We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joburg Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Uxolo Guesthouse cc
Ranked #115 of 291 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Joburg Oasis”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friends and I stayed at Uxolo Guesthouse en route to Cape Town and Malawi. The accommodations were just what we were looking for: charming and welcoming with all of the modern convenience we're accustomed to at home (hot showers, hospitality with a smile, and flexibility). Karen and her staff are true professionals! Karen was beyond helpful in arranging transportation to/from the airport and around the city. The beds were beyond comfortable and perfect for crashing after a long day of travel! I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
20
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I recently rendezvoused at Uxolo with our daughter and son-in-law on our way to and from Botswana. We had not seen them in 8 months since they are serving in the Peace Corps in Senegal. Karen had everything set up for us, allowed us privacy to reconnect, and delightful accommodations to rest and regroup before continuing on our journey. The rooms are tucked here and there off little terraces and patios. They offer calm and quiet and are comfortable and spacious with beautiful architectural details. We spent hours sitting on the lovely patio enjoying the fresh air and cool breezes and even had dinner delivered.

The staff was warm and attentive while not being intrusive. Karen is a charming hostess and was most generous with her time and information about the history of the neighborhood. She also connected us with Norman who picked us up and drove us not only to the airport but around town as well.

We could not have felt more welcome and give our highest recommendation to Uxolo Guesthouse!

Susannah Hammersley

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHammersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We loved Uxolo! My husband and I spent one night there on a long layover en route to Botswana, and two nights there on a layover en route home. It was the perfect way to start and end our vacation. The staff were warm and welcoming, our room was spacious and comfortable (as was the king-sized bed!), breakfast was delicious, and Karen was a kind, attentive, and warm hostess (both during the booking process, and while we were at Uxolo). There is a mall where you can find anything you'd need right around the corner, but the area still feels quiet and residential. We know where we'll stay next time we're in Johannesburg!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khammersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I think that when one chooses a guesthouse/ B&B in preference to other establishments, it's because of the personal service one expects.
From the moment I started communicating with Karen via email I knew that Uxolo would be the correct choice for our month long stay in a Johannesburg.
Karen is a warm, caring hostess , very passionate about her guesthouse and guests.It is infectious as her staff exude the same friendliness.
All the facilities as well as personal needs ,have been listed on her site as well as previous postings.However, it was the extra little touches that make Uxolo so special.
1)Genuine HUGE smiles every day
2)Piles of extra hangers plus an extra cupboard especially brought in
3)Chocs on our bed with a welcome note
4)Warm attention by all , to our grandchildren.Karen even bought special biscuits that they could enjoy when they came to visit!!!
5) Personal dietary requisites at breakfast .......we never had to ask for our cereal, yoghurt or milk as it was always replenished
6)Laundry returned daily done and to perfection!
I cannot reiterate enough the genuine warmth and friendliness of Karen and her staff .

UXOLO is the Zulu word meaning peace...Again...thank you Karen, Thando, Ella and Robson for giving us 'peace' in your home away from home and for making our stay at Uxolo everything it was ....we miss you!

Room Tip: Each room is very different....just tell Karen your needs and she will help you chose( depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner and I recently spent a wonderful weekend away at Uxolo Guesthouse. We left without a single complaint, having had an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

The guesthouse itself is charming, elegant and full of history of the surrounding area. I enjoyed the simple yet very tasteful decor of our room as well as the games room and outdoor patio. Everything was kept immaculately clean, the bed was comfy and I loved the big showerhead.

The thing that really stood out though was the exceptional hospitality. South Africa is not known for exceptional service but I have to say that Karen and her staff did not miss a single step. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived and all our needs were seen to throughout our stay. It felt as if it was just as much of a pleasure for them to have us as it was for us to be there...

Thanks Uxolo, Until next time...

Nic

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicLucey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away at Uxolo. Located in the quiet suburb of Norwood, it was a truly serene experience.

The entire staff were extremely friendly and helpful - you could tell they feel both proud of and comfortable in the guesthouse.

The interiors of the guesthouse are both homely and stylish - Karen, the owner has exquisite taste which shines through in every aspect of Uxolo.

The room itself was impeccably clean and well resourced, with large cupboards and a divine on suite with a pampering selection of toiletries on offer.

The outdoor dining area is gorgeous and relaxing, with a splendid pool attached.

I would thoroughly recommend Uxolo as a beautiful, warm and welcoming getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal_sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Located a short drive to some of the best shopping areas in Joburg, this guesthouse is the place to stay. The house is beautiful, has well appointed and clean rooms and there are a variety of lounge areas for guests. What makes this guest house stand out is the friendliness of the hosts and staff. They go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable and feel like home. The breakfast was filling and the staff make sure your stomach is happy. When we left some shirts behind by accident after their staff had cleaned and ironed them impeccably, Karen, the owner, shipped them free of charge to us in the United States. Highly recommend staying if you are in the Joburg area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.2 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.8 mi away
Houghton Guest House
Houghton Guest House
#72 of 291 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uxolo Guesthouse cc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uxolo Guesthouse cc

Property: Uxolo Guesthouse cc
Address: 22 Nursery Road | The Gardens, Johannesburg 2192, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uxolo Guesthouse cc 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a quiet, tranquil garden setting, Uxolo assures guests of superb comfort and service. Not only are we a B&B, but offer lunch & dinner on an a la carte basis in our rustic bistro type restaurant. Sleep in ultra comfort in our extra king sized, plush mattressed. beds. Join the happy guests who return again & again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Uxolo Guesthouse cc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing