Overall a good experience but we have had better.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kashma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a wonderful restaurant in the heart of Montecasino. Great Decor, wonderful service and fabulous food - Highly recommended !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food but service could be improved”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We ate here few of times, once for lunch and twice for dinner. Great food. Service was good but little too slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raj Montecasino also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Raj Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing